We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”
Review of Motel East

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel East
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Made a reservation for two nights for my granddaughter and I. Receptionist on the phone was very pleasant. Arrived about 4PM. Was skeptical when I entered the lobby, quite smokey and cluttered. The view was beautiful. Went to room 13. It was very dirty. Picked up, no clutter but dirty. Arms of chair were very soiled. Smelled smokey, the screen door to the deck was broken so you couldn't leave the door open to air out. Little flies (?) flying around in the room. Went back to the lobby and asked if they had a fresher, cleaner room. That was all available! Told her we couldn't stay there. Had to go back the next morning to get a credit back on my credit card by the owner. My credit card information was written on a card and in a holder in back of the check-in dest for anyone to take. I told the owner this was unacceptable and he did 'white out' the credit card number. Would never recommend anyone stay at this motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
18
26
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We loved staying at Motel East!!! The hotel is in a perfect location and has a beautiful view! Every room has a balcony view of the ocean. (We stayed on the second floor). The hotel is right in town so all the restaurants, shops and piers are within walking distance. You can sit on your balcony and watch boats go by as well as watch scuba divers going in to explore, or walk along the rocky shore when the tide is low. The Quoddy Bay Lobster shack is right behind the hotel. Great place to enjoy lobster rolls! Best we EVER had! You can sit at a picnic table right there and enjoy the view while you eat. The office staff was EXCELLENT and more than helpful. They answered all our questions. The rooms are exceptionally large. Ours had a kitchenette with microwave and fridge. There was no coffee pot but that was no problem as we always carry one with us. We will definitely return to this hotel again!! (The Greek restaurant "Liberty Cafe" next door is very good).

Room Tip: The second floor is very convenient because it is on the same level as the parking lot in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbMainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenants Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We walked into our room, and the first thing we noticed was a filthy rug. We spent our time making sure we weren't barefoot. The microwave was filthy and loaded with fingerprints. The freezer was so iced up you couldn't use it if you wanted too. Also the drop rug in the bathroom was extremely dirty, and the bedspread was very soiled. Oh, and thankfully it was cool that day we arrived as there is no air conditioning at all in these rooms. And for $112. a night, that definitely should have been included. We read the reviews before hand, so thought this was a great place. I don't know where these people live that wrote these reviews, but no one in their right mind would write a positive review. From now on we will take our chances and ask to see a room before we take it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank David_L40921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed there 2 weeks ago and loved watching the whales from the balcony and walking to the seafood place at the pier next door for lobster rolls. Excellent location and within easy walking distance to everything on Water Street. The room was very clean and we had no complaints regarding cleanliness. If you are looking for upscale digs, forget it. Stay somewhere else. Motel East offers all the basic amenities - cable tv, coffee pot, microwave, some dishes and flatware in the kitchette, soap, shampoo, etc. The greatest highlight is that amazing view that is absolutely priceless. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend this motel to any nature lover on the planet.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Morozc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed at this motel recently. Shower curtain was full of black mold and the tub looked dirty. Went to reheat coffee in the microwave and when I opened the door the inside was covered with dried stuck on food. If we would of noticed this the night before we would not have stayed. Spoke to the owner in the morning and he handed us $20 and told us to go get breakfast. Did not seemed like he cared. Will not go back. They should either clean it up or shut it down. Black mold is not healthy. The only heat in the room was a ceramic heater and it stopped working during the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seaglasslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed here on an around the USA solo motorcycle trip. Found the hotel very comfortable, very clean and oh my, what a view. Price was quite a bargin as well.
I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORENO VALLEY
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Even though this place sits on the water and has a great review, I can't recommend it. Huge room, with 2 nice wingback chairs. Both chairs and the carpet were mightily stained. Chairs were apparently old as they sunk way in, I had to add a pillow. It did come with micro, fridge, and flat screen. Some of the front desk people were helpful, but owner was a pain to deal with (through his employees, never talked to owner).

Room Tip: There aren't a lot of choices here, so if you must stay here, choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastport
17.9 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
93 reviews
15.7 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
275 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
13.9 mi away
Redclyffe Shore Motel
Redclyffe Shore Motel
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
33 reviews
15.0 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel East

Property: Motel East
Address: 23A Water St, Eastport, ME 04631-1529
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Motel East Hotel Eastport
East Hotel Eastport
East Motel Eastport
Motel East Eastport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing