We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome pizza by the slice”
Review of Finelli Pizzeria

Finelli Pizzeria
Ranked #18 of 63 Restaurants in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Pizza, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery
Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome pizza by the slice”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We LOVE Finelli's pizza. Fabulous convenience of getting it by the slice and the slices are near perfect. Thin, but not too thin a crust. Heated up to perfection. Love the Bianco with ricotta and spinach. They always have a good variety of pizzas available. Friendly, easy place to enjoy. Great cheesecake too. Did not love a salad I got there once, but salads are kind of personal, I've found; one person's dream salad is not another's....it wasn't a quality issue, just a taste issue (kind of bitter for me).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    64
    27
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The wings were actually better than the pizza...”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

While it wasn't bad, the large cheese pie was far from "NY style thin crust". A little burnt and light on the cheese and sauce. Ordered a dozen of the buffalo wings, which were actually very good - big and well-cooked without being too crisp on the outside. Buffalo sauce was spicy with good flavor but not out of control.
Good service - even though it was a counter order, they brought our food to the table. The building is a bit if a dump, but not dirty so not a big deal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CUGlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really good pizza and sauce.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Ended up here due to the misgivings of another eatery. Glad we did. Great pizza sauce - usually have to add salt pepper and spices to my pizza, not with this one. Perfect taste. Wouldn't quite call it NY style, but still a good slice of
Pizza. They have different kinds and all are available by the slice as well. The salad is good and plentiful and the beer is a good selection too. Bathrooms were very clean, which I'm finding to be a rather uncommon thing lately. Give them a try.

Helpful?
Thank Camper309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bar harbor, maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just get the Italian hoagie on focacia bread, it is so good. A delicious combination of fine Italian cold cuts, cheeses and fresh veggies, with an Italian dressing. I took mine to go and sat at a picnic table down on Water ST. at the town boat landing, Finelli's food is consistently great!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dianaducky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Sweden, Maine
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Crowded means good?”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We ordered because the parking lot looked crowded so we hoped it would be good. The guy who answered the phone was friendly. They were nice when we stopped to pick up the pizza. While we waited our turn to pay, the cook pulled out a pizza, made a face that interpreted as not again, and put the pizza in the back. I was pleased to see he checked the pizza and it hadn't looked that burnt.

We ordered buffalo wings and they were great - just the right amount of spice for me. Unfortunately the pizza was burnt. Did he forget to check ours? I was disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spruce92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finelli Pizzeria also viewed

Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Ellsworth, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Finelli Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing