We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Brewster Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western White House Inn(Bangor)(Great Value!)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Towne Motel(Skowhegan)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Bangor)
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canaan Motel(Canaan)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kyes Motel(Skowhegan)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
368
72
14
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
72
14
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteb bhot dishbed and breakfastother guestsliving roomenjoyed our staynew englandgreat hostsold housebreakfast was deliciousa wonderful place to stayeach morningpleasure of stayingmoosehead lakehome away from homecomfortable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 471 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Brewster Inn for a couple nights and we loved it. The room was very charming and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Mark was incredibly nice and patient with us. The breakfast was also pretty good. I really liked the banana bread.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your kind words PH. Guestroom and inn cleanliness, comfortable beds, a nice welcome and a good breakfast. Has all the makings of a great stay! Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The inn, as others have said is lovely. A gem in the lake-centered,quintessential small town of Dexter, Maine. Mark is a friendly innkeeper who asked me several times during my three day stay how he could help me. The beds ARE wonderful. The breakfast is nothing special, but okay. What I CAN help you with, is room choice. I chose the Garden Room based upon Mark's suggestions, however, I would go with the TRUMAN room if I were a reserving for 1 or 2 persons. (Since i was his only guest the second night, I peeked in the other rooms upstairs--hope you don't mind, Mark!) The Garden Room is a bit larger, but not in any way that is significant. And, its bathroom is much smaller than the Truman's. In addition, you cannot access the internet if you have a Mac from The Garden Room. The Beckford room is also lovely, has a larger bathroom, but no day bed. But it does have a chair you could drape some clothes over, I suppose. The BEST room, though, is the GAME ROOM It's only $20 more than the Garden Room, but its rich warm wooden paneling, spaciousness, comfortable seating with a nice ottoman, a stone fireplace, and a large bathroom make it a real retreat. That's where I'll stay if I go back to Dexter! Be sure to walk the trail close to the Dexter Inn down to the lake--it's lovely!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi-in-touch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

I agree Judi, the Game room is a wonderful room. About 650sq ft in size and incredibly comfortable. All the guest rooms at the Brewster Inn are different in one way or another and that’s why there are plenty of options on room cost so that a guest room at the Brewster Inn can suit anyone’s budget.
You’re correct; the Wi-Fi is difficult to access with apple products in the Garden room right now. It’s the only guest room that may have an issue with Wi-Fi. But as you found, the Wi-Fi signal down in the big comfortable living room is very strong. All the beds at the Brewster Inn are wonderful as you say. And yes when I see guests that are here for multiple nights, I like to make sure that all is ok for them. I try hard with customer service at the Brewster Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our stay at The Brewster Inn was great. Mark was a very attentive host. We would love to be back when the gardens are in bloom. We wish we could have stayed longer if only to enjoy the breakfasts. We highly recommend The Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi John and thank you. The gardens are blooming now. There are different areas that will bloom at different times of the year. My lilacs look incredible and smell great right now and then there’s the butterfly garden, shaped like a giant butterfly and filled with plants that attract both butterflies and humming birds too. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at this very comfortable inn. Mark was extremely helpful and informative. The honeymoon suite is very large with a nice sitting area. The inn is beautifully restored and filled with interesting historical memorabilia . The breakfast was delicious and generous. We hope someday to return when the extensive gardens are in bloom.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuhn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you 007 for your kind words. The honeymoon suite is indeed a special suite of rooms and just like the inn itself has a lot of history and I’m sure stories to tell. Thank you for your comments on breakfast and I hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I decided at the very last minute to take off for an overnight get away and were fortunate enough to come across the Brewster Inn’s website. Not only did they have a very nice looking suite available, it was at a very reasonable price! After looking at the reviews and the website we decided to book the Honeymoon Suite, for the very next night. Mark, the Innkeeper, called us to confirm our reservation within about 20 minutes of booking it online. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Mark and felt very welcome immediately in our beautiful surroundings. The pictures on the website are all very beautiful, and we were pleasantly surprised to see it in real life - the photos cannot capture the history, the beauty and the love that obviously went into the beautiful mansion’s restoration and continued maintenance. The Inn’s foyer and living room are incredible, with beautiful attention to detail. Gorgeous hardwood floors, fireplace, large windows (with window seats) - lovely antiques and knick knacks in glass fronted cabinets, even a piano, not to mention furniture that makes you want to curl up with a good book! Very warm and inviting. The Honeymoon Suite is perfection, in a word. Not only is it private and quiet, it is beautifully furnished with everything you may want or need, it is spotlessly clean, from floor to ceiling. The bath is wonderful, a giant two person Jacuzzi with a separate shower, all surrounded in wood paneling, floors and ceiling. There are wonderful whimsical statues, urns and bowls on all of the beautiful built in bookcases lining the walls, with a great collection of books and a terrific sofa set in front of a gas fireplace - oh and more window seats! The bed and pillows are so soft and comfortable, we slept like rocks and didn’t want to go home! The breakfast we had was wonderful, and so filling we didn’t need lunch. I can’t thank you enough for a great stay, Mark. We will be back, and we will recommend your place to all of our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrewsterInn_Mark, Owner at The Brewster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Hi Christine.. I have a new reservation system on the way that should be ready in May. I'm excited about it as its going to open a lot more opportunities for my guests to add more to their stay. I'm looking forward to seeing it in action before later on this year, my new website will also be ready and online. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. I can pretty much guarantee all my guests an incredible nights sleep with my excellent pillows and very comfortable beds. The honeymoon suite is indeed an impressive room, big and private, large whirlpool, fireplace, big seating area. Real comfort at its best. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews