We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Winter warmer

Once again a very very friendly railway with all staff friendly near to busy to show you or help... read more

Reviewed 1 January 2019
Graham C
,
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
via mobile
Santa Xmas Train

As my children are massive train lovers we decided to take the Santa Train ride this year and they... read more

Reviewed 1 January 2019
rickbainO625ZQ
,
Lincoln, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 153 reviews
  
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
103
38
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
38
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa train engine shed level crossing volunteer staff are small museum lovely countryside merry christmas learning disability santa express love trains run by volunteers fancy dress fantastic job of keeping nice trip looked great cream tea step back in time
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Once found, the brown tourist signs help, this little attraction is worth a visit, if only to support the volunteers' efforts.
Little shop, museum, engine sheds. £5 (seniors) for a day ticket on the train. The journey is very slow and hardly scenic, maybe three miles, at 10-15mph. ten minutes at the other end, although you could take a walk to the nearby pub and catch a later return.

Free parking, picnic tables available, decent toilet facilities, buffet car or take away cuppas available.

Date of experience: September 2013
2  Thank RedMickDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We parked the car for free, which is very good, and wandered across to the station. The shop was quite well stocked but the staff kept a private conversation between themselves going even when customers were in there. The museum was great and the lady on duty in there was super and very friendly. The train left on time and was virtually full which is good for raising the needed funds.
The short ride was great and would recommend this attraction to all. Well worth the small charge for tickets.

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank FrancesandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

whilst I was in the area with my mum I took some friends on this attraction as a child I spent many years going to louth by train then the cuts shut the line how great it is to see a small section of line running again staff told me they hope to reinstate line to louth I hope they do never thought I would travel the area by train again well done to all

Date of experience: April 2013
2  Thank nikndel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Took our first visit to the railway during our holiday. The car parking was free which is good, the train did leave a few mins late but as its a preserved railway and not a commercial business this is expected but the staff did go out of their way to inform us of the delay which many lines don't do, the train was steam hauled which was a bonus. Took a visit to the musuem and gift shop which is worth a look especially if your a railway enthusiast! All staff which are mostly volunteers were really friendly. Toilets and train were clean and looked after. Theres also a second hand shop in the car park called Haglers Halt which if you do like railways is a must very cheap and packed out with many souveneirs! Again staff here were really friendly. Will be visiting again soon.

Date of experience: July 2013
2  Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our second visit with the family. Our 2 grandsons loved it. Nice little tea room. Helpful staff. They took the boys into the signal box to show how it worked and also they were invited on to the footplate of the loco to talk to the train driver. Only a short run on the train which was a pity and the train is very slow but a great day out.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews