We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a drink after the castle”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 15 July 2014

we stopped in , and had a good meal and a drink , I could recommend this inn the service good and the food excellent ,

Thank WatfordTonypip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 313 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just slightly off the main poole, corfe castle, Swanage route, this fantastic gem of a pub offers great lunches, a good selection of local and other ales, large secluded rear beer garden with all the quietness you could want from a country pub.

we just had a beer each, a crab sandwich and a home cooked ham sandwich, both served with side salad and chips. excellent value, great taste and a very relaxing hour.

Just 200 yards up the road is Margaret green animal rescue centre, also well worth a visit to check out the cats, pigs, chickens, horses etc.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tiffer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I strongly disagree with the last critical review. I have visited this pub on several occasions over the years and have always found the food surperb and the atmosphere welcoming and friendly. My partner and I also had the haddock which I had previously had and recommended that my other half should try, he to was delighted with this meal..which was washed down with a good bottle of wine from one of the great bottles you can choose from and pick out yourself from the new inns wine cellar, the staff were very helpful and nothing too much trouble. I can not rate this pub highly enough .

Thank Perri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriceEstop, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

On behalf ot our team I would like to thank the last three people for positive reviews, after our bad experience , with such a rude customer last friday, Especially when some of the people came especially for our Smoked haddock, and loved it It is so disheartening , for our team to be abused , when it is totally unjustified, So this makes our reviews even more important, for our team, We appreciate your feed back very much,
We introduced to our garden area a formal dining area with restaurant style tables,with table cloths comfortable chairs, under a canopy , weather permitting ,
This is a great facility for disabled clients, far people with pets, and for families that like to sit outside, It is also a no Smoking area, but there are many casual tables in our Garden where Smokers can enjoy, With views over our camp site and the rolling purbeck Hills,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have visited this pub regularly over the past 30 years and the food has always been of a very good standard. Occasionally they run out of some things and that is because they buy fresh products and it does not sit in the kitchen for too long. Well worth a visit.

Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriceEstop, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

On behalf of our team, Thank you for your positive review and for your loyalty over 30 years, We hope you will continue to enjoy our food and dining experience , for many more years,
As you remark we sometimes run out of things , because we use everything fresh , and sometimes people walk in and see a meal as it is brought out to another table, they love the presentation and then order ,
But when you make your reservation and there is something special you would like please tell us and we will make sure it is kept for you,
Our carvery is hugely popular and sometimes can run out on a Sunday, At the moment Mussels are very popular, as is the Belly pork with black pudding, and our very popular Smoked haddock, but dishes like this can be reserved for when you come,If you have request for non Menu dishes , for example, Lobster , please ask and we will do our best to get for you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our first visit and definitely our last. The first complaint bad Ringwood Beer was undrinkable. The main course, the smoked haddock was dry and unappetising, but the CHEF according to bar staff, claimed there was nothing wrong with it. The staffs attitude was, (couldn't care less).
Not impressed at all and evidently the lack of clientele on a FRIDAY evening would indicate that our experience was not exceptional. Granted the £14.95 for the smoked haddock was deducted from the bill. Oh well one would expect that.
We would suggest that the bar staff have more training in CUSTOMER care, also remember even behind the bar, coughs and sneezes spread diseases.
Final point Ladies toilet was absolutely disgusting, thick pile carpet had not seen a clean for how long!,,,

1  Thank Clivr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauriceEstop, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Terrible Woman with a dreadful attitude, Which she arrived with, We new she was going to be trouble from the start, We never criticise our customers , but on this occasion we have to say that this lady was extremely rude to my efficient and Polite staff, and all the hundreds of people that know and use the New Inn will know that her remarks are totally out of order, Firstly yes I agree we had come to the end of a Barrel, this happens, but two other real ales were available, and in great condition, and it was explained to her Partner a very pleasant Man, that there would be a delay on this ale, because we clean the line before replenishing this particular ale, and he was fine about this,
as for the Smoked Haddock it is one of our best selling dishes, enjoyed by again hundreds of People, we have many clients that come here time and time again especially for this meal,
My staff were correct to tell this rude lady that there was nothing wrong with it, and I checked it my self , but unfortunately after she had left, , My staff dealt with this in a pleasant and polite Manner, as they are trained to do, it was a beautiful fillet of smoked haddock, and not liking it is not a reason to complain about it,
This was a beautiful fillet of fresh smoked Haddock, served with Mash potato, and hollandaise sauce , peas, and a poached egg, Cooked to order,
As for my Employees they are far from rude, , they go out of their way to welcome , to show you to your Table and to take your order, , and they remained polite in spite of this customers attitude,
Although there was nothing wrong with her meal, we like our customers to leave happy with our food and dining experience, So to this end she was offered an alternative which she declined,
and although it was not necessary we did not charge this lady for her meal,
For all our regular clients and future clients, You will see that this ladies Comments are totally out of character with the standard of food and service at the New Inn,
Under normal circumstances if something is not quite right we will apologise and put it right,
No one ever leaves the New inn without being checked to make sure that they enjoyed their meal and dining experience, we pride ourselves in quality, presentation and customer experience,
On this occasion i make no apology, this lady was extremely rude , when it was totally unnecessary, if for what ever reason she did not like her meal or the way it was cooked and served, all she had to do was say and we would have offered her an alternative dish,
Even before this customers comments were brought to Trip advisor, We expected this kid of comments from her,because of her rude attitude, She definitely got out of bed on the wrong side on this day, and she will never be served in the New inn again, and I can only remember in 30 years , refusing to serve customers that are so rude, on two occasions, and in 30 years that is many many thousands of customers,
I back my employees 100% on this occasion,and my Head chef,
I apologise to our customers both old and new for taking such a firm stance on this, But there are sometimes occasions when the customer is not always right, and this was definitely one that can be awarded our worst most unreasonable customer,
As for our ladies Toilets, they are clean, tidy and do not smell, they are cleaned and refreshed every day after every shift, , Yes they may be small for a busy pub, but again the customers comments , were out of order,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing