We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park”

Acadia Village Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ellsworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acadia Village Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
annapolis, md
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Trip to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

The resort was very basic but clean and the staff was very helpful. We had initially been assigned to Unit 52B but the refrigerator was broken and we were relocated to Unit 57B. The second unit was by far much nicer and felt newer. 52B could really use some upgrades, but overall was adequate. 57B was lovely and perfect for a couple. Having laundry facilities to share in the duplex was very handy. Not a lot of bells and whistles here, but we weren't looking for any and it served our needs as a home base to do a lot of day trips around the area.
The only glitch was with the wifi - came in and out frequently and that was a little frustrating.
The biggest need that we could see was filling in the potholes on the road into the resort!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank tkdAnnapolis_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim K, Manager at Acadia Village Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thanks for your review! Just wanted to let you know that Resort Way has been paved just in time for the snow to fly! Hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    19
    1
    6
See reviews for
33
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have been exchanging timeshares for years and this place turned out to be one of the best exchanges. The unit was spotless, furniture and rugs in great shape. The resort is right off the center of Ellsworth, unlike so many exchanges which are miles from the center of town. So convenient to many very good restaurants. We also used Tripadvisor for reviews on neighboring town restaurants. Would definitely exchange again for Acadia Village Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank loriant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Like a previous reviewer, we had unit 52B so same description. Furn not new but good. Bed comfortable. Large flatscreen TV in LR/KI, small older one in BR. No maint issues except bedside clock was unplugged and inoperative. Lots of towels, small soaps, tissues, hair dryer but no shampoo or products in our exchange unit. Kitchen had adequate dishes and utensils for us. No dishwasher. Unit painted white and bright. Rear door in BR to lawn with chairs, picnic table, grills.
Weather sunny and warm, scenery beautiful this week. We spent most of time at Acadia Park and in Bar Harbor. Took 2-hr nature cruise from BH port and saw eagles, seals dolphins etc. Resort was quiet to an extreme this week (9/27). Met a few other couples, all retired like us, at Tues. evening wine and snacks. Lobby and clubhouse had good supply of maps, brochures, free daily papers, lots of books, magazines, movies for rent, board games, one computer and printer. Indoor pool and hot tub looked nice but nobody using it.
We used 10% discount from resort to eat at Helen's (3 times) and Jaspers. We enjoyed sitting on benches and watching scenery at Ellsworth waterfront park. Since we do not hike or do other strenuous activities, could have been bored if there much longer. But the scenery was great! For early flight, we spent final night at Bangor airport hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apalachin, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was a little nervous about staying here after seeing some of the reviews, but as it turned out, there was nothing to worry about. We stayed in a villa and it was lovely. The bed and furniture were comfortable, the bathtub was huge and wonderful after a day of hiking, and it was absolutely spotless. We were very happy with our stay there and plan to go back next year. It's not a 5 star resort, but if you're looking for a clean, comfortable, quiet place to retire to after a long day in Acadia, this is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

There are three options for stay here...apartments (called "manors") in a 3 story tower building behind the office, as well as duplexes and townhomes. Our group stayed in one apartment and one townhome. The location is right downtown, just off High Street, so it's easy to get to Bar Harbor, Lamoine, Acadia National Park, and even north to Bangor.

I wouldn't recommend the townhomes. They were dark, the furniture was older...it was really like renting someone's cheap apartment. However, you do get your own washer/dryer and no one above or below you. However, the apartment (or manor) was well decorated, light, open, great for a family, with plenty of room for everyone, and a great living area for visitors. The garden tub was great and it was so clean that we let the baby crawl around freely all week. Plus the bedrooms were bigger. The entry was shared with one other apartment and there was a shared washer/dryer. You will have others above, below, and/or next to you depending on the "manor" you get.

If you're considering this location, be sure to find out which kind of property you're getting and see photos if possible. Since this location can rent for anywhere from $700-$3000/week....and there are only 6 manors....you want to be sure you know what you're paying for.

Oh, and there is a tennis court, access to an indoor playground, and an indoor pool and hot tub. Adults only swim from 8-10am and then open to anyone from 10am-9pm. The pool area is wood paneled and echoes badly, so be aware of this if you are sensitive to noise or traveling with kids.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a "manor"...you might have someone above you, but it's worth it for...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank SportsMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

wonderful resort close to acadia national park. worst part of the experience was the no air conditioning. in all honesty didn't really need it the week we were there. 15 miles or so away from acadia park, very nice drive through maine. not a bad drive and a lot of good restaurants along the way. clean, great staff, spacious rooms. would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pahepners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just returned from first visit to Maine and this was great location to visit the places I want to see up and down the coast. I stayed in 52B in the Villa section. These are one story units similar to a duplex. Share a front entrance with another unit. Washer & dryer in the front entrance. One bedroom sleeps 4 but I would not recommend for adults as it would get crowded. Unit was very clean. Furniture was older but comfortable and mattress was new and comfrotable but plastic coated mattress cover crinkled and made noise when I moved. Huge tub/shower but little difficult to get in and out with no grab bars. Office staff was great and wine/cheese get together on Tues. night was fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank islelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
24.2 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Village Resort

Property: Acadia Village Resort
Address: 50 Resort Way, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1717
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acadia Village Resort is located in Ellsworth, near Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, two of Maine's premiere tourist destinations. Our accommodations offer a spacious living area, completely furnished, and equipped with modern appliances. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acadia Village Resort (Ii) Hotel Ellsworth
Acadia Village Resort Ellsworth, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing