We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family road trip fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Family road trip fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here to take advantage of the closeness to Bar Harbor. What a great visit! The hotel was spotless and the staff so pleasant. The room was ready right on time, and was comfortable and spacious. The continental breakfast was typical food, but it was by far one of the better hotels we stayed at on our road trip. Definitely a place to stop next time!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    191
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
209
280
25
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel a couple of nights with the idea of visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia park. It is only about 12 miles away from Bar Harbor and Acadia, but priced about half than hotels in Bar Harbor. Service was excellent, the room very clean and modern, plus breakfast was included in the price (it was a very nice and complete breakfast offering). Both Bar Harbor and Acadia are wonderful and recommendable family stop. We did a sunset kayaking tour of Bar Harbor, fantastic! went up cadillac mountain, Beautiful!! Hiking in Acadia...all very nice!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFBeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is the nicest, cleanest, best staffed Hampton and I have ever been in. Most of the time the Hamptons I stay in seem to suck, but this one was very nice. I asked them how old it was because I thought It had just been open a few months and they said they've been there a few years, you couldn't tell.

The lady that worked at the breakfast was lovely, and gave us great tips on Bar Harbor (Baa Hahbaa) and Acadia.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a standard HI (new) with a better than average exercise room, large clean and stocked rooms, walk-in showers, friendly helpful staff. Everything went as expected. It is 20/25 minutes from Acadia/Bar Harbor. Ellsworth has a Walmart, etc - and at least two good restaurants. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2millionandcounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montebello, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our room was clean, large and lovely. Remarkably welcoming were the beds in our room: Cleanliness is a concern of mine when we travel. Recalling reports that bed coverings at hotels are often resplendent with germs and dirt, Hampton Inn beds not only looked clean and inviting, we were truly impressed to find a note upon the headboard informing us that all duvets are freshly washed for each guest. And...oh so comfortable. I want some of those pillows! Thank you for a great experience. And the free hot cocoa all night long!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swans Island, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My stay was good but it's been brought to my attention that just one guest can complain and a whole aspect of the Inn can change. There is no longer tipping for the workers in the breakfast area because of one person saying it was beneath the Hampton Inn to have tip containers there. So I would like that changed back please. Those people work hard and if I want to tip, I should have a place to put it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferL1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Rooms were clean and very nice. Fitness center was not as good as a gym but better than most hotels. Pool looked nice enough but did not use it. Breakfast was very good. Cleaning staff and front desk staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.3 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Property: Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing