We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Winter warmer

Once again a very very friendly railway with all staff friendly near to busy to show you or help... read more

Reviewed 1 January 2019
Graham C
,
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
via mobile
Santa Xmas Train

As my children are massive train lovers we decided to take the Santa Train ride this year and they... read more

Reviewed 1 January 2019
rickbainO625ZQ
,
Lincoln, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 153 reviews
  
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
103
38
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
38
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews santa train engine shed level crossing small museum merry christmas learning disability santa express love trains run by volunteers fancy dress fantastic job of keeping cream tea step back in time santa special car boot sale wonderful afternoon mince pies
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

I am a frequent visitor to preserved railways with nene valley and the GCR quite close to where I live. I didn't really expect a lot from a small 1.5mile railway but what this place lacks in amenities and equipment is more than made up for by the politeness and welcoming attitude of the volunteers that run this line. The two engines that were on show were well maintained and steamed and driven well, nice small museum a good reasonably priced cafe. A cup of tea for a quid and a shop and 2nd hand shop to look rd. There efforts should be applauded and money is obviously tight. There are NO paid members of staff! They certainly have potential with a further 7 miles of track bed owned. They could do with a rich investor! Many thanks for a pleasant and interesting 3hrs that kept my 13 year old entertained and the staff helped us on and off the trains with our two baby boys and twin buggy. To all the staff a big well done and keep up the good work.

Date of experience: May 2016
4  Thank pooldave180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip E, Public Relations Manager at Lincolnshire Wolds Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for leaving a positive review. We would love to be able to extend the line to Louth - the cost would be around £2.5 million, so you are spot on when you say we need a rich investor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Lovely railway in need of your support. It has its own charm, but not in the same league as The North Yorkshire Moors or Severn Valley, They do have some nice guest locos from time to time. Also have events like 1940's weekend ,Easter , and Halloween theme, etc.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank 303paul375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip E, Public Relations Manager at Lincolnshire Wolds Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2016

Thank you for your review - it is always good to get feedback from visitors - especially when it is positive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2016

What a charming little place and so well kept. Lots of old railway memorabilia to look at and a beautiful little ride along the track and back. Nice little tea room in an old carriage and immaculately clean. Well worth a visit if steam nostalgia is your thing! Beautiful setting too.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank EEEandCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Great day out for my 3 year old at Easter. Well organised and friendly. Magical day.
Must recommend for any train enthusiast or just somewhere to introduce young children to steam trains in a lovely rural setting!

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank dicko_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We had a lovely day here was super fun
Love places that can take you back in time a little and see what life was like

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank markshell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews