We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel East Eastport Maine”
Review of Motel East

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel East
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Revere, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Motel East Eastport Maine”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Million dollar view when looking out the door to the deck completely deminished when you look in the room.....shabby, run down, dirty, mold in the bathroom, torn drapes, nasty towels and sheets and filthy rugs.....do not ake your shoes off. Overall not a good place to stay. We have stayed here many times but this will definitely be our last time. They say the only place in town but that isn't true.....many nice B&B's in Eastport....check them out. We stay on the third floor always because of the view but noticed very severe structural damage....enough not to sit out on the deck on an 80 degree day. I love the view but I will take cleanliness over the view any day.

Room Tip: Seek out one of the great B&B'S
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
18
26
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Desert, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Large room with nice water view but way past its prime. Screen door on the slider kept falling out and the sheets though clean had holes in them. The location is perfect but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seasaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2011

we have stayed here several times , both in the hotel and the house beside it, great easy access to everything ,shopping, FISHING, and friends

Room Tip: ask for a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I stayed at the Motel East with a friend in the middle of summertime. The motel is located a close walk to the downtown Eastport. The Motel East is right on the water and has a million dollar view of beautiful sunrises and Campobello Island, Canada. The Motel East is not fancy but it was very comfortable and spacious. The room was huge! The bathroom was very clean and very large. It was one of the biggest bathrooms I have ever seen. The beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly. She told us about a store that was open until 9pm so we could get alcohol and snacks. The area is very quiet and sleepy and the grocery stores close quite early. There are very few lodging options in Eastport. I would definitely stay at the Motel East again in this uniquie little Down East city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

The motel was very disappointing...dirty, poorly furnished, and not at all worth the $105 a night we paid. We were on the lower level and had to traverse a stairway made of randomly placed stones... a lawsuit just waiting for someone to fall! The view might have been good if we'd been on a higher level, but it would not have been enough to compensate for the dust and lack of amenities (no coffee-maker, no reading light anywhere near the beds.) A prior guest had written "wash me" in the dust on the mirror, and the glass on the slider looked as if two dogs had licked it, one on each side! All in all, not a place we would ever stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank me2fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carver, Minnesota
Level Contributor
176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

The motel looks nice from the front, we were on the walk out level, there was definate structural damage. The floors were sloped,, the bathroom doors wouldn't shut. We were afraid it would cave in during the night. The screen door was ripped so mosquitos were coming in. We didn't enjoy our stay in this town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwfalk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We booked two rooms. The beds were large, but with outdated sheets and blankets. Mattress was not great. Floor dirty by all standards. I think that one hundred-twenty-nine dollars per night per room was not worth it.

Dinner across the street at the “Pickled Haring” was very-very good (a reason to come back). Breakfast at the Blue Iris was basic, not so great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike_Van_Dyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastport
17.9 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
15.7 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
15.0 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
7.2 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel East

Property: Motel East
Address: 23A Water St, Eastport, ME 04631-1529
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Motel East Hotel Eastport
East Hotel Eastport
East Motel Eastport
Motel East Eastport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing