We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Twilite Motel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed 2nights it was comfortable we had their breakfast was ok. Beds we're comfy. Good price. Bathroom small but it's only to take a bath. Close to town. Friendly owners, and knowledgeable of the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marif62014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    101
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
69
153
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Twilite looks like the Bates Motel -- many years later: much in need of upgrading and manicuring, particularly the exterior. But the rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. They include the usual amenities: coffee pot, fridge. There is a basic continental breakfast. The family members who own/operate the motel are very friendly and accommodating as are the staff. And the beds are very comfortable. If you want to save a few bucks and aren't fussy about esthetics, Twilite is a decent place to sack out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angkor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twilite, Owner at Twilite Motel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Well, I guess the name of the motel - Twilite – should have been your clue 
But on a more serious note;
We pride ourselves on two main things:
- Keeping a dying American tradition alive. The roadside motel, always welcoming and accommodating to the tired traveler, and part of the rich local history.
- While maintaining the tradition, we pride ourselves in keeping up with the times by continuously updating our rooms and furnishing them with 21st amenities (Wi-Fi, cable TV etc).
As you yourself pointed out we are rather successful creating this unique blend of old and new.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I chose this little motel by way of trip advisor. I took my chances since the reviews were good. I booked it for 10 days and wish it had been only a few. They have a ridiculous policy about cancelations so I was stuck. Room was ok for as old as it is. My problem was with the poor housekeeping service and the dripping faucet in the tub. I think it was also pretty overpriced for as old as it is.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BrentJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twilite, Owner at Twilite Motel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Mr. Jensen booked a room for 9 nights and chose to stay an extra night. We fail to understand his decision in view of his complaints. During his stay he did not complain, even once, regarding any issues with the room function, or housekeeping, and thus there was no way for us to attend to any of his concerns. Just like any motel, we have a cancellation policy that is specified clearly when people reserve a room, and still, we try to be flexible and attentive to our guests. If Mr. Jensen would have asked to leave in view of a dripping faucet we would have tried to work with him (or the faucet). Our rates are not only in-line with other motels in town for the dates booked, they were lower than most others in town. We are always glad to hear constructive suggestions so we can better our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
Level Contributor
152 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Would recommend!! Nice change from the chains! Comfortable room, very nice couple run it and were very helpful. It is sorta hard to find, but he will help you if you call. He stayed on the phone and "guided" us in!! So nice! Would return if in the area. Nice contnental breakfast in a relaxing sun room. Nice way to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zimms4golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hosts at Twilite Motel are very friendly and helpful, recommending a great place to eat in nearby Hancock (Ruth & Wimpy's for lobster at a great price). The motel rooms are clean and the bed was very comfortable. There is no refrigerator or microwave in the room, but you'll get a very nice continental breakfast (with great coffee) in the morning. There's also two coin-operated washing machines and a dryer. This place is very convenient to the Bar Harbor and Acadia Park areas and it's a great price. We almost went back for a second night but decided to push on ahead with our road trip after a lovely day at Acadia Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubley, Ns
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Second stay at this hotel during a trip to the US. The couple running the place are very nice and the hotel is very well kept. The rooms are nothing fancy but the price is right, and you can park right outside your room. Comes with a continental breakfast, which is very basic. Easy driving distance to downtown Ellsworth.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotiajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay at the Twilite Motel in Ellsworth, ME. Exceptionally clean and very comfortable and affordable. Expedia told me there were non smoking and smoking rooms but they were wrong, the rooms were all non smoking. The owners are very nice people.

Room Tip: All the rooms are non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
2.1 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
7.1 mi away
Acadia Sunrise Motel
Acadia Sunrise Motel
#1 of 3 in Trenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Property: Twilite Motel
Address: 147 Bucksport Rd, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ellsworth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#5 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing