We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Motel East

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel East
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
New Wilmington Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We had a large comfy room on the second floor, very clean. Nice balcony looking out over the bay and Campobello Island, we watched the lobster boats loading and unloading at the pound. fridge and microwave, no coffee pot though. We asked for one and they found one for us. Staff was helpful with this and on restaurant tips

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fallsrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    13
    15
    16
See reviews for
18
26
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nezret
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stayed at the Motel East for one night while on tour. The motel is clean and well maintained and has the most fabuolous view of the harbor. We had a nice terrace to watch the boats come and go. There was a great seafood stand just outside as well. I'm only sorry we couldn't stay one more night.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nezret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

This is a very neat and very economically depressed part of Maine. I was scared by reviews of bed bugs and dirty motor lodges, but the Motel East is probably the best bet within 20 miles of this coastline. Eastport is a very picturesque working town. People are extremely nice and there's several good restaurants within walking distance, a working harbor, and artsy stores and things. The Motel East sits right on the bay with nice views...next to an old canery warehouse and a working pier where you can buy lobster off the boat and eat on picnic tables. Rooms had all the necessary requirements...small fridge, microwave, hair dryer, TV, desk, iron/board. Furniture was worn and old as expected...rooms had a slight "sea" smell, likely from the fog rolling off the bay. But it was all clean and accomodating. The rooms in the rear, facing the bay, have screen doors and a set of plastic chairs and side table so you could sit outside and enjoy the view, read a book, etc. They do have Wi-Fi amazingly...but the only cell signals come off Canadian towers...beware the fees! The other motels in this area all sit on a main road...this is in an actual town with character. OK spot for a night or two stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G0vt_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Very nice location with a great view of the water. Clean spacious rooms. Very convenient right in the center of town.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank twilite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

My husband and I stayed for 1 night, we are moving there soon and it was the only place open in Eastport. Room very spacious, it had a double bed, refrig, microwave oven, TV, table with 2 chairs and chairs for outside. The sunrise was incredible from our balcony. It was convenient to the restaurant the Happy Crab, and Waco Diner.

  • Liked — Near restaurants and shopping
  • Disliked — Mildew on the shower curtain
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuftxnswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

After travelling from Campobello Island between seasons, we were relieved to find Motel East and that they had a room (the last one).
It was a waterfront room, but downstairs - the stairs being at the side of the building and consisting of huge pieces of granite rock placed to make a sort of stairway. There was one at each side of the building, but I did notice there was also a dirt road which also gave access.
Our room was quite large with a double bed, tv, table and two chairs, small fridge and coffee maker. Entry was by way of patio doors and it had a good view of the water (as well as a derelict building to the left and lobster dock to the right. In fact the area between the hotel and the water could do with landscaping).
The room was very clean, the bed comfortable and the area was quiet allowing us a good rest.

As far a we could see there were three choices in the immediate area for evening meal. One seemed to be fine dining and was very busy, the others were bars offering seafood. We chose the Happy Crab Bar & Grill and enjoyed fried battered shrimp and fries washed down with a beer.

In the morning it was very foggy, but I could just make out a heron watching for his breakfast.
Our breakfast was taken at Blue Iris Cafe a few steps away.

  • Liked — Water view
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayland, Mass
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

My family of five stayed here and we were very comfortable. The room had two queen beds and a cot. The room was worn but clean. We would stay there again. Definitely above average for the price for 5 people.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holden140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastport
17.9 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
95 reviews
15.7 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
280 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
13.9 mi away
Redclyffe Shore Motel
Redclyffe Shore Motel
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
34 reviews
7.2 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel East

Property: Motel East
Address: 23A Water St, Eastport, ME 04631-1529
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Motel East Hotel Eastport
East Hotel Eastport
East Motel Eastport
Motel East Eastport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing