We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agree with "never again"”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellsworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ellsworth Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Ellsworth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Agree with "never again"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

First night in the main house upstairs, i felt like the bed was actually IN the street the traffic noise was so loud. Asked for and received alternate room in motel part, took me back almost 50 years to when we were kids traveling as a family on Dad's teacher salary. Hard to believe these folks don't invest in a makeover and join the over-priced ranks of other motels in Ellsworth. Location to downtown is great, and they could capitalize, since the chains are on the other end of commercial row, with nothing but box stores. Pass this one by, folks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    0
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Paid a very reasonable price to stay here and got one of the "cottages" at the back of the complex. Unfortunatley it is getting a bit tired now and the decor could do with updating. The carpet was a bit worn and there was a damp smell in the room. The weird thin was that the cottage semmed to be sinking at the back! The floor was sloping and we felt a bit disorientated walking round!
However, we had no problem sleeping and breakfast was ok. Staff all very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ellsworth hotels

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Ellsworth Motel is an older, small (16 rooms) mom&pop establishment. If you like off the beaten path experiences, you will love this motel. Rooms are smallish, show their age, but clean and functional, with great A/C, and a little fridge and microwave. It's a real, authentic 50's era experience (except for the above mentioned amenities). Part of the history of this place is that it first started offering rooms to travelers on the nearby rail route. At times, you may hear a train whistle still, and the slightest hint of iron wheels rolling on the tracks.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Ellsworth Motel is very tired. Miranda and her Mother try very hard to make it a nice place to stay. The price is reasonable and the location is great. However, the exterior and rooms, while clean, are badly in need of some TLC

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLM1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This place is a dump and the service here is awful and it needs to be brought up from the 50's and it also needs matching room decor in all the rooms and not stuff from family dollar or the dollar tree. I was quoted one price on the phone and when I arrived I was charged almost double what I was quoted I will never stay here again and would not recommend this place to anybody and would recommend Jasper's down the road. And the swimming pool here is now filled in with concrete whats up with that?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkshadow8169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

After trying to find a motel in the expensive Acadia area, we were able to stumble upon online on this motel. It was the cheapest rate we could find. Even though we were wary about the condition of the motel we took the risk. To our surprise the motel was very well run. It is rusty but was clean and located perfectly for our 2 night stay. Owners were very quick to respond and responsive to any concerns when hurricane Earl stuck us during the Labor day weekend. I would definitely say that you can consider this motel if you have a tight budget.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GhumnaPhirna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
0.7 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.2 mi away
White Birches Motel
White Birches Motel
#1 of 1 in Hancock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ellsworth Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ellsworth Motel

Property: The Ellsworth Motel
Address: 24 High St, Route 1&3, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1738
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ellsworth
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ellsworth Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing