We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Value in Acadia”
Review of Twilite Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Twilite Motel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The Twilight Motel is about value. It offers all that would be expected of a moderately priced accommodation along the Maine coast. Our first visit gave us a surprise when we entered our room and found it to be similar to what you would expect to find at a Hampton Inn at twice the price. We’ve been back several times and will continue to make this our base of operations when we’re in the Mt. Desert Island/Bar Harbor area. The Twilight is a real bargain, especially when you consider the fact that it is less than twenty miles from Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drivingmissmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent six nights here while we were exhibiting at the Ellsworth antiques show. We picked the Twilite because of the proximity to the show and the favorable trip advisor reviews. The whole stay was a delightful experience that actually started when I called to make a reservation and spoke directly to Chuck, the owner. He answered all of my questions about the room and the location and really seemed pleased to have our business. When we arrived we were greeted by Chuck and Areila and really made to feel welcome.
The room was comfortable and quiet with everything we needed. The free breakfast just right to start the day.
The whole experience at the Twilite was so much more pleasant than another big chain hotel.
We absolutely recommend the this great little mom and pop establishment

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Back after 11 years, little changed, but friendly owner. Clean refurbed bathrooms, spacious room with refrigerator and convenient to Acadia National Park/Bar Harbor area with fair prices!

Would return again!

While facing highway, minimal traffic and a/c on kept it quiet.

Room Tip: King sized beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I am always a tad skeptical of mom and pop places like this one. My experience has always been that they can be either very good or very bad with little in between. This is a very expensive area to stay in and the Twilite Motel was about all that was within our price range and didn't look like we would have cockroach problems so we decided to take a chance on it. I can say without any hesitation that this is one of the good ones when it comes to the mom and pop joints.

One of the first things that we noticed about it was that it is located directly off of the main highway which made us raise our eyebrows. As it turned out, we never had a problem with traffic noise at any time of the day and the room was completely silent at night. I think that it is set just far enough back and the rooms are sound proofed well enough to cancel out any potential noise.

The rooms themselves are actually quite spacious and immaculately clean. I don't think that I ever once saw a speck of dust anywhere. There were a few minor things about the room that could have been better; the door to the bathroom did not shut or lock properly and we occasionally had a bit of trouble getting the door to the room to open but I am certainly willing to let those things slide as it simply being an older place.

The breakfast in the morning is nothing special but it is there and it is not unsubstantial. There is a great partially screened porch area where you can eat which is great in the cool Maine mornings. The staff at the Motel is extremely helpful and very friendly. They are willing to talk to their guests as old friends and have numerous recommendations for the area.

The Motel is a bit old but it is very well kept up and a friendly place to visit that I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone visiting the Bar Harbor area. From what I could see of some of the other places I looked at, it was less expensive and far nicer than many of the other options without paying 5 star resort prices.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the complex offer a bit more privacy and are probably a bit quieter as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryandvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our party of 4 senior citizen travelers were ALL satisfied with the user friendly accommodations, super friendly staff, continental breakfast, surrounding grounds, restaurant suggestions, quick responses to questions, and cleanliness. Close to everything yet quiet at night. WoW!

Just 2 1/2 hours from our rental cabin Mooseheadchalet in Greenville, ME we are looking forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: We chose a small room with TV, Wi-Fi, and air conditioning, but others are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mooseheadchalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a jewel of an older hotel. It is neat and clean and they include a decent continental breakfast with fresh baked blueberry muffins. The motel is located conveniently to local attractions including Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the motel is motorcycle friendly. The wi-fi works very well also.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bamarider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a family affair to attend in this area of Maine, and this is a good choice.
The room was large and very clean and cozy. I will say it is a bit dated, but that is what we had expected. The owners are so pleasant and the experience was good.
We enjoyed sitting under the trees and reading, a nice change from the chain hotels. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeandob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
2 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 9 in Ellsworth
167 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 9 in Ellsworth
709 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
383 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
3.2 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twilite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilite Motel

Address: 147 Bucksport Rd, Rt. 1 and 3, Ellsworth, ME 04605-2732
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range: £65 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is non-smoking no pet property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Twilite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twilite Motel Ellsworth, Maine
Twilite Hotel Ellsworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing