We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar & live music”
Review of Davis Island Grille - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Davis Island Grille
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Branford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Bar & live music”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed close by at a Vacation rental for a week. It was a short walk to Davis Island Grill.
The hostess was a young girl with no clue on what her job was. The waitress didn't know anything about the menu. We waited forever and the food was a disappointment. We asked for bread but it never came.
The evening wasn't lost because we decided to stop at the bar to listen to some music and found they had a decent beer list and the music was great.
My suggestion for this place is go to the bar and order a appetizer and a beer. The location is on the water and if there's live music you can't go wrong.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    12
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Maine
2 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a Sweet Jack deal to use at this restaurant, and after reading several unfavorable reviews, decided to head out on Sunday afternoon from Lewiston, with an open mind and the attitude that this would be an adventure on which we'd only lose a minimum amount of money. We arrived with minor expectations, and left with our memories of our delightful dining experience. From the moment we walked into the door, we were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by a smiling, friendly waitress within a minute of our arrival, and were offered a table for two by a window. We asked for permission to open the sturdy louver window shades and were granted permission to do so....which revealed a lovely view of the Sheepscot River and outdoor seating below us. The restaurant décor was smart, somewhat upscale, starting with the well-crafted mosaic marble floor with complementary sturdy marble tabletops. The marbled décor was balanced by the colorful paisley tapestry dining chairs and whimsical ceiling fans and light fixtures. The painted wood moldings added to the restaurant's charm.

After ordering beverages, we were given ample time to review the menu at our request. My salad was delivered within minutes of our placing our order. I ordered the baked haddock and my boyfriend ordered a Rueben sandwich which he describes as “uncommonly good.” The sandwich came with coleslaw and a pickle. The baked potato was ordered a la carte. Although the haddock piece I got was a tail and not a thicker portion, it was still a good-sized portion and very tasty with the crumb topping. My dish was served with a baked potato cooked to perfection....not too hard...with a coarse peppery seasoning on top. My boyfriend describes the potato as being a “cut above the rest” because of the flavorful seasoned topping. My meal was rounded out with a delicious medley of crisp, colorful vegetables with a hint of buttery sauce. Our meals took about 40 minutes to arrive, but we were not in a hurry and enjoyed the drinks, view, and conversation. We did not feel this was an excessive wait. The staff was attentive to us and checked in often to see if we might have other needs or to give us an update on the status of our meals.

All in all, we enjoyed a lovely luncheon date on a beautiful sunny summer day, and will definitely be going back to use the rest of our gift card before the summer is over.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smilie1004240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Great food, a bit pricey, but well worth it, excellent staff, great gathering place for all...and scenery from the river.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valgal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not very good just OK”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

not very good just OK the had the fried seafood platter. don't waste your 25 bucks on it . it was mostly haddock and that was so over cooked it was very dry. the clams also over cooked and dry .I eat clams all over this great state and these ranked some of the worst. is was in the afternoon , it was not very busy (for good reason) and our server could not Keep our water full. You have been Warned . Lot better places near by.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, ME
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We went to the Davis Island Grill last night while we were in the area and loved every minute of our experience. The place is nicely decorated, the staff was friendly and there was even entertainment in the bar area although it was only 7pm. There is a lovely view of the Sheepscot River from all tables. I had the soup of the day, chilled avocado and cucumber which extremely tasty considering two such mild veggies. My friend had the clam chowder which was thinner than she expected (actually more authentic) and loaded with clams. She said it was very good. For dinner I had macadamia and corn bread encrusted haddock which I was very pleasantly surprised to see had the mixture as a topping rather than obscuring the whole filet. It was delicious and perfectly cooked. My friend had the lobster fettuccine which was loaded with fresh lobster. The pasta was a little gloppy and only so-so. We shared an absolutely delectable slice of blueberry pie for dessert with real Maine blueberries, a thin crust and two scoops of ice cream. We asked if it was baked in house and were told it came from Le Garage, a local Wiscasset place. Yum! We chatted with several other patrons while we were eating and all seemed enthusiastic about their dinners. The prices for the varied menu were mostly in the $17-$20 range and the bargain had to be the 1 1/4 lobster dinner with two sides for $14.95.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing