We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best day and wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fivelements Bali Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mambal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A friend and I decided after having had such a great lunch at the fivelements restaurant to invest in their cooking class, but we were short on time and the only day we could go back was Jan. 1 2014. Chef Made graciously gave up his day off (and that after having worked until 2am the night before) to accommodate us when he heard this was our only opportunity left. I was at first a bit apprehensive of the price but quickly realized that all the tips, recipes, secrets, techniques and enthusiasm was going to be a life changing experience and worth every penny. We were tired at the end of the day but both felt it was the best thing we could have done for ourselves and what a way to start the new year. We strongly recommend this to anyone wanting to get a good start with raw food. Thank you Chef MAde!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jborschberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicco t, Owner at Fivelements Bali Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for your review as well on behalf of Chef Made and very happy to hear that your culinary journey and experience at Fivelements has been life changung.

Hope to see you soon in Bali at Fivelements.

Chicco Tatriele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

We booked this hotel before noticing it´s a hotel without meat, coffee and alcohol. However, after one week of surfing and noise in Seminyak, this was just the resort we were looking for. The service was excellent, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the meals were surprisingly good (none of us were used to eating all-vegan meals).

Sleeping in the giant bed in our private villa was a delight.

The only negative was that the tablets used to control the music and lightning in the room was barely working.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicco t, Owner at Fivelements Bali Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it.
If you come back to stay at Fivelements please contact us and we will offer one complimentary Traditional Balinese Massage in you

Kind regards,
Chicco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We've spent the past 3 nights at this charming property. We were about to give up on Bali as many areas such as Seminyak are just so crowded, overdeveloped and frankly not very relaxing anymore but this place has restored our faith. Our room was only about 5m from the beautiful Ayung River and the massive stone bathtub (that was about the same size as my entire bathroom at home and where I spent much time) was pretty much on the river's edge. The rooms are rustic but very comfortable and quite chic. As previous reviewers have said, the food is all vegan and mostly raw but it's very well done. It is however quite pricey and the portions are small, so it's best suited to those with small appetites and big budgets. We only had one treatment at the spa but it was amazing and definitely on a par with the sort of treatments I've had at the many Ayurvedic 'resorts' I've stayed at in Southern India. We will be back for sure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MattJamesEager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

New adventure, great remote suite villa.. everything here well managed. Its quite hard to find the location, so if you bring your own car, do call them to ask the directions. The pool was amazing, you can swim and heard the sound of ayung river. every rooms has its own outdoor jacuzzi located in the side of ayung river.. cause we mention that we are in our anniversary trip, they gave us a free flower bath and decorated room. We tried their raw food, and felt so amazed that the taste are really good.. just be carefull to order since their menu using rupiah rate for the food, but for spa they used usd. Great place to run from your daily life. Will back for trying their detox program.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Our friend who lives in Bali took us here because the TED Bali conference is being held there in June and he heard the place was magical. Little did we know they only serve vegan food and how awesome it would be. We are vegetarian/vegan and were excited about this

Not only are the rooms, grounds, pool, conference center one of a kind in cool bamboo construction, the river side setting is magical and peaceful.

We had lunch over looking the river. The food was some of the best I have ever had, vegetarian or otherwise.

The US trained chef even came down and visited with us. Turns out he was trained in a top vegetarian culinary school not far from where I live in N. CA wine country. Small world.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a healing retreat, or just some awesome food, not far from Ubud, this is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventureguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

One of the most outstanding highlights of this resort is the creativity and thought that has gone into building it. The setting right alongside the fast flowing River is perfect and the rooms made from bamboo have been built to take in the sound and energy of the river as much as possible.
The spa is just amazing and if you could not chill out and let your worries drift away in this place there is no hope!
The food as you would expect is divine and much care and love has been put into producing what ends up on your table.
The chef is very knowledgable as is the head waiter who is a living embodiment of healthy living.
If this resort is in your price bracket it is good value for money.
A week here could change your life.
The only negative were a couple of the staff seemed like they were going through the motions and not so happy but perhaps they were just having a bad day. Overall the staff were excellent and very helpful.
Also highly recommended just for day visits

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Really mixed feeling for this resort, and we came away not sure how to rate this
It is beautiful, and simply amazing - the deco, the rooms, the bath - are done up with details, and in really nice Balinese style
And the service attendance are new but they do try, and always with a gentle smiles
And most amazing is the bath which overlooks the ayung river, so when you fill the bath- you can look and listen and relax next to the ayung river

So what was the issue
Well, a lot of travelers complained about the price of the food being too expensive. I have to say it is expensive, about three times the price of a nice restaurant in town. But having said that,the food is vegan, and done with care - so one cannot compare, as the experience is different.

Food is tasty and beautifully served

Our issue with it was more the fact that since it is located in the middle of nowhere, we cannot go out at night. But within the hotel, everything feels very dark, and minimal lightings - and as it is a small resort you feel like you are trapped with nowhere to go, and darkness hits very quickly

Then the art we struggled with, was that they have music playing in the background all day and night. Yes it was nice soothing Indonesian music, but after staying for seven days and having the same music playing into your ears for long hours - we felt challenged with the experience

And when we checked out, the people before us had the same issue, the credit card machine could not work. And they made us pay in cash ( otherwise we cannot leave )

So, as you can see from the reviews, it's mixed

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yellowpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mambal
6.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,291 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
3.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
5.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,104 reviews
3.8 mi away
Warwick Ibah Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fivelements Bali Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fivelements Bali Retreat

Address: Puri Ahimsa, Banjar Baturning, Mambal, Ubud 80352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud > Mambal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mambal
Price Range: £125 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fivelements Bali Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fivelements Bali Retreat is a wellness resort located near Ubud Bali, along the banks of the sacred Ayung River, fifteen minutes drive to centre of ubud. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fivelements Bali Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fivelements Puri Ahimsa Hotel Badung

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing