We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a brief stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jasper's Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
CT
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good for a brief stay”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Dec.2011 while visiting family in Ellsworth. The room was clean and one of us really liked our bed, one did not. The staff were very friendly. However, I thought it was strange that there was no place to hang our clothes (yes, some people still dress up). There was no closet at all. The hot water took forever to get to our room, and was poorly regulated: it went from just right to scalding, from too cold to just right, from just right to scalding again and was a real battle to control. As others have stated, there are only the basic amenities: soap, towels, and shampoo. The room was advertised as including free breakfast--uh, breakfast was your choice of muffins and coffee. Now, for a room that had only the very basic of amenities, I think a decent breakfast should have been included for our $79 per night. All in all, the staff were very friendly and accommodating, but the quality is missing. Stay here for only a couple of days; but if you're looking for a week, go somewhere else. I would have loved to rate this property higher, but the lack of breakfast--not muffins and coffee--plus the lack of closet space and other amenities was too noticeable to ignore. It appeared to us that the money is going into the pocket and not back into the property. Too bad....this motel has real potential.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    17
    13
    23
See reviews for
30
22
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Overpriced. Too many smoking rooms. No coffee in rooms and coffee in front desk was very late. No hair dryers. Very small rooms. Do not stay here!!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Overpriced!!! To many smoking rooms. No coffee in room and late at front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1CabanaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ellsworth hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have never stayed in the Motel but once a year we stop by the attached restaurant.
The food is simple but good, we only has seafood or chowders, and the service is friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perennialtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the motel in June 2011. It was my first visit USA. The hotek is familu run. There is also sea food restaurant next door. Food is delisious! Our room was good and big enough for two people. There is supermarket across the street. The town is small and nice. We rent bicycles and even biked to Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazik_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

When we arrived at the motel we were greeting and checked in to our room in a friendly manner. The food was great. They even have plenty to offer the non seafood person. Wednesday the night we stayed is Open Mic night. The local entertainment was enjoyed by all.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jkw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We stayed one night. Had a large room with two double beds and a large separate sitting area. It was clean and comfortable. There was some noise from the back of the restaurant. The restaurant was very good and offered a full menu with many seafood selections. Staff was friendly and helpful.
The only down side was that it was located on a really busy street and there wasn't any walking or park area nearby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip18Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windham, ME
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Good location was ONLY thing good. Room "smelled" even with deodorizer in room; rug was stained; floor was pitted and marked; bedspreads were flowered, faded and worn; bed sheed with no stain was like cheesecloth; bathroom fixtures were salmon/pink in color and faucets were corroded. I wouldn't use shower nor touch anything I didn't have to. My husband used shower and it thumped and pounded horribly when he turned on water. I would NEVER have stayed there if it was not an emergency and all other hotels were booked. Now I understand why this place had an opening.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki97WindhamME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Colonial Inn
Colonial Inn
#8 of 10 in Ellsworth
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasper's Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasper's Motel & Restaurant

Property: Jasper's Motel & Restaurant
Address: 200 High St, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1741
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jasper's Motel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaspers Restaurant and Motel is a family owned business for 54 years. We offer clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our restaurant has a wide variety of menu options, but we are known for our seafood and have been claimed the King of Seafood! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jasper's Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jasper`s Motel & Restaurant Hotel Ellsworth
Jasper`s Motel And Restaurant
Jasper's Motel & Restaurant Ellsworth, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing