We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Hampton Inn, although a little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The staff was awesome, the hotel was very clean and well kept (even the stair cases at the ends of the hall were carpeted, wallpapered and had pictures hanging in them!) and was nicely laid out. My only "complaint" was that it was a bit pricey for a Hampton Inn that has one elevator, one waffle maker and no refrigerator. And it is still close to a 1/2 hour drive to Acadia National Park, the major area attraction.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Quiet hotel with helpful staff. Really enjoyed the breakfast. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends. Would also stay here again if my travels brought me back to Maine. We traveled into Bar Harbor everyday which was about a 30 minute scenic trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
3  Thank JMy097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent stay here this week-our second stay at this hotel. The lovely woman who works at breakfast and handed out mints is so warm and kind, and very helpful with hints about parking and where to go. Only wish it was a tad closer to Acadia! Thank you!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Mainenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were allowed an early check in at noon, we had a wedding to attend on Bar Harbor at 2. That was very helpful. By far the best hotel to stay in the Bar Harbor area. Easy check in / out. Polite staff. Everything clean. The pool and hot tub were excellent. Great workout facility. The morning breakfast provided many options.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank andrewcC1166VF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When we checked in we immediately knew that this was a Hampton that was going to stand out. The room was huge; the staff very professional and friendly. The breakfast eggs were a bit funky but all else was terrific. It's kind of far to Bar Harbor and the restaurants options around the hotel are limited, but this property stands out as one of the best.

Room Tip: The elevator is really (I mean really) slow, so stay low and near a stairway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank retiredearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My family and I stayed here to take advantage of the closeness to Bar Harbor. What a great visit! The hotel was spotless and the staff so pleasant. The room was ready right on time, and was comfortable and spacious. The continental breakfast was typical food, but it was by far one of the better hotels we stayed at on our road trip. Definitely a place to stop next time!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel a couple of nights with the idea of visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia park. It is only about 12 miles away from Bar Harbor and Acadia, but priced about half than hotels in Bar Harbor. Service was excellent, the room very clean and modern, plus breakfast was included in the price (it was a very nice and complete breakfast offering). Both Bar Harbor and Acadia are wonderful and recommendable family stop. We did a sunset kayaking tour of Bar Harbor, fantastic! went up cadillac mountain, Beautiful!! Hiking in Acadia...all very nice!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SFBeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 9 in Ellsworth
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor

Address: 6 Downeast Hwy, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range: £79 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Hotel Ellsworth
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing