We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good wholesome food”
Review of The Forge

The Forge
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aislaby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“good wholesome food”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Called in here after a long days walking - not being our first choice but the first two pubs were fully booked. And we were so glad! The food on offer was good wholesome pub grub but presented in a restaurant style. The drinks were fairly pricey £4.70 for a pint of bitter and a lime and soda but we persevered onto the menu as we were hungry. We chose the cheese/bacon buger which came with chips, coleslaw, onion rings and bbq sauce (all homemade). We also chose the shepherds pie which came with a side order of vegetables. We initially thought the portions were small but they were actually a good size and very filling. Having said that, we still opted to share a dessert - bread and butter pudding. The pudding was a bit of a let down after a gorgeous main course but d didn't spoil the meal. Prices were a little high for pub food at £12.95, £10.95 and £5.25 respectively.

The staff were great, attentive where necessary but we noticed they had to turn quite a few visitors away as they were full so a tip is to book! Also note that they don't serve food until 6.30 in the evenings.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonstone67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    32
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcesstershire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“traditional sunday lunch with all the trimmings”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

we stayed at a lovely caravan site in Aislaby and The Forge was in walking distance. We went for Sunday lunch which was absolutely gorgeous. The vegetables were beautifully cooked and very well presented and my husband had the lamb which he said was so tasty. I am veggie so just had the potatoes (which were suitable) and the veg and veggie gravy and they did charge me less, which was a pleasant surprise as some places charge you the same. The staff were very pleasant and the surroundings were very comfortable. on the whole this was a very pleasant dining experience. Oh and well behaved pooches are welcome.

Helpful?
1 Thank evansworcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good pub food.”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We tried this one evening but it was fully booked, but the next evening we got in. It is justifiably popular. The Shepherds pie and Fish Pie were both very good. Recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“excellent food and ambience”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

our first visit and certainly not the last by any means. chose to take 80 yr old father for meal with family, wanted to make it a bit special so asked to decorate the table, no problem. superb food and relaxed atmosphere. the only negative would be that they needed one more member of staff as they were busy and stretched, but as we left a hefty tip it shows that what service we got was good. we had thought of moving to this village and now its an added bonus knowing that there is such a good pub/eating place there as well. other restaurateurs need to go and see that this is how you do it. hope success dosnt go to their heads though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CodHead73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay with nice accommodation the rooms are themed and spotlessly clean. They could do with investing in a better quality mattress. We did not try the evening meals but the looked very good. The breakfast was hearty and with plenty of choice to soot all tastes. excellent service from all the staff and a warm welcome in the bar.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Forge also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing