We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but felt tired”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Boothbay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Point Inn and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Ocean Point Inn one night in September. Wow! what a gorgeous piece of real estate they have! We had an oceanfront room with a nice little deck - comfortable but not fancy, which is the way we like it. However, without going into unnecessary detail, I must say that the room and bathroom were dirty. The whole place felt like it was done for the season! We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was mediocre. Friendly people, great location, but buyer beware!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachlover2487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend in the Large Queen Lodge Room with the private porch overlooking the ocean. The location and views are incredible and the staff was probably the friendliest we've ever encountered at any resort! Although it rained most of the time we still enjoyed the local town and its offerings. Our favorite was to grab a couple of beers and sit in the chairs lined up in front of the water! You just can't beat that view! Also, make sure to visit the pub and most importantly have the full hot breakfast - it is unbelievable! All the food was so fresh and absolutely delicious. Overall, we loved the resort and the town, East Boothbay/Boothbay Harbor, and we are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed there leading a large group so my comments reflect my personal experience and comments from the group members as well. Understand this is a classic property that is very well maintained with the typical idiosyncrasies and character that these types of properties offer. The location is fantastic. Beautiful views in every direction - words cannot describe how awesome they are. The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable and the towels thick and fluffy. Bathrooms are small but fully appointed - see idios above. The front desk staff was both welcoming and knowledgeable and our entire group was checked in quickly with no reservations issues. We particularly enjoyed the sitting room in the main building with it's comfortable seating and fireplace.
The dining room has a commanding ocean view - hint - visit when making your dinner reservation and ask for a window seat. The food was very good in both preparation and presentation. I would call the breakfast buffet adequate - an omelette option would be nice.
Great staff and hostess.
Personally I look forward to going back and based on their feed back our group would like to return as well. Hint - upgrading to the lodge at the front of the property is well worth it if you enjoy majestic ocean/island views.

Room Tip: Front lodge with harbor facing rooms have a fantastic view and porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cccruisemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We absolutely loved everything about this inn. The view and location are beyond comparison! The food was good. The rooms could not have been cleaner and the staff are the most accommodating and friendly we have ever encountered. We visited the inn this spring and could not wait to return last week and will be going back next year. Could not say enough about this place - love it!!

Room Tip: room 20 in the Lodge had a private balcony and amazing views!!! Actually all the rooms are good tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcia g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I don't see how anyone have a negative comment about this place (well with the exception of one waitress with a sourpuss face). This was my second time there. Both my husband and I love it. If you need to unwind and are looking for peace and quiet - this is the place! Looking forward to going back next year, God willing, for a longer stay. Thank you

Room Tip: We had a room with an ocean view from our bed - The Hatchard House - you will not regret paying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet1960Rosedale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Our 1st stay for our 50th wedding anniversary. There are no words to express the joy O.P.I.gave us ! Service, spotlessly clean, beautiful environment,nothing pretentuous,excellant dining,the sunsets were over-whelming.Really have no bones to pick about this resort,it was unforgettable.A "must come back" place,because this was a "little taste of Heaven" for two oldtimers.

Room Tip: Cottages are great for people who do not want to eat out all the time-very quiet area-not a lot of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolores Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We didn't stay here, just had breakfast as we were staying nearby. We arrives a few minutes after brunch closed and the staff (while guests were still seated) were shoving food into their mouths and onto plates! It was pretty gross and we were told to leave because "the vultures has decended" not sure why but we tried back the next day. food was fine. Price ok. Staff was still uncomfortable and service was poor. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankeedoodleCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
3.5 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
3.5 mi away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#1 of 3 in East Boothbay
216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
941 reviews
1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Inn
Smugglers Cove Inn
#3 of 3 in East Boothbay
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Point Inn and Resort

Address: 191 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 409, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544-6429
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range: £59 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn and Resort with Inn, Lodge, Motel and Cottage lodging options. The majority of guest rooms enjoy direct ocean views of the islands, lighthouses and boats. Many rooms with decks offering stunning sunsets. All accommodations have private bath, mini-fridge, phone, cable TV, and AC/heat. Some with gas fireplaces. Oceanfront dining featuring local seafood, lobster, and more with beautiful sunset vistas. Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Free Wifi. We also have 2 Tesla charging stations and one generic charging station which are free for OPI guests and available for a nominal fee for non-guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Point Hotel East Boothbay
Ocean Point Inn And Resort Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing