We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have returned at least 10 times”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Boothbay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Point Inn and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Penn Yan, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Have returned at least 10 times”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We have recommended this place to countless people and they all love it too. There is no better location for a vacation than this. You experience the coast of Maine with all the senses. The fog horns in the peace of the middle of the night, the lapping water, the rise and fall of the tides, the "to die for" walk around the coast road, with spectacular views at every turn in the road, the architecture of Ocean Point, the friendliness of the people, the flowers, it's all there. The rooms are charming, with the Adirondack chairs on the porches. Even in the rain, we've loved this place. The dining room and the bar have wonderful cuisine. You will return again and again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindajackson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    105
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
92
211
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffern, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

This was our fourth stay at the lovely Ocean Point Inn. We love it for its location and warm, friendly staff. There is a choice of many types of accomodations, and the location, right on the water is beautiful. We always look forward to sitting in the Adirondack chairs, set up at the water's edge, at the end of the day, to watch the sun set. The staff is always friendly and attentive and will be glad to offer advice about what to see and do in the area. The Inn has its own restaurant and bar - both of which we've frequented on many occasions. There is also a pool and a hot tub for those who enjoy "lounging around. All in all, the Inn is a good value and I'm sure we will be back to visit whenever we can.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rala14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My mother and I have been coming to the Ocean Point Inn for the last 15 years, most of them on the Fall Foliage package. We always stay in Seawinds 12 and have a wonderful, beautiful view of the harbor. The rooms are comfortable, clean and homey. The staff is wonderful, friendly and helpful. The meals in the dining room are fabulous. We feel so much at home that we can't wait to return the following year. I have recommended Ocean Point to many folks over the years and those who have joined us or stayed there on their own have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevNancyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We have been comming to the Ocean Point Inn for about five years now.They never fail to make our stay so enjoyable.No matter what the weather is outside we always feel like we are in a comfortable place.The rooms make you feel as if we are home,and the staff is always there to help out in any way.We love to dine at the Inn because the food is always so good.From the Crab Cakes to the homemade desserts made daily.We also love to sit outside in one of many Adirondack chairs to watch the awsome sunsets.Definitely bring a camera,because the views are so beautiful.I would recommend Ocean Point Inn to people of all ages.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuzma61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This hotel sits within feet of the ocean in coastal Maine, so the view is absolutely spectacular. They have lots of Adirondack chairs seated right at the water line where you can enjoy the scenery.

The Ocean Point Inn, white and bright, fits the scene quite well, but unfortunately, once you enter the rooms or cabins, the whole experience goes downhill. We stayed in two separate cabins over the three days we were there (Bay Crest and Sea Chest), both smelled moldy and really needed to be gutted and updated. Both cabins had old linens, outdated curtains and furniture, and peeling wallpaper. We also visited family who were staying in one of the standard rooms overlooking the ocean. This room was also outdated, moldy and dreary.

We ate at the restaurant for dinner one evening. I would not recommended this restaurant to anyone. The food was poor (both in preparation and quality). The drive back to Boothbay for other options is about twenty minutes away. Take the drive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainah, Manager at Ocean Point Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
Dear MHR1,
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We knew you were upset when you first called to arrive a day early and Sea Chest was occupied so we had to lodge you and your family in Bay Crest the first night. You are right, the strength of our property is the oceanfront setting. However, mold is an unacceptable condition. We thought we had got rid of any the property may have had in our Spring 2010 renovations. But based upon your comments we have contacted a local mold mitigation specialist to come give our property a complete mold analysis. If any is found it will be addressed immediately and we will update this post as soon as we know. As to our dining, we have had nothing but raves this summer and hope yours was an isolated experience. We are very sorry you did not agree with the majority of our guests, many of whom return year after year and find us to offer fabulous value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2010

I have been coming here with my family every year since I was little. I absolutely love it! The views are gorgeous and the rooms so comfortable and quaintly decorated. Its so relaxing and perfect location for nice runs/walks. As a kid I used to love climbing all over the rocky beaches and scouring the beaches for sea glass and shells. The last time I was there I wanted to share this place with my boyfriend. We rented kayaks and paddled throughout the point and harbor. I highly recommend doing so if you're into outdoor activities. It was amazing seeing the inn and its location from the water. The hot tub is new and a wonderful nice touch. My family normally visits in the fall and it is so nice to sit in the hot tub with the cool crisp air.
The food from the restaurant was superb!! The calamari and haddock are my favorites - but save room for dessert the lemon/blueberry mousse is a must!
The staff is more than accommodating and go out of their way to make you feel at home.
I cannot say enough nice things about the Ocean Point Inn. I can't wait till this years trip!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEGBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We have been going to Ocean Point Inn for Columbus Day Weekend for the past 20 years and can't wait to get back this year. The views are terrific and the Inn is located right on the ocean. You can take long walks on the coastline or just sit in the chairs and watch the sunset. I've never had a bad meal at the Inn's Restaurant. There are many things to do just a short distance away. The staff is always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianegiuditta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
2.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
488 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Point Inn and Resort

Property: Ocean Point Inn and Resort
Address: 191 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 409, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544-6429
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn and Resort with Inn, Lodge, Motel and Cottage lodging options. The majority of guest rooms enjoy direct ocean views of the islands, lighthouses and boats. Many rooms with decks offering stunning sunsets. All accommodations have private bath, mini-fridge, phone, cable TV, and AC/heat. Some with gas fireplaces. Oceanfront dining featuring local seafood, lobster, and more with beautiful sunset vistas. Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Free Wifi. We also have 2 Tesla charging stations and one generic charging station which are free for OPI guests and available for a nominal fee for non-guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Point Hotel East Boothbay
Ocean Point Inn And Resort Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing