We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax!”
Review of Five Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Gables Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“relax!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We've stayed here several times years ago and was always pleased. When I booked this year I noticed it was different owners, so I was a bit apprehensive. Luckily I had nothing to worry about.
The Inn is still as relaxing as ever! My wife has food allergies and they made sure that she received an excellent breakfast. The rooms have different appointments like fireplaces and full baths or both or neither, so do some research before you pick out your room. We've stayed there four times total and stayed in different rooms and loved them all.

Room Tip: there is no A/C so if you stay at the height of summer you might want a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
125
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I travel 200 days a year on business, staying in everything from five star hotels to run of the mill hotel chains. This was by far one of the best places to unwind where I could relax. The owners, Steve and Susan, were extremely gracious, welcoming, informative, and just plain fun to be around. The quality of the Inn is top shelf, Susan's breakfasts will last you until dinner and the quiet area away from the commercial tourist area of Booth Bay is refreshing. We will recommend this Inn to friends and hope to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water if you like a view and like to see the sunrise at 4:50 AM. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful view! Charming rooms! Delicious food! Gracious hosts in Steve and Susan! My husband chose the inn with no input from me. I told him he could make the plans for all future vacations, he did so well with his selection for this trip. We really wanted to stay permanently.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I recently stated at Five Gables Inn with a group of friends. The owners went way out of their way to accommodate us and make us comfortable.

The location on the water and the porch to view it from is beautiful. The Inn itself is comfortably and nicely furnished. The full home homemade breakfast was excellent and they serve tea with cookies, also homemade, which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room and first floor if you have trouble climbing stairs- there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGG213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We heard about the inn from family members who stayed earlier in the year.
We traveled late in the season, so many places were closed or closing.
Steve and Susan, the proprietors, could not have been nicer, or more helpful. They guided us in our travels and truly seemed excited to be the owners of this inn.
The food was great.
The living room area was wonderful. We sat by the fire place, met other guests and in general had a great stay.
Would love to go back in spring or early fall and take full advantage of all this area has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coronado, california
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

30+ years of staying at this Inn. Starting with Paul and Ellen who were wonderful innkeepers,
transitioning to Mike and De Kennedy for 16 years of gracious innkeeping and entertainment
from Mike and warm hugs from De. They earned their retirement and the Inn now welcomes
Susan and Steve - hand-picked by Mike and De to carry on the traditions of this most lovely
Inn on the Maine Coast. The warmth of this Inn is beyond description - the "great room" invites
communication with other travelers. And, the food, is grand! Susan loves to cook and the
proof is the morning breakfasts that are scrumptious, plus the afternoon treats deliciously
prepared with love from Susan! Come and stay a while. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try a view room of Linekiln Bay - serenity without parallel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nowclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Fab stay. Very nice room, wonderful views. Really friendly people, and great breakfast. We were four people, (two couples), and both rooms were very nice. A little off the beaten track if you want to walk out for dinner, but the views compensated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelandjane1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
1.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
533 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
2.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
894 reviews
1.9 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Gables Inn

Property: Five Gables Inn
Address: 107 Murray Hill Road, PO Box 335, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking with the blissful feeling that your room resembles a Maine cottage overlooking a picturesque bay. Scenic and Serene East Boothbay is a 200 year old village just 5 minutes from Boothbay Harbor, Maine, though you will feel light years away. Here we enjoy peaceful mornings on the inns porch, no traffic passing by, and a view of the lobster boats bobbing in the harbor. Yet a short five minute drive puts you in the middle of Boothbay Harbor with windjammers, trips to Monhegan Island, kayaking, hiking, whale watching, lobster eating, galleries and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Five Gables Inn Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing