We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast”
Review of Bear's Den

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dover Foxcroft
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear's Den
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

They have a restaurant on site that is our favorite place to go for breakfast when we come up that way. The service is always very friendly, the food is good, and overall the atmosphere is cozy. Maybe not the best place in the world, but certainly good for a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winthrop, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2011

I was in town for business and it was most convenient for me to spend the night in Dover-Foxcroft. The Bear's Den Log Cabins was the only nearby motel available in the winter months so I stayed there. A waitress in the adjoining restaurant checked me in (apparently there is no "office" for the motel). The cabin was clean and attractive in a campy way but, being here on business, I was dismayed that the wi-fi was snail-slow and there was neither a desk nor a CHAIR (!) in the room. I had to set my computer up on the luggage stand and sit on the really uncomfortable futon/couch to do my online work. I'm guessing that most of the winter clientele are snowmobilers and that they may be hard on chairs or something. This would be a great motel for hikers, fishermen, hunters and snowmobilers but not so much for business travelers. The room has a full size bed, a futon, and an upper bunk so it can accommodate 3-4 people for sleeping. There is an outdoor pool that was obviously unavailable in January. The shower, flat-screen TV and the heat work great! If you need chain hotel facilities, keep going until you get to Bangor.

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jemetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bowdoin, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Based on the website and reviews we found on YAHOO we were expecting a quaint, rustic New England setting. Not quite!--unless you count downtown Dover Foxcroft as "rural" and no one could call it quaint! Granted, we could have used Google Earth to take a peak before we booked the room.

As another reviewer pointed out, finding where to check into the hotel was an adventure. For those of you who de rent a room at the Bear's Den, be warned--the office is at the back of the hotel. To get there, you have to open the chain link door to the pool area.

We should have known we were in trouble when the young lady who checked us in wanted payment before we saw the room/cabin.

When we entered the room my husband noticed an odor....They must have fumigated the room within an hour or two of our arrival. Withing 15 minutes, we both had headaches. Granted, the wondows opened so we could air our cabin out ourselves...

As another reviewer pointed out, the Bear's Den is lacking basic amenities--like a chair in which to sit. There is no daily chambermaid service so if you want an extra towel, be prepared to hunt it down yourself. If you want a clean towel, you may want to bring one from home. Or, if you want the trash dumped, better be prepared to take your one small trash can to McDonald's or the gas station to empty it there.

Now, for what was right with the room. No it was not clean--finding spider webs, hair in towels, and dust that could be written on is not my definition of clean. However, it did have a great--forceful--shower. The TV worked and so did internet access.

We rented the room because we wanted to go hiking in the area. So, for us, the location was perfect. The staff was friendly--at least the girls who checked us in was friendly.

All in all, I probably would not recommend a stay at the Bear's Den. Howevier, for some reviewer ths was the perfect place to stay. So, whatever floats your boat..... but we will avoid bear's in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohpoohx6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dover Foxcroft hotels

worldtravelor321
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2010

The Bears Den is located directly on the ITS 82 snowmobile trail for year round fun! The pool is closed in the fall and winter months due to Maine being a cold weather state. The cabins have all the accomidations including a full bath. refrigerator and color tv with cable. Fullsize bed and a futon that pulls out to a fullsize bed as well. Wireless internet available in every room. The cabins are fenced and gated in for extra security to the guests. Reasonable prices and good food in the restaurant. Helpful staff. Fun safe tavern with live music. The positives go on and on!!!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Based upon the Bear's Den website I was expecting some little cabins in a Maine woodland setting. We were not happy to discover that the cabins were set in an industrial section of Dover-Foxcroft, and were surrounded only by a bare, muddy gravel parking lot. Discovering how to get to the office was the second problem; it is separated from the cabins by a chain link fence. We finally entered the restaurant and were taken through the tavern to the office in the back.

The rooms themselves are a cute idea, but poorly executed. We were pleased to see, after the unpleasant outside, that the room was clean and well-kept. However it was lacking many things that make for a comfortable stay, such as no place to sit down except for the bed, no place to hang clothes except a row of Shaker pegs on the wall and no table or desk. Indeed, there was only one suitcase stand, our other bags had to sit on the floor. There was no phone in the room. As we walked into the bathroom the floor creaked noisily. The bathroom was small with a small shower stall. There was no place in the bathroom to set down our toiletries. All the fixtures worked ok and were clean. The linens were clean. We asked about doing laundry but were told that they had to close the laundry room because it was being abused. The swimming pool was covered with a tarp when we were there.

Somehow they had the room assigned to us for only one night even though we originally had made reservations for two. It were happy to shorten our stay but it took quite a few minutes to get the bill sorted out. The price included a breakfast at the adjoining restaurant but it amounted to one egg, one piece of toast and coffee, or $2 off any other breakfast item.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover Foxcroft
0.3 mi away
The Mill Inn and Cafe
The Mill Inn and Cafe
#1 of 4 in Dover Foxcroft
14 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Brewster Inn
The Brewster Inn
#1 of 1 in Dexter
445 reviews
10.9 mi away
Abbot Trailside Lodging
Abbot Trailside Lodging
#1 of 2 in Abbot Village
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Peaks Kenny Motor Lodge
Peaks Kenny Motor Lodge
#4 of 4 in Dover Foxcroft
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bear's Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear's Den

Property: Bear's Den
Address: 73 North Street, Dover Foxcroft, ME 04426
Region: United States > Maine > Dover Foxcroft
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Dover Foxcroft
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear’s Den Motel provides you with log cabin rentals. Come stay in our spacious, log cabins and enjoy everything the Bear’s Den and Dover-Foxcroft, Maine have to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing