We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in the area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We were in town for a funeral, our first time to the area. Some of the group we were with decided to stay right down the road at the Colonial Inn. Prior to booking our hotel room, I did some research on TripAdvisor and found the reviews to be very poor for the Colonial Inn (out of 49 reviews, 23 were terrible). Of course it was cheaper to stay there, however in my opinion there are many more important qualities that I look for when locating a hotel. My number one concern is cleanliness! Plus, being a Hilton Honors member I always try to pick a Hilton hotel where ever we go. We were thoroughly impressed with this hotel. From the moment we walked in I could tell it was well maintained and the employees really cared about the property. Our room was large (we had a king sized bed), clean, quiet and comfortable. There was a hand written note left next to the bed that said “your duvet cover and sheets were cleaned for your arrival”. Obviously, the sheets’ being cleaned is a no brainer but the duvet being cleaned is much appreciated added touch! The hotel also has a salt water pool and a hot tub; unfortunately we did not have time to try them out. Our room had a refrigerator, microwave and a coffee pot. It also had a bench at the end of the bed, a winged chair and a desk. We stopped by the breakfast area on our way out and were pleasantly surprised at everything they had to offer. I went for the oatmeal (which was the real deal- homemade) and was not disappointed, my fiancée made an egg sandwich and he was just as pleased. They also had a waffle making station, 4 or 5 cereal choices, yogurt, fruit and muffins/toast. We ended up stopping by the Colonial Inn to visit other family staying there and all I have to say is we certainly made the right decision on the hotel, the poor reviews were dead on! I was more than willing to pay the extra money to have the amenities and cleanliness we had at the Hampton Inn. I asked the front desk at check out when the hotel was built; expecting her to say 2012 and she said 2010. I couldn't believe it, the hotel looked brand new! There are a few other options for hotels in the area but from what I can see this is by far the best pick. Overall, this hotel hit it out of the park and we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    189
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
204
277
25
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

I got the chance to stay at this property again. I have a customer right up the road from the hotel. So it makes it perfect for calling on this customer. The hotel was clean, the front desk person was very pleasant and helpful. I will be staying here later in the season for work and play.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_da_Bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellertown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The room was very clean and extremely well kept. I checked in quickly and without issue. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, the woman who runs the breakfast area is absolutely the nicest person I have met. You will feel at home with her instantly!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paige K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We have stayed here three different times and been very pleased each time. The lounge area downstairs is clean, welcoming and contemporary. The gas fireplace on cold days is cheering. Fresh fruit, cookies and hot tea are also nice amenities. The breakfast is better than some restaurants in the area--love the wafflemaker, mini-omelettes and oatmeal. Conveniently and centrally located for moving around the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Everything about this hotel was excellent! The room was very clean including a clean duvet on the comforter. The comfort of the bed was wonderful. The room had all the amenities needed. The bathroom was spacious with a nice large shower. The overall experience was exceptional. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Very clean, nice staff, comfortable beds. Rate was a little high but not bad for the Ellsworth area. Location was great near many restaurants and shopping plazas. Pool and hot tub were clean and water temp was comfortable. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This hotel is exceptionally clean and nice. The rooms are in very good condition, as are the common areas (fitness room, lounge). The complimentary breakfast is decent, a lot better than most places. And, the round the clock complimentary chocolate chip cookies, coffee and hot chocolate are big hits with my family. We have stayed here multiple times when in the region for basketball tournaments.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWK_Maine_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
9.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
#1 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing