We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable visit.”
Review of Riverside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Machias
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 East Machias B&B and Inns
Hinsdale, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A very enjoyable visit.”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We very much enjoyed our visit to the Riverside Inn. Rocky and Ellen were very welcoming and helpful. Our dinner on Saturday night cooked by Rocky and assisted by Ellen was truely exceptional. The service was flawless and matched with a lovely wine. We stayed in the upper coach which has a small deck and view of the East Machias River.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
32
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool. Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

On arrival we were shown into the coach house. This was a charming two room suite with a huge verandah overlooking the river. An idyllic view. Dinner was truly unforgettable - it was michelin star quality and we still talk about it and compare other meals with it. We too were up at the crack of dawn as previous reviews, however this was because the beds were too hard and we couldn't sleep. However beds and their qualities are very subjective and perhaps we are just like a soft bed. I would stay again if only for dinner - WOW

Room Tip: The coach house ground floor has a super deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

An excellent experience. Rooms were very nice. Host was very helpful. Breakfast was great. Couldn't really ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZTraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We arrived early about two hours early on the first night and the room was not ready. We were told come back at 4pm. The owner seemed a bit cold that first day. But, come the next morning at breakfast, she was very warm and welcoming. So, I am assuming she was just having a bad day that day... We all get them...

We stayed in the Lower Coach Room, which had its own private deck overlooking the river. The Lower Couch Room consists of 2 rooms (one with a Queen and one with two twins) sharing a bathroom. But, you should be aware that the bathroom access is through the Queen Room, which also has the TV. So, people staying in the twin room have to go through the Queen Room to use the bathroom. It was not an issue for us. But, it is something you should be aware of.

The breakfasts each morning were wonderful. Very well prepared and presented.

Parking is limited and can be an issue. Especially in the evening, when there are people dining at the restaurant. The small parking lot should be reserved for overnight guests. Overnight guests should not be expected to park in the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Our trip was great . The owners Ellen and Rocky where very helpful in giving us information on place to see. The inn was very nice. My children loved watching the bald eagles in the morning as the ate their breakfast. The food at the restaurant was excellent !!! My 10 year old daughter loved the Tuna wontons and my Son is still talking about the bacon!! They love it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtrocks31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Very nice and romantic place, great food, a little pricey though but worth a visit once. The deserts are 3.5, food 4.5, restroom 5 and view 4.5.. One of the best in this area

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed in the Upper Coach which had a fabulous view of the river, and of the family of bald eagles from the balcony. It was good to have our own kitchenette but we dined twice at the restaurant. The food was superb, Rocky is an excellent chef, while Ellen waited tables and was very knowledgeable about wines. They make a great team.
They made us very welcome and were very helpful about directions and places to visit. Rocky lent us a road map for one of our trips, and when we wanted to walk along the river bank at night, they lent us a flashlight.
Some of the previous reviews made me wonder if we'd made a mistake booking this place, but our worries were totally unfounded. A great place to stay with really nice hosts.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amcailleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Machias
2.9 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
236 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bluebird Motel
Bluebird Motel
#3 of 3 in Machias
79 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Property: Riverside Inn
Address: 622 Main Street, East Machias, ME 04630
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > East Machias
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in East Machias
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale bed and breakfast in Downeast Maine. Breakfast is made to order on your schedule. Location is convenient to Campobello, Calias, Lubec, West Quoddy, and Cutler. Inn sits on the Sunrise Trail and Machias River. Gorgeous views and nature abounds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing