We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lovely enjoyable day”

Lincolnshire Wolds Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Heritage Steam Railway situated just off the A16 between Louth and Grimsby. Trains currently run from Ludborough to North Thoresby - the return journey takes 35 minutes. Free parking is available at Ludborough station, where there is a shop, museum and buffet which serves a range of home-made fare and light refreshments.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I took my wife and 2 year old on the trains christmas special. I thought it was brilliant people put a lot of effort in and made a nice occaision. I will most definatley be supporting the group again in the future.Excellent for child of all ages

1  Thank jaz1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip E, Public Relations Manager at Lincolnshire Wolds Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank for leaving a positive review.
Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"steam engine"
in 7 reviews
"volunteer staff are"
in 4 reviews
"level crossing"
in 3 reviews
"small museum"
in 7 reviews
"station building"
in 2 reviews
"santa express"
in 4 reviews
"lovely countryside"
in 2 reviews
"rolling stock"
in 4 reviews
"return journey"
in 4 reviews
"short journey"
in 2 reviews
"nice trip"
in 2 reviews
"easter sunday"
in 2 reviews
"cakes"
in 7 reviews
"signal box"
in 7 reviews
"wonderful afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"step back in time"
in 4 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 3 reviews
Filter

80 - 84 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

I am a frequent visitor to preserved railways with nene valley and the GCR quite close to where I live. I didn't really expect a lot from a small 1.5mile railway but what this place lacks in amenities and equipment is more than made up for by the politeness and welcoming attitude of the volunteers that run this line. The two engines that were on show were well maintained and steamed and driven well, nice small museum a good reasonably priced cafe. A cup of tea for a quid and a shop and 2nd hand shop to look rd. There efforts should be applauded and money is obviously tight. There are NO paid members of staff! They certainly have potential with a further 7 miles of track bed owned. They could do with a rich investor! Many thanks for a pleasant and interesting 3hrs that kept my 13 year old entertained and the staff helped us on and off the trains with our two baby boys and twin buggy. To all the staff a big well done and keep up the good work.

4  Thank pooldave180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip E, Public Relations Manager at Lincolnshire Wolds Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for leaving a positive review. We would love to be able to extend the line to Louth - the cost would be around £2.5 million, so you are spot on when you say we need a rich investor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Lovely railway in need of your support. It has its own charm, but not in the same league as The North Yorkshire Moors or Severn Valley, They do have some nice guest locos from time to time. Also have events like 1940's weekend ,Easter , and Halloween theme, etc.

1  Thank 303paul375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip E, Public Relations Manager at Lincolnshire Wolds Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Thank you for your review - it is always good to get feedback from visitors - especially when it is positive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

What a charming little place and so well kept. Lots of old railway memorabilia to look at and a beautiful little ride along the track and back. Nice little tea room in an old carriage and immaculately clean. Well worth a visit if steam nostalgia is your thing! Beautiful setting too.

1  Thank EEEandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Great day out for my 3 year old at Easter. Well organised and friendly. Magical day.
Must recommend for any train enthusiast or just somewhere to introduce young children to steam trains in a lovely rural setting!

1  Thank dicko_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincolnshire Wolds Railway also viewed

 
North Somercotes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Lincolnshire Wolds Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing