We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good subs”

Ellsworth Giant Sub
Ranked #30 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Restaurant details
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“very good subs”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Small and cozy. family atmosphere with loyal customers.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank baklavaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh Food, Not a Chain!”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

If you are looking for fresh food, you have found it! I have found that the wheat bread isn't always as fresh. Giant Sub is pretty sparing with their veggies...they don't like to add extra of anything. My personal favorite is the hamburger sub!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jims_auto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surry, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I Love This Place”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

What's to say? Greats subs at a fair price, with great home cut french fries. (I love their fries.) Nice people with good service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great-tasting subs and sandwiches - very reasonable pricing”
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Very ample portions, very reasonable prices. Everything's fresh and home-made. No tourist trap here. Order at the counter for take out or dine in. Most of the customers are local folks with a few of us folks "from away" who know a good thing when we find it. We stop there every time we're anywhere near Ellsworth. Some of the businesses along Rte 3 are simply there for the tourist buck, but the Ellsworth Giant Sub has been there as long as I can remember. And right next door is their "Blueberry Hill" ice cream shop. The servings are HUGE and the prices unbelievably low. You can't go wrong at either the Ellsworth Giant Sub or Blueberry Hill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LoneStarDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW WA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Was alright”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The service was ok - sandwiches/wraps were ok. Didn't like the fact that the gal who made my sandwich was cleaning her glasses, then touching my food, then sniffling...
not the cleanest place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank staobka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ellsworth Giant Sub also viewed

Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Trenton, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Ellsworth Giant Sub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing