We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lamb Chops”
Review of Whale's Rib Tavern

Whale's Rib Tavern
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Deer Isle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Lamb Chops”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good selection, good presentation and really good food. Menus are new each Tuesday. When they run out of any entree, it's not on the next days menu. Good and fresh tasting fish.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tobacalero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deer Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Island cuisine”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Whales Rib is classy but also it is a very relaxing atmosphere. The building itself is comfortable, with the open -ceiling barn in the dining room and, quaint barroom. Whether you are there for the first time or for the twentieth, you're sure to feel the same...welcome.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolandRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcell, OK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“I'm not sure what the big deal is”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The rustic atmosphere was nice with candles on the table; but the food was only average.

My wife and I were on the end run of northeast trip when my uncle took us to dinner here. We started dinner started with orders of muscles and oysters. They were much better than we get in our land-locked Midwest state. Because of the recommendation of my cousin, my wife and I both ordered the halibut. It was good, but just not much taste to it. The New England palette is so much more pastel than what I am accustom to.

Service was very good - our waitress kept up with our table quite well.

All in all it was okay. I would not go out of my way to eat here; but I might eat here if I was close.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LarAndGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Make a reservation!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

While staying at the Pilgrim's Inn, we had a reservation for late Sunday. It was packed! I found the food and wine selection was very good. It looks like it's a local fave, so if you're planning on going, definitly book ahead!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Moll Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at the Inn, which was generally fun, but one of the highlights was the Whale's Rib Tavern - excellent food prepared expertly in a warm, inviting setting. The service was also great and it was a decent value - highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCC1701X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale's Rib Tavern also viewed

Stonington, Deer Isle
Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Stonington, Deer Isle
Deer Isle, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Whale's Rib Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing