We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked Good Meat!”
Review of Mainely Meat on Main - CLOSED

Mainely Meat on Main
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wicked Good Meat!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Real good Q on the coast is a rare find. Warning! if you're expecting to find meat drenched in sauce that's not what you're going to get. This is dry rub smoker cooked barbecue with a couple of sauces on the side, that weren't really necessary. I had the sampler, a good portion of tender pulled pork was the primary item. Two(not enough) meaty ribs were included along with a healthy length of sausage that had a strong but not overly smokey taste( I'm not a fan of allot of smoke flavor). The only thing I didn't enjoy was the chicken, it was cooked very well but I just didn't like the seasoning. I chose the potato salad which was decently flavored and the beans. The beans were thick New England style with a slight kick at the end. It was also served with a side of corn bread which was tasty but could have been a bit bigger. The two sauces were a spicy mustard base that I didn't try and the other was similar to Sweet Baby Rays but a bit sweeter. This was good barbecue at a reasonable price, looking forward to stopping in again when we go back to town in a few weeks. Waitress was very friendly and attentive too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snonut800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    9
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“No thank you”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

For a place that is supposed to be "Mainely" meat..... It is pretty bland and unoriginal. The product was dry and the sauce selection was poor at best. The side dishes available taste like they are scooped out of a bucket..... We will pass on this place in the future.

Helpful?
2 Thank earthfood7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Real BBQ Cravings Satisfied Here”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

While visiting Ellsworth on vacation I stopped into Mainely Meat on Main for lunch with my husband and my mom. It took a while to get seated but the atmosphere was very homey & the scent of BBQ was infectious. We all ordered pulled pork of one type or another, from a fairly limited but predictable BBQ menu, and everyone enjoyed it very much! I found it to be a bit fatty but my husband took care of the extras happily. The French fries were awesome & random shouts from people watching FIFA were a fun addition. Will definitely be back here on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelika, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent breakfast!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband got an omelette with pulled pork and whole wheat toast. I got two eggs, bacon and blue berry muffin, the best part of the whole meal was that they served grits! Our waitress was very helpful with questions that we asked about the area and didn't mind spending alittle time with us!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leliawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tried the steak for the first time, done perfectly tender and delicious!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I always get the bbq wings as I love that rich bbq flavor but I went for the steak, so good. Hubby had a half rack of ribs which was more than enough food again done perfectly, meat falling off the bone. Coleslaw is yummy as are the beans. My only complaint would be the potato salad which I can never eat. It has a strange taste and a yellowish tinge, it always gets left on my plate. All in all a wonderful meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pegclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mainely Meat on Main also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing