We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely in need of some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Watford Gap
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watford
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Although the Days Inn Hotel locations are conveniently located in the Services Areas on the M1, they are very poorly signposted in the services area, making them quite hard to find. On one occasion after we had driven around and around, the staff in the petrol station informed us that it was on the other (!!) side of the motorway! We stayed in 2 on our journey back and forth from Scotland, but this review is about the one at Watford Gap. The staff member at reception was very helpful and professional in her manner. The wifi service was fast, although required signing up to a system that was external to the hotel, asking for considerable personal details - not particularly acceptable (e.g. date of birth, address, phone number, email etc). The bed was poor - very bouncy and with a ridge along the middle of the double bed, with pillows needing replacing sometime ago. The walls are clearly not sound proofed with the person next door (or so it seemed) being very audible. The room was clean enough. The convenience factor is good, but the hotel itself is not one that we would choose to stay in again. At 45 pounds, this was not value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MullSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Watford Gap
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

Hubby & I stayed here last week, end of October, for one night on our way down from Lancashire to Kent. We had already stayed in a Days Inn in Peterborough, pre-booked, and this one was just as good. The room was a good size and very clean and there was free wifi although we didn't use it. The receptionist sold us vouchers for breakfast next door, these cost us 7.50 GBP each but gave us 10 GBP spending power, so good value. We stayed the day after the clocks had changed and the alarm clock hadn't been altered, a minor complaint but maybe important for business men!! Also, the shower could have done with being replaced...it sprayed everywhere and soaked the floor, plus the bath was a bit slippy when wet so maybe a bath mat would solve that. Other than those minor matters no complaints!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parx2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we were going to a party nearby. We thought the room could do with a little updating but it was generally clean and well equipped. The free unlimited WiFi is a real bonus as your free 30 mins WiFi at Premier Inn soon goes! There is a cafe in the adjacent service area which serves breakfast but we didn't use it on this occasion. Overall, this hotel offers good value for money if you just want a place to rest your head for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrottersDandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I arrived, oblivious to the fact that my husband had paid in advanced. Was asked to pay again and did so.The hassle we have had reclaiming the overpayment has been unbelievable.Days Inn fine until things go wrong - you are then on the receiving end of the most appalling Customer Service team based in the US.The whole experience will mean we avoid Days Inn like a plague in future years - inefficient and underserving of customer loyalty in the UK

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank Venicemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I wanted something close to Daventry and not expensive so I found this more easily on the internet than I did when I drove there!
Signage is poor and I spent half an hour trying to find the actual hotel which ended up being down a road with a NO ENTRY sign
The lady on reception said it was something other customers had mentioned but all due to local restictions put on by the council
My feedback was that the internet booking should have warned me, I almost gave up!
The room was one used for meetings so a little strange but it was clean apart from some mouldy grouting which I reported
Basic and value for money, although I have found better and same price with Laterooms before
At a push I would stay there again but at least now I know where it is :)

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back as it is quieter - next to busy service stop on motorway
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Room had not been vacuumed. Bin had previous guests rubbish in. Staff were friendly but the room was very dated and very unclean

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmwroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed in the hotel with my family in two rooms as we were visiting Silverstone for the 6 hours of Silverstone Le Mans race. The location was handy for the circuit being only 25 minutes or so away and located on the M1. The two rooms were family rooms which we were told consisted of a double and two single beds. However they in fact both had a double bed and a sofa bed. Luckily we had enough beds for all 5 of us in the party which consisted of 4 adults and a teenager aged 14. The rooms were satisfactory for the price we paid and the facilities were fine. The only real issue was that in one of the rooms we only had one bath towel and had to go to reception in the morning before one of us could shower. Also the cold tap in room 18 was very very stiff and was really hard to turn on. Other than those minor niggles the hotel is fine for the price paid through Bookings.com and we would use the hotel again if visiting Silverstone.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viccazwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watford
3.5 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
394 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Northampton West M1, Jct 16
10.5 mi away
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
Ibis Hotel Northampton Centre
#17 of 29 in Northampton
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Daventry Court Hotel
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rugby/Northampton
5.2 mi away
De Vere Staverton Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Watford Gap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Watford Gap

Address: Roadchef Motorway Service Area | M1 Motorway, Watford NN6 7UZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Watford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watford
Price Range: £36 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Watford Gap 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Watford Gap is situated on SOUTHBOUND if you are following a sat nav this will take you to Northbound, if you are are Northbound then please drive round the back of the lorry park and go through the NO ENTRY road turn right, and it's your first right after going over the motorway bridge back down the no entry road on southbound. We do not sell Alcohol anywhere on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Watford Gap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Watford Gap Hotel Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing