We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time, great breakfast”
Review of Five Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We traveled with two couples for ten days through Maine, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick. We all agreed that this was the best place we stayed! The breakfast was supurb, the place is very friendly. The only negative was that the guys didn't have a TV for football and the beds were hard. Will go back if visiting again and recommend to all of our friends!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seekmyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2007

After much research online, we booked room #3, a charming, pink, first floor room for two nights in September. The is a great time of year to visit Boothbay Harbor. Daytime temps in the 70s-80s and 40s-50s in the evening. The summer crowds had pretty much gone from the area. The inn is located on a pretty dead end street facing Linekin Bay. The property is attractively landscaped, and the buildings are well cared for both inside and out. We found it spotless (no peeling paint, no mold, no mildew, no spider webs, no holes in the screens). The inn keepers have great taste in decor - it's bright, charming, whimsical, attractive, colorful, but still quiet and unobtrusive. Each room has it's own climate control. We used the baseboard electric heat at night and it was quiet and fast. There is a separate baseboard heater in the bathroom. Our room was small (no closet, just some pegs on the wall and a small cabinet to hang a few shirts in). The bed in this room is a platform bed (a VERY firm bed with no spring to it) with two drawers underneath for storage and a large space at the end to stow suitcases, but if you have very large suitcases or are large people, this room will feel tight to you. We found the bathroom very clean and attractive with marble counter top sink, but it's very narrow, and you have to step back several feet to swing open the door. The room had two windows opening onto the porch, a chair, a fireplace with a log already in it ready to use, good lighting, and a view of Linekin Bay. They rope off the porch at night so it's quiet. The only noise we heard was someone snoring in room #2, and someone running the water/flushing in one of the other rooms. The people who seem to stay at this inn are generally very quiet outdoorsy/bookish types. There is a nice library off the common room with a great selection of books and magazines. There is no TV in the common room. It's a very serene place. Breakfast is delicious and you can eat out on the porch and enjoy the view: fresh cut fruit, muselli, fat free vanilla yogurt, homemade granola, spicy spoonbread, crab crepes, bloody mary "soup", blueberry coffee cake, biscuits, plum tart, gran marnier orange blintzes, homemade bread... it's all yummy and served hot. We really can't complain, but if we had our way, we would have preferred that breakfast go a bit lighter on the sugar. After breakfast, you can walk 10 minutes to the general store (newspapers, donuts and more breakfast items, sandwiches, wine, crackers and cheese, and some basic vacation home necessities). The store is closed on Mondays. There is a public landing on Murray Hill Road from which you can launch your kayak. There is a public dock as well, across the street from the inn.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GranolaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

We found The Five Gables Inn by mistake as it's 3 miles from Boothbay Harbor in East Booth Bay. But what a find! The property was immaculate, and the owners Mike & Dee were excellent hosts, having tastefully updated the inn over the past 11 years. It's out of the main hustel of Booth Bay Harbor and a nice quiet area on Linekin Bay. They serve a gourmet breakfast, with common room and expansive porch seating overlooking the bay. Mike's a culinary grad so the food was offering was outstanding. The rooms were extrememly quiet from each other, and had lots of little amenities you wouldn't expect to find. They also serve 'tea-time' and after dinner apertifs. Some rooms have working fireplaces and all with private, updated and clean baths. HIghly recommended!

1  Thank Occasional_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

Booked the last available room, which was neat but so small you had to step outside to change your mind. However, the breakfast was the best I've ever had - and the owners were delightful. Bought a copy of their recipe book as we left, but the blueberry pancakes must be classified beyond our clearance. Quiet location; great dining porch.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank anaxagoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2006

An immaculate, welcoming inn...only 15 rooms, some quite small, but nicely decorated with great views of linekin bay...
be forewarned there are no tv's and cell reception is poor - but the ambiance and FANTASTIC gourmet breakfasts prepared by innkeeper mike are worth getting up for!! There are fresh baked cookies and tea in the afternoon and port & sherry out every evening...a real find!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OCTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

In July, 2006, my wife and I stayed for four nights at Five Gables Inn. I can't say enough good things about the Inn and its owners. The location is perfect, in East Boothbay, a quiet town with the Inn located directly on an ocean cove. Inn owners De and Mike Kennedy engage in conversation, but only if desired, never intrusive. Both identify sites of interest and make reservations for guests. Mike is a graduate of the Culinary Institute of America which means the breakfasts are both creative and tasty. This is the only B&B I have visited where the guests all appear before the breakfast is served. They check out the menu for new and favorite items and chat over coffee before the breakfast is served. Highly recommended.

3  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

We just stayed at the Five Gables Inn for our third time. The owners, De and Mike are terrific. The Inn is a delightful place to stay. The rooms are all different and there is a good choice of room types. The breakfasts are incredible. Mike and De go out of their way for their guests and are caring, wonderful people. The Inn overlooks Linekin Bay and has a wonderful wrap-around porch which is ideal for breakfast or socializing. We loved it and plan to return on our next trip to Maine.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank joan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
3.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
2.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#3 of 3 in East Boothbay
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
12.1 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn

Address: 107 Murray Hill Road, PO Box 335, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range: £119 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up with the blissful feeling your room resembles a Maine cottage overlooking a picturesque bay. Here we enjoy quiet mornings on the porch watching lobster boats bobbing in the bay. Yet a short five minute drive puts you in the middle of Boothbay Harbor with windjammers, trips to Monhegan Island, kayaking, hiking, whale watching, lobster eating, galleries, shopping and our #1 rated Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens. 15 of our 16 rooms have an ocean view, all have air conditioning, private en-suite bath and 5 have a fireplace. Your stay includes complimentary Wi-Fi, full buffet breakfast served in front of the fireplace or on our porch overlooking the bay and afternoon tea with homemade cookies. The Inn is known for its warmth, comfort, gourmet breakfasts and spectacular views. Our guests come often, and stay awhile. Join us, and recapture some of the graciousness of grand days gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Five Gables Inn Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing