We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, no problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Edgecomb B&B and Inns
NY
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, no problems”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed here one night in August and it was fine. We were in the main building in a Queen room. Bed was fine, linens fine, everything was clean etc. The service was really very good, friendly and helpful at the front desk. The only annoyance was there was no place to put our stuff in the bathroom......simply a pedestal sink, no counter. Whoever designed the bathroom was thinking more of looks than function. The price was about $150 +tax which was a little steep . All in all, we would go back , it was very pleasant and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crickerpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    30
    16
    10
    23
See reviews for
60
45
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Just returned front a fantastic week in Maine. We hoped to escape the heat of Virginia, but still had most of the days in the 80's up in Mid-Coast Maine. Our 'cottage condo' was amazing, a cooks kitchen, W&D, beautiful views and so much more. The location is the best, only 30-40 minutes to Rockland/Camden, 20 minutes to Boothbay, across from charming Wiscasset and Red's Eats Lobster! With the high cost of B&B's and hotels, staying here was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelagentnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Our family has been staying at the Sheepscot for almost 40 years, and we have seen some major changes over the years. One of the positive changes was the renovation of the property, which brought a much nicer restaurant to Wiscasset. However, the restaurant closed down about two years ago. (Included in the price of room and cabins at the Sheepscot, you were given coupons for free breakfast in the restaurant, which was very good food. When the restaurant closed, the Sheepscot left the price of the breakfast in the stay's, and did not replace it with a quality breakfast. Instead, they kept the same prices, while offering muffins and orange juice) After two years of "the restaurant will open next month", or "a French chef will reopen Bintliffs later this year", we just gave up that there would be any possibility of having a good meal at the Sheepscot...

When we arrived at the Sheepscot on Saturday, we were shocked with the amount of amenities that have disappeared. When checking in, we were told that the owner, Roger Bintliff, had sold the property to some company called Cottage Connection... Upon entering our room, we noticed that some of the little things, such as the candy lobster that they used to put into every room, was gone. In addition, this morning, the front desk was supposed to open at 8am. When we stopped by at 8:24am, they were still closed. Very disappointing to have the office closed, when they are supposed to be open.

All in all, this was our last stay at the Sheepscot. For the price they charge, there are much better properties, some local B&Bs that deserve the money...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FriendlySkies1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edgecomb hotels

Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Ok--the Inn part of the property is still functioning with long time innkeeper Tamara expertly navigating through the recent foreclosure and auction of the entire property complex this past January. She still provides a great smile and customer service that we have known for over 20 years of coming to this property.

The inn is still one of the best spots to enjoy a very peacefull stay, and frankly, best sunset in midcoast maine.

The restaurant is closed along with other aspects of the property until issues with Sheepscot Harbor Resort Village Homeowners Association are resolved as the former developer, Roger Bintiff, lost financing/buyer and was foreclosed on. But with other restaurants in the area Sarahs across bridge and others only 10 minutes away in Damariscotta, this was a minor inconvenience.

I highly recommend this property and have even stayed in the other cottages and units on the property. So you can trust individual property owners who rent out their units either through the inn or privately listed.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank attorneystoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkinson, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We stayed for a week in a studio apt. in the lodge via a timeshare exchange. The room had a microwave and minifridge, but no oven or stovetop. The room was decorated in a coastal theme, and very pleasant. The staff was always helpful and friendly. The resort itself was right on the river, and convenient to restaurants and shopping. Unlike previous reviewers, we loved Sara's restaurant, and found Acadia National Park to be only 2 1/2 hours away (maybe because we traveled off-season?). We had friends that were staying in Portland come and visit us, and they liked it so much they booked a similar room and stayed 2 nights when they could have stayed in Portland for free! Although it was the end of lobster season, we had no trouble finding fresh lobster for sale, and the fall colors (late this year) were at their peak. We couldn't have asked for better lodging or a better experience overall.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HomebodyMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My son and I stayed at this extensive "resort" in the fall of 2009. I had stayed at the property back in the 1980s when it was the Riverside Motel. It literally is right across the Sheepscot River from Wiscasset, next to the Highway 1 bridge. The current owners have REALLY put a lot of money and attention into making this into a full scale resort.

We stayed 5 nights in a cottage: 412, "The Cousins" which is a one-bed room, half of a duplex. I am not sure if it is one of the old 1920s cottages that they completely rebuilt or if its new. It has a slightly odd floorplan because it has a what would normally be a porch, but it is indoors. The living room and kitchenette adjoin this indoor porch, but since there is a wall of windows, it feels a bit truncated. For a couple, this is not a huge deal. The decor is really nautical-country-cottage with lighthouses, ship models, starfish etc. The interior finishes look and feel brand-new and decently built. The kitchen has a small fridge, micro, sink and some dishes. The one bedroom has a quen bed and tv.

Besides the small cottages, there are "lodge" rooms which are the newly renovated "motel" rooms that would have been built in the 1970? Then there is the "inn" which is a large house where the breakfast/lobby is located. Then there are dozens of 2-4 bedroom houses. I think there is an indoor pool somewhere. All of these buildings look newly built or renovated and they seemed to spare no expense. Apparently, all these rooms can be purchased as timeshare/rental income properites. Lots of landscaping and great views across to Wiscasset.

There was no internet in our cottage nor laundry facilities. Apparently some cottages have both?

Continental breakfast in the "inn" was good. The restaurant "Bintliffs" has not been open since Nov. 2008 which is not a good sign?, but there are plenty of eateries in town.

I would stay there again, especially since I have relatives in Wiscasset. It has so much more than just a hotel or motel, since the outdoor areas are so scenic and quiet. My only concern is that it looks like there was a LOT of money sunk into this property and maybe the economy is taking its toll. I hope they do well since it is a very appealing location and set of accomodations.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor Locks, Ct
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

It was our pleasure to discover this piece of beauty. A quaint, quiet, beautiful place for relaxation, being a tourist, and exploring some fantastic places in Maine. We were able to take our dogs, because they welcome them as guests. We opted for a cottage, which was well worth it. The staff were polite, and very helpful. The cottage we stayed in, #401 was so cute, well appointed, clean, and the views were magnificent. Sitting right on the waters edge made it special, especially with the tide changes. The grounds were clean, and they have a big, long dock/walkway that goes out over the tidal areas and to the water. Exceptional during the day, and special at night when lit. The facilty restruarnt is closed, but local eateries are close. Avoid Sara's across the bridge. We ate at Le Garage, and found it nice,but not a 3 star meal. The resort is 15 minutes from Boothbay Harbour area. On the way there, if you have excess funds, stop at Edgecomb Pottery. They have beautiful stuff, but very, very expensive. Lots of great shopping in Boothbay Harbour. The resort is right off Rt. 1, and allows easy access for day trips. We will be going back there next year. Even after a busy schedule, felt relaxed and refreshed when we got home. Treat yourself to some Maine treat.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgecomb
9.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
534 reviews
10.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
454 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
490 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
71 reviews
19.1 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa

Property: Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa
Address: 7 Island Ln, GPS: 318 Eddy Road, Edgecomb, ME 04556-3061
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Edgecomb
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Edgecomb
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in the beauty of the Maine coast and the tranquility of Sheepscot Harbor Village & Resort, at our premier island resort! We offer luxurious Maine Waterfront Cottage rentals, along with beautifully appointed rooms in the Inn Hotel & gorgeous suites in the Lodge Hotel. New for 2014, is our Waters Edge Banquet and Function Facility Your one stop destination for Weddings & Rehearsal Dinners, Corporate Meetings, Private Parties, Family Gatherings, and so much more!, Located on Davis Island, Sheepscot Harbour Village & Resort boasts stunning water views and beautiful grounds along the harbor, the perfect location for your wedding, corporate even, family reunion, romantic getaway or any occasion! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheepscot Harbour Village Hotel Edgecomb
Sheepscot Harbour Village And Resort
Sheepscot Harbour Village Resort & Spa Maine/Edgecomb

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing