We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only average because of price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ellsworth
Certificate of Excellence
Saint John
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Only average because of price”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed during the winter and for a Comfort Inn this hotel is overpriced. $100. Before the change in ownership I used to stay here often during the off season and the price was in the $55 range. New ownership appears to own several hotels in the Ellsworth area and have raised prices with reduced compitition. Too bad. Summer prices are really high and I refuse to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Overdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellsworthcomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
I see that you were very pleased overall by the quality and service you received during your stay. Thank you for your comments. I am one of the owners who purchased the hotel in 2009 and many renovations have been done since that time. The improvements were greatly needed and we are very proud of our guest service and accommodations that we offer, however the rate did need to go up from the $55 that you were used to paying. I'm sorry that you feel we are over priced and I hope you will return as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    77
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
69
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
381 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This property is located about 30 minutes away from Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. It is a two story hotel with indoor entry into rooms but no elevator to the second floor. Our room was good but nothing exceptional. It was clean, had comfortable bedding, and a small lounge chair that wasn’t all the comfy. The sink was located outside the bathroom. The breakfast area is quite small with tables bunched together that made walking around the room a little difficult with people sitting everywhere. Breakfast items were well stocked and maintained by the attendant. The management and staff were extremely professional and helpful during our stay. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BionicOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very satisfying. Enjoyed our stay before going on to Acadia. Thought the price was a little over board for what was offered.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marym897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellsworthcomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for a great review and I'm happy to hear that we met your expectations. Unfortunately it is the time of year where the rate is still a little high although we are lower than the other 2 Franchises in town. I hope you will come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The location of the Comfort Inn in Ellsworth was great. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was a little disappointing. We requested a nonsmoking room, but I think people had been smoking in the room anyway. It had an unpleasant smell. We used the laundry facilities while we were there and appreciated the convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westerntravelers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellsworthcomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
We are 100% smoke free and I am sorry that you were put into a room that must have been previously smoked in. It is unfortunate when that happens and it takes us a lot to air the room out. I'm glad in every other way you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice place to spend a night on one's travels. Quiet, clean and friendly staff.

The addition of eggs and sausage to the extensive Continental breakfast was a pleasing site and provided the protein to hungry travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kestrels666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keokuk, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Ellsworth for two nights while visiting Acadia National Park. The motel was in a convenient location for touring the park. Takes about 20-30 minutes to arrive at the park entrance.
Although the motel's amenities were fine, the cost, $169.00 per night, was excessive for a Comfort Inn.
There are other options one might want to explore to get a better price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lunzki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellsworthcomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location and amenities more than comfortable. August is peak season and the price is the highest that it will be all year. It is however lower than the other chain hotels in the area. We do include our full hot breakfast in the rate. Thank you for your review and I hope we will see you at another time. The fall is a beautiful in Maine and our rates do drop at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, NC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Only about 30 minutes from Bar Harbor. Great location with several very good restaurants close by. We had a Pet friendly room, but there was no smell. We were offered pet bed upon check-in along with a treat bag and some potty bags, which they also had a supply of outside at the dog walk area. Very good stay for two nights. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tvsv3726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellsworthcomfort, General Manager at Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I love to hear feedback. I'm particularly proud of being pet friendly. We have had exceptionally good luck with this and I find that most pet owners take great pride in their pets and are very respectful. Izzy my Bernese Mountain dog is often working the desk to welcome our guests. I hope you will come back and see us again another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellsworth
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
0.8 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
13.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
13.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor

Property: Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
Address: 130 High St, Ellsworth, ME 04605-1712
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Ellsworth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ellsworth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ellsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 30 minutes from Acadia National Park. 100% smoke-free facility. Free breakfast, pet friendly rooms available with fee, fitness room, guest laundry, free wireless high-speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ellsworth Hotel Ellsworth
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing