We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Been To Stay Yet But!!”
Review of The Brewster Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brewster Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dexter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked 4 nights here after leaving Quebec Canada on our road trip this year. What a surprise we got when along with our confirmation by email we received a request from the innkeeper Mark Stephens saying as he was also originally from Cheltenham UK and has been in Dexter for 7 years now? Whenever he get guests from England staying he likes to phone them to find out what they would like to see while staying with him? We were so shocked to receive such a request from a caring person and replied that we would love to talk to Mark and supplied our home number. We arranged for a call in the evening so we were both in and waited for our phone to ring? when it did this man on the other end introduced himself as Mark told us all about his Brewster Inn B&B history & location and then asked us what we wanted to see each of our 4 days we stayed with him? We had done some research about the area but it was great that this caring innkeeper was on the phone making suggestions of what roads to take and where we could travel easily in a day to get each of our days jam packed with as much of his state and beyond without worries of getting lost or ending up going somewhere that was not as good as we had hoped it could be? Mark also told us he has maps we can use while there and he also told us of a new Google app called FieldTrip that he and many other caring people in America had written posts in, and it works in the UK as well but as soon as we get into the USA it will start working and giving us much information that we will find very helpful? I hadn't even heard of FieldTrip let alone downloaded it? Mark is a guy we all dream of meeting but somehow we never do! Our telephone call from Mark lasted for over an hour and after he hung up we were both so excited about visiting Dexter and The Brewster Inn B&B we can't wait! Since that call Mark sent an email saying he was more than happy to offer us any help he could with other places on our trip as he knows many innkeepers in many states. For that reason we felt this man deserved a pre-visit review as in all our visits to many venues while travelling we have never come across this type of care & customer service from any of them before! So if you are coming through Maine book into The Brewster Inn in Dexter and you too will be getting help after you book from Mark Stephens the Innkeeper that I am sure of?

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnRWebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Music2Party

What a great review and you haven't even stayed yet! I'll be ready for you in Oct to give you the best stay possible on your trip. Your going to have a perfect stay, just like i want to give all my guests here at the Brewster Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for The Brewster Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

This B & B is such a Treasure and full of History . We spent the Christmas Holiday at The Brewster Inn and had booked the Truman Room . Everything exceeded our Expectations and we could not have thought of anything else that would have improved our Stay . We will be sure to come back for another Visit and want to commend Innkeeper Mark Stephens for making everybody feel at Home while being away from Home . To anybody who is looking for an authentic historic clean friendly and beautifully restored B & B this is the Place to visit , you will not be disappointed !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catrink626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Catrin.. It was great having you here at the Brewster Inn and i look forward very much to seeing you in the future. I've just got the wood floors in the Truman room refinished so the colour matches all the floors downstairs now. Looks impressive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We recently had the good fortune of getting married at The Brewster Inn. Mark Stephens the Innkeeper, made the event very special for us. He really went out of his way to ensure that our guests and the two of had a wonderful time. All went well. Our rooms were very clean, and decorated very tastefully. The morning breakfast was outstanding. Thanks Mark for all you did. Have a great Holiday, and travel safe when you go to visit your family in England.

Best Regards,

Maurice and Mark 12/13/2013 Our Wedding Date

Room Tip: Call ahead and plan well if going in winter. it was pretty cold.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Maurice and Mark, it was perfect having you here for your stay at the Brewster Inn. An excellent wedding ceremony and a perfect meal at Vittles to finish with 2 nights at the Brewster Inn.. Perfection!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We loved this B & B! It is a wonderful place, full of history. When I booked our room, I did choose the Charlbury Room which the owner told us was one of the smaller rooms in the inn. It was perhaps smaller than some of the other rooms, but we found it to be quite lovely. It was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was updated and nice. The sink is in the bedroom rather than the bathroom, which I found convenient for a couple sharing a room! We only spent one night here so the room was nice for our visit and not too small (it was once the maid quarters). The breakfast was delicious-the owner makes the sausage casserole, a familiar casserole for those of us in the South. Fruit, muffins, bagels, etc are also offered. We enjoyed visiting with others at breakfast, which is served long enough that you don't have to rush downstairs to make it in time. Oh, and another nice amenity are the plush robes provided in the rooms!! Mark, the owner, couldn't have been a nicer host. He directed us to a wonderful restaurant that was in another town we were driving thru to get to his B & B. The next day, he was helpful with driving suggestions and historic information. He has a great dry wit! We would love to stay here again if ever near Dexter again! Highly highly recommend!!

Room Tip: We loved the Charlbury room, but if staying for more than one night, I might choose another larger r...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluejabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Bluejabber thank you for your great review and i hope to see you again in the future and then i can do the same for you then as i did for you this time round. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here. your guest room, the robes and the great breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Brewster Inn in Dexter, a gem of a bed and breakfast in central Maine, was a great location for day-trips with a wide variety of activities. Our four-night stay in the Garden Room was quiet, roomy, and comfortable with a beautiful view of the garden. The bedding, robes and towels were very high quality.

Mark, the owner and inn keeper, made our stay memorable. He suggested day trips like Moosehead Lake and Acadia National Park with places of interest to stop along the way. Mark also recommended excellent restaurants, answered all of our questions, and assigned a designated parking place for each guest. His buffet breakfasts were varied, plentiful, well prepared and tasty. He even shared recipes of the hot breakfast casseroles!

Room Tip: The very quiet Garden Room was tucked away in a corner hallway.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Barbara, the Garden room is now changing. Its being painted and the floors have been refinished to match the finish on the floors downstairs that were done last year. Being in central Maine is a good thing, it means that my guests can do just what you did, stay here for numerous nights and not have to worry about checking in and out every day losing hours getting to your next accommodation, when you can stay here, relax, have a great time and and enjoy your vacation. I'm trying out some new recipes for breakfasts this year, they all seem to be working well. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My girlfriend and I quickly put together a trip to Maine to see the Fall colors. I got lucky when I called Mark at the Brewster Inn in Dexter. He took the time to discuss what our plans for the week would consists of, made recommendations, and even followed up with CALLING ME BACK to see if I had all my plans in place, making other suggestions for our itinerary, even though it would not be in his area. I was so impressed. When we arrived at the Brewster the Inn was big and roomy, breakfast delicious, and more help from Mark to make sure our days plans were in place. I've never seen any one work so hard for his guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Faye! "Best innkeeper i've ever met" is your review title.. thats a big title to live up to but i try hard to do the best i can for every guest that comes in my door. I may get it wrong on occasion, i'm only human but i promise all my guests that i will always try my hardest to get it right every single time for them as i enjoy what i do and i want you to remember your stay at the Brewster Inn.
Thank you for coming. Hope to see you both back over here in the future and i have lots more good recommendations for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

On the good reviews this B&B has received, we decided to stay a couple of nights and were not disappointed. The Victorian charm of this B&B was very welcoming, as was its British proprietor. We stayed in the Truman room and had a comfy bed and a delicious breakfast each morning. We were given suggestions of nearby attractions which was helpful too. All in all, this lovely B&B has quaintness, charm and all the trappings of a by-gone era that you are sure to enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PreciousWeasels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hello Precious Weasels. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay here at the Brewster Inn. More work has been going on with more floors refinished (inc your room) to match the ones downstairs. More painting done and rugs going in... and more! Thank you for your great review. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dexter
17.2 mi away
Pittsfield Motor Inn
Pittsfield Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Pittsfield
22 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Mill Inn and Cafe
The Mill Inn and Cafe
#1 of 4 in Dover Foxcroft
16 reviews
14.8 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Canaan Motel
Canaan Motel
#1 of 1 in Canaan
35 reviews
14.3 mi away
Peaks Kenny Motor Lodge
Peaks Kenny Motor Lodge
#4 of 4 in Dover Foxcroft
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brewster Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brewster Inn

Address: 37 Zions Hill Rd, Dexter, ME 04930
Region: United States > Maine > Dexter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dexter
Price Range: £86 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Brewster Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“A touch of England brought to Maine” courtesy of your English host Mark Stephens. A romantic, friendly, incredibly comfortable National Register bed and breakfast located in Dexter, Maine which is just 15 minutes off I95 and 45 minute drive to the Maine coastline, Bangor and the beautiful, scenic Moosehead Lake and Mount Katahdin region of Maine. My knowledge of the area and things to do and see is excellent. Whether you want to go moose watching, white water rafting, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, fishing, wildlife watching, snowmobiling, ATV’s, ski-ing, apple picking, antiquing, whatever you want to do, just tell me and I will know the best places to be, things to see and the right people to contact. It’s all about giving my guests the best experience possible in my part of Maine. Stay for a night or maybe a few nights, unpack, treat the Brewster Inn like home, come and go as you please and have a great time. Room prices inc breakfast, Wi-Fi, really comfortable beds, flat panel TV’s. Each guestroom has its own bathroom; some guestrooms have a fridge, microwave or fireplace. The Honeymoon Suite has a large 2 person whirlpool. The Brewster Inn is a former Maine Governor and Government Senators family home and it’s a great place to stay. Have a read of the reviews to see what other guests say. I always try incredibly hard to give every guest that walks through my door, the best stay ever ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Brewster Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brewster Inn Maine/Dexter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing