We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lovely relaxed environment, friendly staff”
Review of The Forge

The Forge
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aislaby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, lovely relaxed environment, friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went twice in 7 days. The food was fresh, tasty, good quality, nicely presented, and reasonably priced. The owner and her daughter were very nice and friendly. it was a relaxed atmosphere, light, airy, clean and spacious. It is also a B&B and if i go back to the area, i will definately try and stay there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    32
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VCM”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A bit of a homecoming! Originally from Whitby & have lived in Australia for over 20 years & wanted to find somewhere to get together with family & friends while holidaying in UK & Europe. Couldn't have been any better!!
Sunday lunch for 13 with family of all ages, then Monday snacks at lunchtime & dinner for over 26 people, even with so many to cater for, still the personal touch, done so well didn't interfere with other patrons. Food fabulous, something for everyone.Booked out 4 rooms for friends to stay, spotlessly clean, nothing too much trouble, wonderful English breakfast, (even though some of our friends are pretty hard to please they were really impressed))
Have to say, Gilly (the landlady) & all of the family & staff made us all feel as though we were part of the family,
Absolutely loved it, will not go to England without a visit to the Forge,
Thankyou sooo much for putting the icing on our trip!!
Hopefully See you soon
V&J Harris

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Viera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb B&B”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Super B&B which served 3 generations very well indeed. The B&B offered everything from clean,modern comfortable roooms to great Service from the moment we arrived. We did not try the food in the evening as we were going out for the night, it was packed and fully booked, always a good sign. The breakfast in the morning was a treat Full English was a winner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another faultless visit - 27th-29th April 2014”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My partner and I visited The Forge for the second time and were certainly not disappointed. It is a home from home. All staff are so welcoming and always go out of their way to help you and make your stay the best it can possibly be. The staff, Phil, Carl, Beth, Sarah and Gill are all so friendly and they really did make our stay perfect.
The food is absolutely amazing. We arrived on the Sunday and had Sunday dinner which was divine and well worth the small price. We also ate from the weekly menu the following night which was equally delicious. The prices of the dishes are very reasonable and the portion sizes are very generous.
The atmosphere in the pub is great. Due to restaurant reservations we unfortunately missed the quiz but did catch a game of bingo and a chat with some residents, regulars and the staff. The easy going conversations and attitudes of all made sitting in the pub a lovely relaxing and friendly experience.
We stayed for a total of 3 nights in a double room which was elegantly decorated. The small touches in the bedrooms make the accommodation a home from home. The breakfasts included were extremely delicious. A choice of cereal, tea, coffee and orange juice and a full English breakfast. The staff are more than happy to chop and change components of the breakfast to suit each individual.
No favour is too much from any member of the staff - all you have to do is ask.
We would recommend to all our family, friends and acquaintances.
The day of our departure back to Leeds wearer already planning our next visit.
We cannot thank them enough for another fantastic stay.
Sophie and Matthew Holliday

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very gentle welcome”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had never been to The Forge before but friends had recommended it. We had the most lovely evening. No awkward standing around. Immediate,friendly and informative service at the bar. It can be difficult arrive in a restaurant,if you have not been before. I felt comfortable and looked after. A large party arrived just after us and the restaurant was full. The menu was nice. The food was lovely.we were a party of 6 and everyone was happy. Nicest veggie meal Ive had or a while. The taste was great.The desserts were generous and very nice. All staff were attentive and one look got their attention...even on a busy Saturday night. The piano in the corner was not just for decoration either. Thank you for a lovely evening.This would certainly be my first choice if someone said,"Where shall we go in Whitby?" (I don't write reviews often!). Oh and there is a car park.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorskEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Forge also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing