We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Fast Indeed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
472 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Very Fast Indeed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Was looking for something different in the Corfe Castle area as not overly impressed with quality there. Found this inn on tripadvisor so decided to give it a go. Phoned to make a reservation as it said they could be busy, no hassle and friendly person on the phone. Arrived at about 6:30pm and it was fairly quiet, plenty of parking at the rear if the property. Taken to table and drinks order taken followed shortly after by our food order. Decided on just a couple of mains, home made fish cakes and a large cod with the usual. Just a point on the cod, standard is one fillet, large was two and boy was I stuffed at the end of the meal. So make sure your really hungry. Anyway we were in and out in about 40 minutes, the food actually arrived about ten minutes after we ordered at the most, I call that fast food and not always good for a dining experience. Food was very good though and worth the money. Staff efficient and try to please however noticed that some tables were offered water and others like ourselves not and our table was directly below the specials board so had eyes in our direction for most of the evening which is off putting somewhat. The inn is well decorated and cosy without being over the top. Not a bad evening but oh so short and it was very busy when we left, felt a bit like they just wanted us out but I'm not sure that's exactly the case it just felt like it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newinnchurchknowle, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Many thanks for your review, I apologise my team did not offer you water, we do mot always offer , but if you ask it is free and served in a sealed bottle,
All our food is home made and cooked to order, so it does not take long to cook your particular meal, We are busy in the Summer months , and our menu is designed to work in August under pressure, with out long delays, this is from 30 years of experience, we pride ourselves that except from odd occasions you should not wait more than 20 minutes, and busy should not and does not effect the quality or the presentation, My son and head chef and his team all take care with presentation, Some times Tables can be booked twice in an evening, but if this is the case we explain this to you at the time of reservation, In your case your table was not reserved for further use, and there was no pressure to vacate your table, reservations are advised during the school holidays,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    98
    48
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Lunch, but Busy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A very popular local restaurant, not far from Corfe Castle and the Dorset. The pub/restaurant can be vey busy, but has a wide range of popular local dishes, and all reasonable priced, and good quality.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gordief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Lovely cosy English pub with good food and drink. Nice family atmosphere, very friendly staff and lovely traditional food. Nice location too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
563 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Although off the beaten track, it is well worth a detour. The fresh selection of fish dishes change daily according to the local catch. On this occasion it was our 25th wedding anniversary and we were treated to a quiet table with an anniversary banner and a complimentary bottle of bubbles. We have visited fairly regularly over the past 30 years. We enjoy it so much that we will be returning soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newinnchurchknowle, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
For the last six reviews, thank you, it is encouraging for our team, when we are in a busy part of the season, that you have enjoyed your meals, drinks and dining experience at the new inn, Our team use only fresh locally sourced ingredients , all our meat is from curtis of Wareham, and our fish from local suppliers, Most of the time we like you to be served in 20 minutes, and occasionally , things do not run quite as smoothly as we would like, especially at peak times and if we get big groups,
If you have special needs or dietary requirements, please talk to one of our team . who will do their best to help you, Again on behalf of the team thank you for your positive reviews,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“seafood heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Visit this little gem of a pub for fresh fish and shellfish that's hard to beat. A lovely garden and excellent service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madfishlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Kimmeridge, Dorset
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing