We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to sort this place out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Edgecomb B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I have stayed here many times, and essentially you are renting a time share so it is a bit of catch as catch can what you get, the little cabins on the water are really nice, but tiny. The location is great, just walk over the bridge to the village of Wiscasset.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lifeisgood9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

My family of five stayed in one of Sheepscot Harbour Village and Resort's three bedroom and, three bath cottages. The cottage was perfect! It was decorated with Maine charm, had the kitchen of my dreams, was spotless, and had many personal touches such as board games and cook books for your use. The resort has a small but nice indoor swimming pool with a hot tub included with your stay. I only wish this relaxing facility stayed open longer, as we were out and about all day long experiencing what the area had to offer. The resort's staff were friendly but not very quick to offer recomondations about the area, so do some research beforehand. Over all this resort is a wonderful place and I would definetly go back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sdschaef15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Just got back from Maine, touring the coast. This is a good location for going exploring the coast. We were there the week before Memorial Day and most of the historial places were closed till Memorial Day and most the restaurants closed at 8:00 pm. We are time share owners and they only have three available. The studio we stayed was appointed nicely and was very clean. Everyone at the resort was helpful and friendly. The resort has a nice view of the river. This is not the place for a family that wants activities provided. However I would recommend it as a quiet restful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmancharlotte,nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

As Senior Citizen and dog lover, I have found it difficult to trade my New Hampshire time share to another local time share but fortunately Sheepscot Harbour is pet friendly. The resort is located on the Sheepscot River and overlooks the quaint town of Wiscausett on the mid-coast of Maine.

The resort was empty with the exception of the three timeshare unit; yes there are only three units which were sold as timeshare. There is a large choice of accomodations including Studio Suites, One Bedroom Suites, Inn rooms and cottages. I would recommend this resort for young families during the summer and senior citizens during late Spring and early Autumn.

I stayed in a Studio Suite which was perfect for the type of vacation we had plan; rest, relaxation and touring the Maine seacoast and its towns and villages. The Lodge Suites really just have enough room for two people and not four as there is one full size bed and two single pull-out sofas.

The resort does have plenty of activities during the summer months but extremely quiet during the Spring which I loved. My dog loved the resort even on a leash. Even with the limited interaction that I had with the staff, I found them to be friendly and informative.

Room Tip: Anything but a Studio Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gingersnap000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed here one night in August and it was fine. We were in the main building in a Queen room. Bed was fine, linens fine, everything was clean etc. The service was really very good, friendly and helpful at the front desk. The only annoyance was there was no place to put our stuff in the bathroom......simply a pedestal sink, no counter. Whoever designed the bathroom was thinking more of looks than function. The price was about $150 +tax which was a little steep . All in all, we would go back , it was very pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crickerpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Just returned front a fantastic week in Maine. We hoped to escape the heat of Virginia, but still had most of the days in the 80's up in Mid-Coast Maine. Our 'cottage condo' was amazing, a cooks kitchen, W&D, beautiful views and so much more. The location is the best, only 30-40 minutes to Rockland/Camden, 20 minutes to Boothbay, across from charming Wiscasset and Red's Eats Lobster! With the high cost of B&B's and hotels, staying here was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelagentnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our family has been staying at the Sheepscot for almost 40 years, and we have seen some major changes over the years. One of the positive changes was the renovation of the property, which brought a much nicer restaurant to Wiscasset. However, the restaurant closed down about two years ago. (Included in the price of room and cabins at the Sheepscot, you were given coupons for free breakfast in the restaurant, which was very good food. When the restaurant closed, the Sheepscot left the price of the breakfast in the stay's, and did not replace it with a quality breakfast. Instead, they kept the same prices, while offering muffins and orange juice) After two years of "the restaurant will open next month", or "a French chef will reopen Bintliffs later this year", we just gave up that there would be any possibility of having a good meal at the Sheepscot...

When we arrived at the Sheepscot on Saturday, we were shocked with the amount of amenities that have disappeared. When checking in, we were told that the owner, Roger Bintliff, had sold the property to some company called Cottage Connection... Upon entering our room, we noticed that some of the little things, such as the candy lobster that they used to put into every room, was gone. In addition, this morning, the front desk was supposed to open at 8am. When we stopped by at 8:24am, they were still closed. Very disappointing to have the office closed, when they are supposed to be open.

All in all, this was our last stay at the Sheepscot. For the price they charge, there are much better properties, some local B&Bs that deserve the money...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FriendlySkies1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgecomb
10.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
9.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Maple Hill Farm Inn and Conference Center
3 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
88 reviews
5.1 mi away
HawksHouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa

Address: 7 Island Ln, GPS: 318 Eddy Road, Edgecomb, ME 04556-3061
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Edgecomb
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Edgecomb
Price Range: £67 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the beauty of the Maine coast and the tranquility of Sheepscot Harbor Village & Resort, at our premier island resort! We offer luxurious Maine Waterfront Cottage rentals, along with beautifully appointed rooms in the Inn Hotel & gorgeous suites in the Lodge Hotel. New for 2014, is our Waters Edge Banquet and Function Facility Your one stop destination for Weddings & Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Meetings, Private Parties, Family Gatherings, and so much more!, Located on Davis Island, Sheepscot Harbour Village & Resort boasts stunning water views and beautiful grounds along the harbor, the perfect location for your wedding, corporate even, family reunion, romantic getaway or any occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheepscot Harbour Village Hotel Edgecomb
Sheepscot Harbour Village And Resort
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa Maine/Edgecomb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing