We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice getaway weekend - great food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Boothbay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Point Inn and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was a perfect combination of what we wanted for our anniversary weekend. First and foremost, a beautiful view right on the ocean. Second, away from the overcrowded tourist centers. Third, (maybe first), great food! ... the seafood scampi was incredible. The room, pool, walks were all just what we wanted. Plus, all of the activities and boat cruises were close enough to get to by car.

This is not a high end pretentious place to go. It is beautiful, quiet, and just what we were looking for.

Glad we made the trip

Room Tip: A room with a view... of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justmmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

We were late arrivals and our key was taped to the entrance door. Our rooms looked like they had just recently been remodeled with new drapes, bed linens and carpet. We got a free continental breakfast - muffins, coffee and cereal. It is on the quiet side with a family of ducks on the lawn.

Room Tip: We have stayed several times, in the "hotel" type rooms for a short stay and have also sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We spent three nights at the Ocean Point Inn and were impressed by the knowledgable staff, very clean and spacious accommodations, lovely setting with great sunset views, great breakfast offerings and excellent dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Farmhouse are spacious, clean, and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We don't normally write reviews, but we felt the need to with this MOTEL. I know there are a lot of excellent reviews and that's why we stayed here, but we were incredibly disappointed!

First of all, we stayed in the West Wind cottage which was supposedly newly renovated. Sure there was a newer flat screen TV, new bedding, and the bed was very comfortable, however those were about the only positives. The place is VERY old, all 110 years and not in a charming way... all included with a nice musty smell (my husband says it's a "cottage" smell). The doorframe had settled enough we couldn't even use the deadbolt. The "outstanding" ocean views from room C were little more than 400ft of water across the inlet through power lines. The plumbing is incredibly loud, not just from our room, but we could hear anytime anyone else in the building used it was well. The walls, they might as well be paper... We could hear everything going on in the room next to us, even quiet conversations, the TV, you name it.

The final straw for us was the morning of check out, which was at 11:00. At about 8:45 we got a knock on the door, it was housekeeping asking if we would be leaving soon! We've never encountered anything like that before...

Thankfully we paid off season rates, anyone paying full price for this room is being sadly deceived.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JMarW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our recent stay at Ocean Point Inn was a delight. There probably isn't a more beautiful view any where. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff was so friendly and helpful. The price was very reasonable. We stayed in I- 1 and 2. We had a beautiful picture window that looked directly out onto the ocean. We could see lobster boats actually working and a light house in the distance. There is a little lawn above the seawall with chairs so you can spend hours watching the activity. Even though their restaurant was not open yet they served us delicious pastries and coffee for breakfast and what a view from the dining area. I highly recommend this place and am already making plans for a return trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacqueline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

When I need to unwind, recharge and renew I head for the Ocean Point Inn. It is a destination - way off the beaten path - but if relaxation is what you're after it's worth the trip. OPI is a collection of Inn rooms, cottages and assorted building, so they have something for most people - even handicapped rooms. They have continuously updated their rooms so all are comfortable and pleasant. There is a restaurant (full menu, open for dinner and a breakfast buffet, frequented by locals and delicious) and a small bar/tavern (for lighter fare, drinks and conversation). The staff is friendly and competent - a real person answers the phone when you call and someone greets you at the front desk with a smile. But the very BEST part is the location. OPI sits on the ocean (separated by a country road) with plenty of Adirondack chairs for enjoying the view - ocean, boats, lobstermen a good book and sunsets. We brought relatives from Oregon to OPI and when they returned to visit the next time they asked to go back to OPI (even though we were willing to expand their New England sightseeing). If you're looking for classic Maine scenery and a great place to vacation I highly recommend Ocean Point Inn,

Room Tip: Inn rooms that face the ocean are picturesque. Cottages are various sizes. Even the least expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We arrived early evening tired from travelling all day and hungry. As we drove in the dark to find Ocean Point Inn we were pleasantly surprised to have a wonderful dining room with great wait staff and food. Room was comfortable and cozy. When we awakened in the morning the beautiful peaceful, quiet setting was wonderful. Ocean Point Inn is certainly a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of Maine

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaEnglewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
2.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
512 reviews
2.9 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#1 of 3 in East Boothbay
214 reviews
13.4 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Point Inn and Resort

Address: 191 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 409, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544-6429
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range: £60 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn and Resort with Inn, Lodge, Motel and Cottage lodging options. The majority of guest rooms enjoy direct ocean views of the islands, lighthouses and boats. Many rooms with decks offering stunning sunsets. All accommodations have private bath, mini-fridge, phone, cable TV, and AC/heat. Some with gas fireplaces. Oceanfront dining featuring local seafood, lobster, and more with beautiful sunset vistas. Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Free Wifi. We also have 2 Tesla charging stations and one generic charging station which are free for OPI guests and available for a nominal fee for non-guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Point Hotel East Boothbay
Ocean Point Inn And Resort Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing