We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Ferry Landing
Ranked #3 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A special place!”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Jean and Gerald are outstanding hosts, and the Inn at Ferry Landing is a very special place, nestled near the water's edge at the end of a quiet road with spectacular views over the Eggemoggin Reach. The rooms are beautiful and well kept, and we enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep, followed by an early morning swim and a delicious breakfast prepared by Jean. In the evening and at breakfast we had interesting conversations with Jean and Gerald and the other guests. We definitely plan to return to the Inn at Ferry Landing, a B & B at the top of our list!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary271230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Inn. Gerald and Jean were awesome hosts! They made us feel very welcome. The house was very comfortable. Jean helped us cook lobsters for the very first time in our lives. The weather last summer was very rainy, but we were rewarded by a few beautiful days of sun. The view from the house over The Reach changed dramatically with the weather, and it felt like a different place each time. It was a dream of mine to see the Eggemoggin Reach because of the beautiful song that Dan Fogelberg wrote about it. The area was all that I dreamed it would be, and I can see how he wrote such a great song about it. Mary

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trilliumom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Maine is my favorite place to visit at any time of year and there is no shortage of places to stay. However, I found the finest accommodations at the Inn at Ferry Landing in Deer Isle, ME. This picturesque B&B is located right on the Eggemoggin Reach with a great view of the suspension bridge and constant parade of schooner and sailboats. The owners Gerald & Jean Wheeler go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. Jean’s homemade breakfasts made with local produce and ingredients are the best way to start the day. The Inn located an hour away from Mount Dessert Island Bar Harbor. It is easy to get anywhere Down East from Ferry Landing. I was unable to get there last summer and I missed it. However, I have already booked a week vacation for 2010 and I am looking forward to an autumn trip in September. It is an excellent place to stay and I regard the Wheelers highly.

Gary Thomas
Buffalo, NY

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gathomas98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

So good we came back for more. A fabulous New England welcome from Gerald and Jean, fresh blueberry muffins and the local blueberry beer (sounds odd, but don't knock it 'til you've tried it!). SItuated on the shoreline of Eggemogin Reach, the Inn is a tranquil haven set amongst some lovely landscapes with nature abounding - Ospreys, Bald Eagles, Seals and Whales just seem to happen by. A great location for exploring this part of Maine and all that it has to offer in terms of culture, arts, crafts and scenery and some great sailing in the reach and around local islands. Good bars and restaurants within a few minutes drive. The Inn and Deer Isle are wonderful places to unwind and forget the rat race and mine hosts as welcoming as ever.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevandcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

The Inn at Ferry Landing has been our summer and fall Maine destination for over ten years. It's not only because it is very close to the waters of Eggemoggin Reach, where the ocean is always changing, and loons, cormorants, an occasional eagle, and sailboats are always in view; it's very much about the innkeepers - Jean and Gerald Wheeler, who provide kindness, excellent breakfasts, music, {Gerald is an accomplished organist and pianist}, and a feeling of being a part of Deer Isle and Stonington. This is a special area of crafts, restaurants, walking trails, and constant views of the ocean.

We highly recommend the Inn at Ferry Landing on Deer Isle.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KiloHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We have been going to Deer Isle, Me, for summer vacation for about 12 years, and have always stayed with Jean and Gerald Wheeler at their Inn at Ferry Landing. (Two years ago we bought a house in Deer Isle.) Jean and Gerald are warm, considerate, helpful hosts, who are quite familiar with the region and the people. Gerald is also a professional musician who occasionally gives classical piano concerts while Jean is an expert sailor and photographer. The inn, right on the water, is comfortable and cozy, and one wall of the living room is a window which looks out over the reach (ie, the water). The breakfasts are always excellent, and the lodgers usually provide good conversation.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maine_traveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Our family has been coming to The Inn at Ferry Landing for several years and look forward to seeing Jean and Gerald Wheeler, the innkeepers, every time. The inn itself is quintessential Maine , with a diverse selection of rooms, and even has a little cottage which our family has enjoyed as children have arrived. There is a beautiful view, and access, to the Eggemoggin Reach- you really are right on the water- and there are many, many, interesting activities nearby. The Wheelers are wonderful hosts and this is a beautiful spot.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ellibelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Isle
17.0 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
310 reviews
17.4 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
219 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
147 reviews
16.3 mi away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
306 reviews
23.3 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ferry Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ferry Landing

Property: The Inn at Ferry Landing
Address: 77 Old Ferry Rd, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3330
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast by the Sea, in a lovingly restored 1840 farmhouse on the Eggemoggin Reach. Four unique guest rooms in the main house and a well-furnished, attached family cottage The Mooring. Professional musician and sailor/photographer owner-innkeepers. Peaceful setting, inspiring area, fishermen and artists in a 'real' Maine island community found in the writings of Robert McCloskey and John Steinbeck.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Ferry Landing Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing