We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Million-dollar view, great food, friendly staff"”
Review of Goose Cove Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Goose Cove Lodge
Brunswick, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Million-dollar view, great food, friendly staff"”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our spacious,yet cozy cabin at Goose Cove had a million-sollar view of the Cove.
A friendly, courteous wait staff served us excellent food, and the owner Suzen Carter made sure we were well-taken care of.
Lots of shells and interesting rocks for the beachcomber, kayaking in the calm waters of the Cove, hiking on well-marked trails, and star gazing from the porch all combined to make our stay memorable.
A return trip to Deer Isle, which John Steinbeck called "magical," in the fall is a must, as is a return visit to Goose Cove Resort.
Joyce M.

Room Tip: Thistle Cabin has the best view of the Cove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I went up to the resort with my family for the Fourth of July weekend and were greeted by Suzen, the proprietor of both the cabins and the Portuguese restaurant. Upon checking into our cottage we found it to be freshly renovated with new paint, furniture, windows and even a flatscreen TV, and about 10 minutes after settling in Suzen even brought us a loaf of freshly baked bread.
I could go on and on about the accommodations and views but what really sets this place apart is that it is family run in the truest sense. You don't see places like this anymore. The staffing is provided by Suzen and four lovely European girls she had come up to help her for the summer; whether you want ice or an ice cold beer, the staff is more than happy to oblige. The food in the Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant is fantastic, bringing the taste of Portugal straight to your table. Suzen's husband is the seafood dealer on the island so all the traditional Maine favorites are brought straight from the boat to the kitchen (not exaggerating). He was happy to oblige when we had a special request for larger lobsters than were on the menu, and even offers all the cabin guests a trip on his personal lobster boat. The prices in the restaurant and bar were very reasonable, especially considering the quality of the food and drink.
The views are unbelievable and the 14 cottages are stretched across the land in such a way that you aren't ever too close to other guests, ensuring privacy and quiet relaxation. Furthermore the property offers two private beaches and nature hiking.
When we were leaving I asked Suzen what her favorite part of running the place is and she said "I love making people happy and giving them the perfect vacation", my experience there shows that this is true. This resort is her life and you can tell she put her heart and soul into it.
If you want a relaxing Maine vacation the Goose Cove Resort is definitely the place to go!

Room Tip: "Thistle" is the largest cabin on the grounds with three bedrooms, 1.5 baths, a living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It is not often I am greeted with a hug and an offer of a glass of wine, but that is exactly the welcome we received when we arrived at the Goose Cove Lodge for our stay. Let me start out by saying that if youare looking for a "5-Star" all inclusive luxury resort, keep looking. However, if you are looking for an eclectic, comfortable, relaxing environment with which to enjoy the tranquility and magic of Goose Cove, then this is your place!!! Suzen (Carter) has gone to great lengths to maintain the integrity of this 'facility' and while some of the amenities may appear to be a little quirky, it is lovingly cared for and an absolute delight to stay at.
We spent several nights there and enjoyed each and every one of them - and because we were early in the season, we were afforded even more opportunity to get to know Suzen and the rest of the staff: it really felt like we were amongst family and friends rather than just being clients.
Breakfast was provided every morning and each was substantial and dilectible - we never left the table hungry or wanting for anything more. We also took all of our dinners at the Cockatoo Restaurant and were never disappointed - again, the portions were more than ample and the food was outstanding!!! There are not enough positive adjectives to describe the culinary delights... throw in the wonderous view of Goose Cove and you have an experience to last a lifetime - or until your next meal!!!
The grounds surrounding the lodge remain undeveloped, with walking paths to explore and is adjacent to conservancy land with even more trails to explore - the evironment was magical and life changing.
We really don't know if there is any other lodging or places to eat on Deere Isle, but for us, we found our refuge and culinary delights (do I need to even mention the fresh lobster). This is a very special place, or menagerie, and we are so looking forward to our next opportunity for an extended visit.
Many thanks to you, Suzen - your efforts and commitment are appreciated very much!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stumbled upon Goose cove by accident and it was one of the best places I've ever been! The owner Suzen was great and very accommodating! We have a small dog and she welcomed her in, breakfast was great and the view was amazing! The beach is very private in a very nice cove! The room was clean and even had a fireplace!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This turned out to be a great alternative to the zoo that is Bar Harbor and in a quieter location with a stunning view of the water. This isn't the Holiday Inn (thank goodness!). Instead of a sterile hotel room you get what seems like a more authentic Maine experience that fits naturally with the beautiful surroundings. We stayed in the Mayflower unit, which is a one bedroom and bath adjacent to the restaurant and office with a very large shared deck with padded chairs and facing south and overlooking the water. Our reasonably priced room included a great breakfast served in the Cockatoo Restaurant and kept us well-fueled before heading out to nearby (about 45 minutes) Acadia NP and Bar Harbor. Afterwards it was great to come "home" to the tranquillity of the Goose Cove Lodge (technically they have renamed themselves "Resort"). Suzen and Brad Carter are great hosts who, from the moment we walked in, made us feel welcome and like family, as did the other staff. If you stay you absolutely have to have dinner in the Cockatoo Portuguese Restaurant, where we had the best, freshest seafood of our entire New England vacation. This place is like going out to your own cabin you might have in the woods somewhere. In summary, the key is to set your expectations to an authentic Maine cabin experience and you won't be disappointed. And don't forget to eat in the restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tennisbum51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

There for 3 nights, 4 days in August. Spectacular cove location with a small beach (rare this far "down East) (... and how often can you vacation down a dirt road). Cabins are set apart... rustic but well and tastefully appointed. The biggest raves, however, go to the lodge restaurant... apparently the shellfish comes in fresh, once or twice a day(!) from the chef-proprietor's lobsterman husband. The best, cleanest and sweetest steamers I've ever tasted; my friend, who is from Belgium (where mussels are the national fruit) said the same about the mussels. Other highlights: anything with the homemade Mozambique sauce, the cakes and desserts (also made on the spot), cowboy steak, and fantastic seafood paella! Highest marks.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms attached to the lodge itself that look nice but we prefer the "cabins-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My boyfriend and I live in Portland, Maine and took an unexpected getaway up to midcoast/downeast Maine. We visited Camden, Belfast, Castine, Penobscot, Deer Isle and Stonington. Our hope was to make it to Isle au Haut for biking and hiking, but weather was wicked foggy so we opted for staying on the mainland. We also hoped to go camping at Old Quarry, but with 1-2 inches of rain predicated overnight we started making alternate plans. Stonington's accommodations were all full - with no cell reception we drove back to the causeway (where we had cell reception), pulled out our beach chairs and map and began plotting possible overnight stays. Dreading the thought of leaving the lovely and remote area of Deer Isle, Goose Cove came up in our search. It was not the first place we called, but it was the first and only place we scoped out - WE WERE SO GLAD WE DID!!! It was EXACTLY what we were looking for - PURE MAINE RNR - lovely, quiet, secluded, peaceful, rustic, serene, limited to no cell reception, and they had kayaks to use free of charge. The restaurant (and full bar) was scrumptious, the desserts were sinfully good, and Suzen and her husband were great company at the bar where we ate. (we heard the breakfast was amazing, but we opted to sleep in and missed the complimentary meal (8-10a)
This place exactly matched our needs, we will certainly be back. NOTE: this is not the Hilton Garden, do not expect to find all the amenities of a "typical" resort, however if you are looking for a rustic yet charming experience and a place to unplug - THIS IS IT!
WE WILL BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: The Linnea lodge was gorgeous and would be great for a few couples or family. Rooms are right of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyssag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Isle
22.4 mi away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
14.9 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
22.8 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Goose Cove Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goose Cove Lodge

Property: Goose Cove Lodge
Address: Goose Cove Road, Deer Isle, ME 04627
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Deer Isle
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Goose Cove Lodge Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing