We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Deere Isle”
Review of Goose Cove Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Goose Cove Lodge
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise on Deere Isle”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It is not often I am greeted with a hug and an offer of a glass of wine, but that is exactly the welcome we received when we arrived at the Goose Cove Lodge for our stay. Let me start out by saying that if youare looking for a "5-Star" all inclusive luxury resort, keep looking. However, if you are looking for an eclectic, comfortable, relaxing environment with which to enjoy the tranquility and magic of Goose Cove, then this is your place!!! Suzen (Carter) has gone to great lengths to maintain the integrity of this 'facility' and while some of the amenities may appear to be a little quirky, it is lovingly cared for and an absolute delight to stay at.
We spent several nights there and enjoyed each and every one of them - and because we were early in the season, we were afforded even more opportunity to get to know Suzen and the rest of the staff: it really felt like we were amongst family and friends rather than just being clients.
Breakfast was provided every morning and each was substantial and dilectible - we never left the table hungry or wanting for anything more. We also took all of our dinners at the Cockatoo Restaurant and were never disappointed - again, the portions were more than ample and the food was outstanding!!! There are not enough positive adjectives to describe the culinary delights... throw in the wonderous view of Goose Cove and you have an experience to last a lifetime - or until your next meal!!!
The grounds surrounding the lodge remain undeveloped, with walking paths to explore and is adjacent to conservancy land with even more trails to explore - the evironment was magical and life changing.
We really don't know if there is any other lodging or places to eat on Deere Isle, but for us, we found our refuge and culinary delights (do I need to even mention the fresh lobster). This is a very special place, or menagerie, and we are so looking forward to our next opportunity for an extended visit.
Many thanks to you, Suzen - your efforts and commitment are appreciated very much!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    5
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Standish, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stumbled upon Goose cove by accident and it was one of the best places I've ever been! The owner Suzen was great and very accommodating! We have a small dog and she welcomed her in, breakfast was great and the view was amazing! The beach is very private in a very nice cove! The room was clean and even had a fireplace!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This turned out to be a great alternative to the zoo that is Bar Harbor and in a quieter location with a stunning view of the water. This isn't the Holiday Inn (thank goodness!). Instead of a sterile hotel room you get what seems like a more authentic Maine experience that fits naturally with the beautiful surroundings. We stayed in the Mayflower unit, which is a one bedroom and bath adjacent to the restaurant and office with a very large shared deck with padded chairs and facing south and overlooking the water. Our reasonably priced room included a great breakfast served in the Cockatoo Restaurant and kept us well-fueled before heading out to nearby (about 45 minutes) Acadia NP and Bar Harbor. Afterwards it was great to come "home" to the tranquillity of the Goose Cove Lodge (technically they have renamed themselves "Resort"). Suzen and Brad Carter are great hosts who, from the moment we walked in, made us feel welcome and like family, as did the other staff. If you stay you absolutely have to have dinner in the Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant, where we had the best, freshest seafood of our entire New England vacation. This place is like going out to your own cabin you might have in the woods somewhere. In summary, the key is to set your expectations to an authentic Maine cabin experience and you won't be disappointed. And don't forget to eat in the restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisbum51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

There for 3 nights, 4 days in August. Spectacular cove location with a small beach (rare this far "down East) (... and how often can you vacation down a dirt road). Cabins are set apart... rustic but well and tastefully appointed. The biggest raves, however, go to the lodge restaurant... apparently the shellfish comes in fresh, once or twice a day(!) from the chef-proprietor's lobsterman husband. The best, cleanest and sweetest steamers I've ever tasted; my friend, who is from Belgium (where mussels are the national fruit) said the same about the mussels. Other highlights: anything with the homemade Mozambique sauce, the cakes and desserts (also made on the spot), cowboy steak, and fantastic seafood paella! Highest marks.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms attached to the lodge itself that look nice but we prefer the "cabins-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine USA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My boyfriend and I live in Portland, Maine and took an unexpected getaway up to midcoast/downeast Maine. We visited Camden, Belfast, Castine, Penobscot, Deer Isle and Stonington. Our hope was to make it to Isle au Haut for biking and hiking, but weather was wicked foggy so we opted for staying on the mainland. We also hoped to go camping at Old Quarry, but with 1-2 inches of rain predicated overnight we started making alternate plans. Stonington's accommodations were all full - with no cell reception we drove back to the causeway (where we had cell reception), pulled out our beach chairs and map and began plotting possible overnight stays. Dreading the thought of leaving the lovely and remote area of Deer Isle, Goose Cove came up in our search. It was not the first place we called, but it was the first and only place we scoped out - WE WERE SO GLAD WE DID!!! It was EXACTLY what we were looking for - PURE MAINE RNR - lovely, quiet, secluded, peaceful, rustic, serene, limited to no cell reception, and they had kayaks to use free of charge. The restaurant (and full bar) was scrumptious, the desserts were sinfully good, and Suzen and her husband were great company at the bar where we ate. (we heard the breakfast was amazing, but we opted to sleep in and missed the complimentary meal (8-10a)
This place exactly matched our needs, we will certainly be back. NOTE: this is not the Hilton Garden, do not expect to find all the amenities of a "typical" resort, however if you are looking for a rustic yet charming experience and a place to unplug - THIS IS IT!
WE WILL BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: The Linnea lodge was gorgeous and would be great for a few couples or family. Rooms are right of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, New York
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Scenery: Absolutely gorgeous!!
Activities: somewhat limited - walking trails, kayaking, and RELAXING. If you want to take a few days to unwind and relax – this would be the place.
Cabin: We stayed in the “Bayberry” cabin. It sleeps 8 people and was very well appointed. The furniture was either fairly new and/or well kept. The inside of the cabin was spotless and very neat. The fireplace was capped off & not in use because of “insurance reasons”. We did not, however, need it. The temperature out side was fairly hot, but the large overhead fan kept the temperature inside very cool. The outside of our cabin (and most other cabins) do need some “upkeep” work done because of the harsh winter weather up there. Replacing some wood on the decks, painting/staining, etc., would go far in this regard, but everything was very serviceable. I thought the price of the cabin ($400 per night) was very low if you had a group of 6-8 people. I believe this was the biggest & most expensive cabin.
Food: We had breakfast 3 mornings. Two mornings we had scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, OJ, & coffee; the other morning we had French toast, sausage, OJ, & coffee. While I wouldn’t call it extravagant, it was, for me, substantial. The first night there, we were not very hungry, so we only ordered drinks & appetizers. I had calamari & it was a very substantial amount and it was prepared perfect. The second night, we ate in the cabin with food bought from home. The third night we ate at the Lodge & had absolutely the best seafood dinner ever! Everything was prepared to perfection. I have never tasted scallops that were so good. Anyone who complains about the food is crazy!!
The staff: The waiters/waitresses were all young foreigners (possibly students). At least some were from Eastern Europe. One that I spoke to was from Montenegro. All were very friendly and fairly efficient. Suzen Carter is the chef /owner/manager. She and her husband, Brad, were very friendly and helpful. Although usually very busy, they both found time to chat & answer any questions we had. Brad is a lobster fisherman who starts out in the mornings about 4:00am and returns to help out at the restaurant at suppertime. With the hours they put in each day – they must love their work!
Conclusions: The place is as advertised! If you want a 5* hotel with maid service, room service, night life, and lots of activities, etc., then I would suggest staying in New York City or Los Angeles If you appreciate a rustic and secluded setting, a place to relax, enjoy the rugged Maine coastline, and like great food, this is the place to go. I could see a poet or author finding a place like this to write. The only noise you hear is the tide lapping against the shoreline and a distant foghorn. I didn’t have a laptop with me, but saw a few guests at the lodge using one, so there is wifi. I didn’t get any cell phone reception – for me this was a good thing. I hope the information in this review helps you decide if you should consider Goose Cove Lodge as a place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63SamHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I returned to Goose Cove Lodge after many years toting fond memories of a breathtaking setting, rustic but comfortable cabins, an inviting main lodge and delicious if simple food. The setting is as magnificent as ever. Some new cabins have been built, and some modest, low-cost improvements have been made to the existing cabins. But on the whole, the place is very disappointing.

The cabins, despite their improvements, are bare bones and depressing. We stayed in a 2 room cabin, a main room with a big bed, sitting area and kitchenette and a small bedroom with bunk beds. A small dresser in the bedroom was adequate for the two of us, but if four people stayed in the cabin there would be not enough space to unpack The tiny refrigerator in the kitchenette and one of the 2 burners on the stove didn’t work. There was no light over the kitchen area, and except for the bathroom, which was relatively well lit, light in the cabin was frustratingly inadequate. Daily maid service was available, but you had to ask for it, and if you didn’t make a special request, you didn’t get it.

The food was even more disappointing. Breakfast, which comes with the cost of lodging, was skimpy, poorly prepared, ineptly served, and devoid of choice. It was tough pancakes with sausage for the first two mornings, pancakes with a bone dry scrambled egg and sausage the third, French toast and sausage the fourth, and so on. Dinner (separate cost) was offered by the Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant, where the food was mediocre at best and unappetizingly served. Fortunately, there are some excellent alternatives on the island.

One of the most prized things about Goose Cove Lodge years ago was the network of gorgeous trails snaking through the surrounding moss carpeted forests. With the exception of the Barred Island Trail, which is maintained by the Nature Conservancy, all the beautiful trails have grown over and disappeared. What a disappointment!

The place has so much potential, but it needs a smart, imaginative, charismatic manager who is funded sufficiently to hire adequate help, and it needs better food.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Isle
16.4 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
448 reviews
17.6 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
146 reviews
20.6 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
321 reviews
16.3 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
219 reviews
19.0 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goose Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goose Cove Lodge

Property: Goose Cove Lodge
Address: Goose Cove Road, Deer Isle, ME 04627
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Deer Isle
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Goose Cove Lodge Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing