We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a visit”

Lincolnshire Wolds Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Heritage Steam Railway situated just off the A16 between Louth and Grimsby. Trains currently run from Ludborough to North Thoresby - the return journey takes 35 minutes. Free parking is available at Ludborough station, where there is a shop, museum and buffet which serves a range of home-made fare and light refreshments.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Doncaster
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Once found, the brown tourist signs help, this little attraction is worth a visit, if only to support the volunteers' efforts.
Little shop, museum, engine sheds. £5 (seniors) for a day ticket on the train. The journey is very slow and hardly scenic, maybe three miles, at 10-15mph. ten minutes at the other end, although you could take a walk to the nearby pub and catch a later return.

Free parking, picnic tables available, decent toilet facilities, buffet car or take away cuppas available.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RedMickDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We parked the car for free, which is very good, and wandered across to the station. The shop was quite well stocked but the staff kept a private conversation between themselves going even when customers were in there. The museum was great and the lady on duty in there was super and very friendly. The train left on time and was virtually full which is good for raising the needed funds.
The short ride was great and would recommend this attraction to all. Well worth the small charge for tickets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“my childhood days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

whilst I was in the area with my mum I took some friends on this attraction as a child I spent many years going to louth by train then the cuts shut the line how great it is to see a small section of line running again staff told me they hope to reinstate line to louth I hope they do never thought I would travel the area by train again well done to all

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nikndel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Preserved Railway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Took our first visit to the railway during our holiday. The car parking was free which is good, the train did leave a few mins late but as its a preserved railway and not a commercial business this is expected but the staff did go out of their way to inform us of the delay which many lines don't do, the train was steam hauled which was a bonus. Took a visit to the musuem and gift shop which is worth a look especially if your a railway enthusiast! All staff which are mostly volunteers were really friendly. Toilets and train were clean and looked after. Theres also a second hand shop in the car park called Haglers Halt which if you do like railways is a must very cheap and packed out with many souveneirs! Again staff here were really friendly. Will be visiting again soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little railway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our second visit with the family. Our 2 grandsons loved it. Nice little tea room. Helpful staff. They took the boys into the signal box to show how it worked and also they were invited on to the footplate of the loco to talk to the train driver. Only a short run on the train which was a pity and the train is very slow but a great day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincolnshire Wolds Railway also viewed

 

Been to Lincolnshire Wolds Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing