We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jasper's Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the motel in June 2011. It was my first visit USA. The hotek is familu run. There is also sea food restaurant next door. Food is delisious! Our room was good and big enough for two people. There is supermarket across the street. The town is small and nice. We rent bicycles and even biked to Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

When we arrived at the motel we were greeting and checked in to our room in a friendly manner. The food was great. They even have plenty to offer the non seafood person. Wednesday the night we stayed is Open Mic night. The local entertainment was enjoyed by all.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank jkw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed one night. Had a large room with two double beds and a large separate sitting area. It was clean and comfortable. There was some noise from the back of the restaurant. The restaurant was very good and offered a full menu with many seafood selections. Staff was friendly and helpful.
The only down side was that it was located on a really busy street and there wasn't any walking or park area nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pip18Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Good location was ONLY thing good. Room "smelled" even with deodorizer in room; rug was stained; floor was pitted and marked; bedspreads were flowered, faded and worn; bed sheed with no stain was like cheesecloth; bathroom fixtures were salmon/pink in color and faucets were corroded. I wouldn't use shower nor touch anything I didn't have to. My husband used shower and it thumped and pounded horribly when he turned on water. I would NEVER have stayed there if it was not an emergency and all other hotels were booked. Now I understand why this place had an opening.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nikki97WindhamME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Okay here is the story. My family and I booked 3 rooms for one night so we could go to downeast Maine the following day. My father booked 2 rooms prior to my arrival and I booked one that day (non-smoking). My first room was very musty, not clean and blood and body fluids were on the pillow cases, not one case but 3 out of four.

When speaking to the person in charge that night, Virginia, who was trying her best to manage and run the restaruant and the motel at the same time, I found her to be genuinely concerned and as upset as I was about what had happened. I do have to say she was great and tried her best under the conditions she was dealt. (Virginia, you were great...go somewhere that deserves you).

I was immediately placed in an ajoining room and recieved sincere apologies from the person in charge. I went to this room and unfortuately found this room to be a smoking room that had been listed as a non-smoking room. The room was not only a smoking room but was not really clean at all.

During this same time my parents who were in a smoking room had to be moved since the smoke in that room was so bad they had to be moved to another room. My mother is a smoker and she could not even stand that room.

I immediately began looking for another hotel in the area and then went to the front office again and spoke to Virginia. Again she was great given the circumstances, and offered to allow me to stay in any room for free that evening. I did not want to do this, but she stated she would personally go to a newly refurbished room with me to make sure it met my needs. We did do this and I decided to stay. I offered to pay for the room and she refused to take the money for the room.

Thinking this ordeal was behind me and satisfied with the cleanliness of the room, the sheets were clean and there was no smoke saturated into the furniture and rugs I went into the bathroom to wash my face. I reached for a face cloth and there, on the white face cloth, in front of me was a dark colored hair that appeared very much like a pubic hair.

Needless to say I did not like this at all and gave up. I checked the bed, pillows and anything else that I may touch and went to bed. It was as hard as a rock. No sleep at all that night. I may have had about 3 hours worth and if I had thought about it, should have gone and slept in my car.

The next morning I brought the face cloth and its attachment to the front office where I met Roberta, the manager. I placed this item in front of her and made several recommendations that may assist in the hotels future business practices. She was as upset as Virginia the night before and explained she had recieved a call from Virginia the prior night. Roberta was also very professional and polite. Again Roberta, go somewhere that deserves you.

I find fault not with the manager who is attempting to keep this place running but with the owners of the hotel who are allowing this to happen.

Recommendation....run away from this place and don't look back. If this is the only place to stay in the State of Maine, sleep in your car, it will be more comfortable and clean, and use the McDonald's rest room. At least there you may have a chance of finding something clean.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmdenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Leticia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AlLaKi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
0.6 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
1.7 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#8 of 10 in Ellsworth
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper's Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper's Motel & Restaurant

Address: 200 High St, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1741
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jasper's Motel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaspers Restaurant and Motel is a family owned business for 54 years. We offer clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our restaurant has a wide variety of menu options, but we are known for our seafood and have been claimed the King of Seafood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jasper's Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper`s Motel & Restaurant Hotel Ellsworth
Jasper`s Motel And Restaurant
Jasper's Motel & Restaurant Ellsworth, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing