We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good of its kind”
Review of Finn's Irish Pub

Finn's Irish Pub
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good of its kind”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Having eater there again recently, I decided to post a review.

'Irish pub' billing tends to fill me with a certain dread of tasteless mush kissed by the microwave. Finn's is a good deal better than that - quite large portions, a decent effort to give the dishes some flavor, very nice service and keen pricing that makes the place good value. I'd say easily the best value in Ellsworth, a town where the alternatives are not enticing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    153
    45
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service was excellant”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were recommended to Finn's by the Bed and Breakfast we were staying in. The service was excellent and food was very good. The price of the food was reasonable. Overall very happy with our experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmwilson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great mussels and beer on tap”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Finn's is a low-key pub with a wide selection of beer and cider on tap, and is great for mussels and beer. Try the Irish nachos and their homemade chips. Super crispy and delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent food, nice people (staff and clientele) - definitely a "find." They were crowded so we ate at the bar - everything we had was really good. Will look forward to going again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ithakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tasty for lunch on a drizzly Sunday”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

It was a drizzly/cloudy Sunday so decided to leave our cottage on the ocean for a little shopping and lunch at Finn's. It was a great choice although I ended up not having the "pub fare" that populated the menu (although I was tempted). Instead I had 6 oysters on the half shell--cold, briny, and absolutely delicious, followed by a cup of excellent clam chowder and a salad. The salad was fine but nothing special. My husband had the Belfast wrap which was essentially a Reuben in a wrap. He said it was great. We washed all this down with some wine (for me) and beer (for him). My only complaint is that our service was a little slow (people near us who ordered after us had their food before we did) but then I reminded myself that I am on vacation and need to slow down. LOL. All in all, very good. I'd like to go back and try the Scotch egg and have another platter of oysters--maybe a dozen this time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finn's Irish Pub also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Finn's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing