We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily Surprised”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Milliken House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Eastport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were staying for just one night.. And after driving for almost 8 hours to be greeted by a very gracious Mary was very nice. Mary immediately made you feel at home. Mary showed us our room which was simply beautiful .... Who could ask for anymore.... Breakfast was delicious. Our one night stay was just perfect.. And to our surprise two weeks prior to our stay my cousins who we were on our way to visit with in Nova Scotia had stayed at Mary's. What a coincidence, we were all surprised and they to had a great experience at the Milliken House.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank csb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

My family and I stayed here (10 in all) for 1 night (wish we could have stayed longer, but our schedule didn't permit). When we arrived Mary greeted us at the door! She showed us around and then showed us to our rooms. The house was beautiful and well kept! This place is much bigger then I expected, lots of rooms! She had some snacks set out and that evening she made a cake for dessert. Breakfast was good also Pancakes with a homemade blueberry sauce to spread on top. Loved the sauce, I asked her if I could take some home and she packed it up for me to take! Loved this place and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VAmom20176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had our 1st B&B experience with Greg and Mary with a 4 night stay at the Milliken Home. If we didn't feel like part of their family when we arrived we certainly did when we left. They were both fabulous, and their dog Dudley was the icing on the cake. We had gone to East Porte for a family wedding and had so much more enstore for us when we arrived. Greg was a advisor to fill in our spare moments with local attractions, and answered our many many questions of the town and it's history. We even spent a little bit of time seeing his latest works in the woodshop. Mary's wonderful smile and warm heart made me feel like I was a kid again at my Grandma's house. She is a Great person and shows her love to everyone in her baked goods and special breakfasts. Every night Greg would wait up for us to make sure that we arrived back safely, and would always take the time to enjoy any stores that we shared with him. Our room was great on the 3rd floor, and we enjoyed all of the antiques, and the woodworking that her late husband and made in the living room. One afternoon it turned a bit cold, and we were watching TV in the living room, and Dudley came and sat with us as if we were at home with our own puppies. It was truly just a "going to Grandma's home" kind of wonderfully warm experience. Having family in East Porte just helped make the time there extra special to us. We look forward to visiting Mary and Greg again when we return for our next Cousin's big event in their lives. Thank You for making our trip so extra special!

Room Tip: My husband, son and I traveled with our cousin. We called ahead and explained our situation to Mary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staying at the Milliken house was like visiting with old friends---even though we had just met. When we arrived, late in the afternoon, Mary had pie and hot tea ready for us. Once we got settled in Mary and her son Greg were able to give us suggestions of places for dinner. That evening they gladly shared ideas of places we could visit the next day. Breakfast was a delight the next morning. We soon found that both Mary and Greg are very involved in the community and were excited to tell us of things happening throughout the year in Eastport. After a day of sightseeing we were pleased to have the large living room and TV for the evening. The following morning we again had a very nice breakfast. We were sent off with instructions of where to go to look for sea glass and shells, as well as where to do some shopping and sightseeing. On our last morning there were hugs all around as we departed. It is definitely a place that we would like to visit again.

Room Tip: Hair dryers are not provided, so you will need to plan to pack one when you leave home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Mary made us feel like family while staying in Eastport! Her large, comfortable, and comfy home made our five night stay most pleasant. Her breakfasts were what we needed to start a cool September day outdoors. Our room was cozy, but the bathroom large. She is closed in the off season as is most of Eastport. We would definitely recommend the Milliken House. TTU69

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank TTU69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Mary is a wonderful lady. Greg makes you feel right at home. We all enjoy watching the evening news at night
You feel the love. Very warm, relaxing, comfortable feeling. We will return every year.
You feel like family where you can be yourself rather then some stuffy, prim and proper location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed at the Milliken House for six nights while attending a Road Scholar program in Eastport. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Our room was on the third floor and was large, comfortable and very clean; and our bed was comfortable. As others have said, Mary is absolutely wonderful and is anxious to take good care of her guests. The breakfasts were varied every day and uniformly tasty with lots of things to choose from. The pancakes with blueberry syrup were especially good and you should definitely go on their website and get Mary's recipe. I have read the previous comments about Mary's son, Greg, and, while he can appear a bit gruff at first encounter, once we engaged him in conversation, we found out that he has an enormous amount of information about the Eastport area that he is anxious to share with you. Just tell him what you're interested in and he will alert you to all sorts of opportunities. We had a number of very enjoyable conversations with him. Each morning, I would arise at about 6:00 AM and would find coffee already available. I would take my coffee and sit on the swing on the outside porch enjoying the Maine morning. In the evening, we frequently played games in the large downstairs living room which is full of comfortable chairs. As others have said, it is a short walk down the hill to the Eastport historic district where there are many artists galleries, gift shops, and places to eat. We especially enjoyed eating at the Waco Diner where we sat on the outside patio located right on the water and occasionally saw whales, porpoises, and seals. I will definitely stay at the Milliken House when I return to Eastport.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunset Room on the third floor and will request that room next time we visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastport
3.1 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
12.5 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
12.4 mi away
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milliken House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milliken House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 Washington St, Eastport, ME 04631-1324
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Eastport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Eastport
Price Range: £38 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Milliken House Bed And Breakfast Eastport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing