We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Point Inn is the Best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Boothbay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Point Inn and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Ocean Point Inn is the Best!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We loved Ocean Point. We arrived last year in the pouring rain and it rained all weekend, however we loved it. We came back this year and we love it all the more! Ocean Point is a special place that will keep us coming back again and again. The food is wonderful, the location is amazing, the rooms are great, and the people are the best. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in Seawinds, however there are a lot of buildings and rooms to choose from. Seawinds, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Kautz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    105
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
92
212
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CALIFORNIA
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stumbled into this place because we had a coupon in a book from a visitor center in Ohio. We stayed in an economy room in a building from the 1850s. Our economy room turned out to be a 2 bedroom unit that was very comfortable. While the building was old, it had character and we enjoyed our room. However, the best feature of this property is the location. Ocean point is near the end of East Boothbay with a very private wonderful view. We liked this better that Boothbay, and you can't beat the peace and quiet of this location. There are chairs along the water, a pier, and beautiful grounds to enjoy. The restaurant at the inn was another pleasant surprise. We had dinner and enjoyed food that tasted great for a reasonable hotel price, all with a view of the ocean. Breakfast was great. We upgraded for $7/person to the buffet because it looked so much better than the free continental breakfast. It was fantastic.

The only annoyance was the Wifi which took about 30 minutes to log on in the morning (it worked fine late at night). Upon check-in, there is a warning sheet about limited bandwidth with all types of rules to limit use. Apparently this is due to the internet provider and the cost to expand bandwidth. So the hotel discourages use of Wifi. I can understand that and if it was not needed this would be a great place to escape.

It would have been nice if we could have stayed here 2-3 days, but we are on a 3 week drive through New England and Eastern Canada so we could only spend 1 night. Alas, we will have to return when we have more time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed here about 13 times over a period of 17 years--and as far as I am concerned, the LOCATION of this inn CANNOT BE BEATEN. We stayed at the Penhouse because there were four adults and the extra 1/2 bath proved to be very welcomed. We understand that this Inn is over 100 years old and expect the floors to creak and be a little uneven but the rooms have been updated and are very clean although still somewhat dated. A second television in one bedrrom was a surprise and proved valuable since our son and daughter and law didn't always share TV preferences with us. The restaurant is still and always has been one of the best restaurants in the area. The main problem was the erratic WiFi availability which worked about 1/3 of the time, which was maddening in this day and time. At least we were able to use the computer in the office area which helped, but something is going to need to be done if the inn advertises Free WiFi --but then it works in some locations only 1/3 of the time.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the office probably have better WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The area is great to visit and Ocean Point is great location.The food and restaurant staff are very good. The resort is starting to get very tired and some updates would help them keep up with other areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John499232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel, it's location is amazing... The room we chose had a nice view of the dock and bay, although at sunset the Mosquitos want to carry you away!

The room was nicely partially renovated , although the bathroom needs help still and the shower has one of those hideous water saver shower heads that hurts to shower under. Be a amazing room if the bathroom was done. We stayed in the sea wind block.

Bar service was great, although it only opens at 5pm, but that's ok. Dinner was decently priced, service was a bit lacking due to understaffing , but it was doable, just be patient.

But the biggest disappointment was the lobster Mac and cheese. The lobster was bad, it smelled like ammonia and it was strong, we couldn't believe the cook would serve old lobster that really was badly off and should have been thrown away days ago. The waitress was great at apologizing and it appeared she knew they used old lobster in this dish, she was nice enough to comp us a steamed lobster. The food needs some help, even getting instant mash potato as one of your veggies is not acceptable, if you can't Mash a Freshly cooked potato you shouldn't be running a restaurant.



Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank can99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This place is the essence of Maine. Absollutely great location - great view of the ocean, fantastic sunsets, peaceful and quiet, very good restraunt, and comfortable Inn. Desserts are homeade and very good. Wine list is not excessive but adequate. Service is always good. They always have a few specials to go with a more typical Maine menu featuring seafood. From Yankee Pot Roast to mussels to salmon, the meals are always good. If you don't stay here, you need to drive out from Boothbay Harbor for dinner.

Room Tip: If you stay here, get a room on 2nd floor of the Lodge. They are closest to the Ocean and have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have to admit I originally had a couple misgivings before we arrived. I was slightly annoyed when I booked two adjoined rooms in the same cottage and was told one of them had double beds for our boys. Then called me to say that there was only a queen and a pull out. They did try and make amends and offered me a discount for the inconvenience which I thought was very nice. It is very far off the beaten path and it is a little scary to get there in the dark as we did after a long day. When we checked in I admit the rooms did look a little tired, but I said let's sleep on it and see what happens in the morning. I could not sleep as the pillows and mattress were not comfortable to me at all, but my husband slept fine. Go figure. We decided to go to the Bed Bath and Beyond in Maine and invested in good pillows and an egg crate for the bed. This made a huge difference to me.
At the end of the day I have to say we did have a really nice time. The housekeeping was excellent, the entire staff from front desk to restaurant were very attentive and the VIEW is amazing. So relaxing. The pool was clean with an excellent temperature. So even though we got off to a rough start is was a really nice stay and I would seriously consider going back. I feel for what we got there (comp breakfast, clean room, excellent view) it was worth it. There are a lot of hotels in Boothbay Harbor but it is a little more motel like in feeling. Our hotel was very quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseyestrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Boothbay
2.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
454 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
3.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
492 reviews
2.9 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#2 of 3 in East Boothbay
205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Point Inn and Resort

Property: Ocean Point Inn and Resort
Address: 191 Shore Rd, P.O. Box 409, East Boothbay, Boothbay, ME 04544-6429
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay > East Boothbay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Boothbay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront Inn and Resort with Inn, Lodge, Motel and Cottage lodging options. The majority of guest rooms enjoy direct ocean views of the islands, lighthouses and boats. Many rooms with decks offering stunning sunsets. All accommodations have private bath, mini-fridge, phone, cable TV, and AC/heat. Some with gas fireplaces. Oceanfront dining featuring local seafood, lobster, and more with beautiful sunset vistas. Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Free Wifi. We also have 2 Tesla charging stations and one generic charging station which are free for OPI guests and available for a nominal fee for non-guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Point Hotel East Boothbay
Ocean Point Inn And Resort Maine/East Boothbay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing