We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in Eastport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilby House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kilby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Eastport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in Eastport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This well maintained, and delightful little inn was filled with
many comfortable antiques, books, maps, and art work. Gregg, the owner and inn keeper is a font of local and historical information, and is happy to share his love of history and knowledge with his guests. The breakfasts he served each morning (we were there for 4 nights) were
really wonderful...much fresh fruit, homemade quiches and fluffy biscuits, or scrambled eggs and sausages, plus good jam, great coffee, and orange juice....each morning the presentation of the food was a delight to behold. The rooms are fairly small ,as are the bath rooms, but very well designed, and are
spotless. Anyone who stays in this small inn will be pleased I would think.

Room Tip: All the rooms are small (as are the showers)and fairly simply furnished, but are well designed so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
47
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sagres, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Kilby House in late July. The innkeeper has preserved the character of a wonderful home near the water. All the facilities were immaculately clean and well maintained. The innkeeper is very charming and well informed on the history of the area and local sights. The inn is located only steps away from the ferry to Deer Island and Campobello. Breakfast was well,prepared and a cut above what you would normally expect at a B&B. I would definitely sta there again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main house are exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Cleanliness is on the top of my list for hotels and Inns and my room at the Kilby House Inn was immaculate. There wasn't a speck of dust anywhere - how does he do that?! The Inn is furnished with beautiful old furniture and the dinning room table was just lovely. The owner was friendly and engaging and so were the guests at the breakfast table. If you're traveling to Eastport, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Kilby House Inn for three nights. This old home has plenty of charm reflecting the earlier days of this historic seaport. The house has plenty of old antiques that add to its ambiance, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The proprietor of the Inn, Gregg, is a great host, with plenty of interesting stories of the surrounding area. Breakfast was very good with quiche, scrambled eggs and, on our last day, French toast. When we travel back to that area, we will definitely stay at the Kilby House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Recently my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this historic Inn in the seaside town of Eastport Maine on Passamaquoddy Bay that separates the Canadian province of New Brunswick from Maine. We only spent one night there, but were very impressed with the work owner Greg has done to restore this historic property, at the same time adding other antiques to maintain the charm of this older house. All the mod/cons have also been added to contribute to the guests' comfort. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was a queen canopy bed minus the canopy which was to arrive shortly.
Greg is a very affable host with lots of stories of how he has transformed this house into what it is today.
Many places in Eastport, including restaurants are within walking distance of this house.
Breakfast which was included was a real treat. On this day we had a homemade quiche with fresh biscuits and fruit. My wife commented that she thought it was the best breakfast we had on our 2 week circular drive through Nova Scotia and Maine.
Definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms look great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odin44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We spent one night in Eastport on a rather chilly Memorial Day weekend. Greg, our lovely host, offered us the carriage house which has a cozy atmosphere with the newly done wooden interior. The house (from 1887) has antique furniture and also offers great rooms. Breakfast was terrific and the best we had on our trip so far. As a German couple we value breakfast dearly and it was just what we were looking for. If we ever make it to this region again we will stop by for sure! Thanks Greg.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Kilby House Inn in November - not the time you'd expect to find many places open or offering full services. We were very pleased to find the inn open and operating like clockwork. It was immaculately clean, sumptuously furnished with antiques and had comfortable, high quality bedding. Surprising touches like a 1st edition antique book on the bedside table were to be found in all the common spaces. Greg, the inn's host, gave generously of his time to help us plan an itinerary across a broad range of destinations which we wanted to see, but weren't sure were within reasonable driving distance. He also shared in-depth knowledge of the city, local state parks and towns across the border in Canada. The next morning, we awoke to find the dining table set beautifully for a breakfast which was truly incredible. The other guests seemed as charmed as we were. I would recommend the inn to couples, business travelers and any other adults who want to make the most of their time in the region. It makes a great home base for day trips to Campobello Island, the Bold Coast Trail or even St. Andrews in Canada.

Room Tip: The room at the front on the second floor has a beautiful canopy bed and faces the ocean. Sunrise wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldoverMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastport
17.5 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
3.2 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Redclyffe Shore Motel
Redclyffe Shore Motel
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kennedy Inn
Kennedy Inn
#10 of 13 in Saint Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilby House Inn

Property: Kilby House Inn
Address: 122 Water St, Eastport, ME 04631-1128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eastport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Kilby House Inn Eastport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing