We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pub in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baskerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baskerville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiplake
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a great find! Little gem of a family run pub/restaurant not far from Henley. We sat outside in the lovely garden and enjoyed the barbecue in the sunshine. Food was really delicious and the staff were so friendly. What more can you ask for...........Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidChoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    59
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
79
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

From the booking onwards, the staff were so helpful and friendly. Once we arrived it was just what we wanted - friendly, super people - anything you want is the order of the day here. We had drinks
in the lovely garden; checked in - with a real door key! Windows open if you want - all the way. So much better than so many 'group' hotels. The room is unique - we were in The Hurley - Fab! Bed in the morning is like leaving the burrow. Dinner was
fantastic freshly cooked and very tasty and good portions - not too chefy but chef cooked. Wine excellent choices. In the garden, lots of people as it was Friday - and the guests are as lovely
as the hosts. As for breakfast, wow super choices - and lovely happy staff - very generous with
the melt in the mouth smoked salmon - I was a bit cheeky wanting bacon instead with scrambled
and not salmon - not a blink - very happy to help. Finally, I did not realise the check our time
- again - no pressure and happy to help. I love it here and my complaint - I could not stay a
month. Thank you all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilesarah2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wargrave
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

After underestimating the distance of a family walk from Sonning to Henley we were excited to find The Baskerville and decided to see if they could squeeze us in for an early lunch. It was Fathers day so we didn't hold out too much hope but as it was midday only a few tables were taken.

On asking for availability we were told a table near the outside play area was free and we could order food at the bar. After ordering drinks I requested a menu and was told by another member of staff that they were fully booked and unlikely to be able to accommodate us. The manager arrived shortly after and said it was possible to order food but customers that had booked would be served first and we may have to wait for over an hour.

Although the build up was confusing and the delivery of the news a little cold I understood we would have been fortunate to have been accommodated on a busy Father’s day and decided to finish our drinks and leave.

10 minutes later and with a hungry 3 year old demanding a plan I noticed that no further customers had turned up and the two chefs on the BBQ were still unworked. We wondered whether the manager’s assumption was that we were looking for a 3 course meal as opposed to the BBQ food. I asked another member of staff to double check and be clear we would be happy with a burger. We waited for 15 minutes with no response before eventually finding the waitress who seemed very much like she had completely forgotten our conversation and would go and ask straight away. At this point and probably about 30 minutes too late we left.

Aside from the unenthusiastic welcome and poor communication we left feeling mainly disappointment that the whole time spent messing us around could have been used to provide some basic customer service and cooking us some quick easy BBQ food that would have sent us on our way happy and likely to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hyde80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaskervilleTeam, Owner at The Baskerville, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are sorry we disappointed this customer. It was Father's Day and we had been fully booked for some time and had turned down many other telephone enquiries for Sunday Lunch which is 2 or 3 courses only . We do allow Sunday Lunch customers to mix and match dishes from the kitchen and the BBQ which takes more co-ordination than normally the case to ensure that all dishes arrive at the table together.
We do try to accommodate walk-in customers providing the kitchen and the BBQ can accommodate this given the checks in front of them. The Front of House Manager who controls food orders into the kitchen will always advise walk-in customers whether we can seat them or not and if we can, whether they need to order immediately or if there is a wait,how long it will be before we can serve them food.
Unfortunately, our Front of House Manager was unavailable on Father’s Day due a family emergency and his deputy, who does not normally work Sundays and who was not fully familiar with the Sunday routine, had to step in at short notice to cover, hence the reason for the confusion.
It was not made clear to this customer that he needed to order immediately and by the time he wanted to order, checks had started flowing through the kitchen and BBQ which meant he would have to wait longer for his food. This did not suit his 45 minute window of which 15 minutes had expired before he wished to place his order.
We have apologised to this customer personally and invited him back to dine with us free of charge to compensate for our poor customer service on this occasion. We are please to say that the other 70+ covers received our normal first class customer service on the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Baskerville Hotel for one night as a stop off on the way home from a weeks holiday. The rooms are perfectly acceptable with nice comfortable beds and the pub side of the business was clearly very popular. We didn't eat at the restaurant as we had arranged to meet family in Henley but we did have a peek at the menu and it did look very appetising. In the morning we did sit down to a really nice cooked breakfast which set us up for the journey home. Would have liked to stayed longer and hopefully we will be able to return in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phil1962Newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed on Friday night prior to picking up our daughter from Reading Uni.
We wanted a place to have a nice meal a few drinks and be able to toddle off to bed. This completely fitted the bill. The meals are definitely a level above the normal pub grub. The place has a great atmosphere and is very well patronised by the locals. In tems of the room, it was very comfortable with added touches such as bottled water and a basket of sweets. The bed was very comfortable and unlike some places, the room was not too hot. The only downside was the shower which was very small, but this negative was easily outweighed by the positives.
Breakfast was especially good. They are clearly committed to the quality and provenance of their food. The bread was outstanding as was the sausage and bacon.
I must also mention the staff who were really welcoming.
Our daughter is now on a years placement and will return to Uni in 2016, we will return to the Baskerville.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank chunkyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were truly delighted with our stay in this friendly country pub near to Henley-on-Thames. We could not have wished for more. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast is included in the price and it was way above what we might have expected, not only the typical traditional English breakfast, way above average, but porridge, kippers and smoked haddock were also on offer. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant in the evening. There was plenty of parking available. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rozlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights while visiting the area,lovely food excellent staff & an enthusiastic owner ensure an enjoyable stay.Room was very comfortable although a bit basic but overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shiplake
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.9 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baskerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baskerville

Property: The Baskerville
Address: 7 Station Road, Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames RG9 3NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames > Shiplake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiplake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baskerville 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxfordshire Restaurant of the Year 2016. The Baskerville in Lower Shiplake remains a traditional village inn with a ‘proper’ bar, a delightful restaurant, 4 star accommodation, a beautiful garden and ambitions beyond its AA rosette. With Kevin Hannah and head chef Jamie Herridge at the helm, its outstanding customer service is matched only by its creative, seasonally changing menus. Fresh, ethically and locally sourced produce lie at the heart of its modern but classically based dishes which offer a memorable experience. 2015 Beautiful South Awards. Silver Award in Tourism Pub of the Year. It is a AA 4 star Inn and is similarly rated by Visit England but with a Silver Award. It is situated on the Thames Path in the tranquil, affluent village of Lower Shiplake, with well appointed en-suite rooms, the Baskerville is the perfect place to stay the night either for Dinner, business or just for a leisurely break. The small town of Henley-on-Thames with its many interesting shops and home to the Henley Royal Regatta and the Henley Festival is only 1.5 miles away. Enjoy a boat trip up the Thames or visit the River and Rowing Museum. Try a night at the Kenton theatre, the fourth oldest in England. Within the village why not stroll along to Shiplake lock and watch the river cruisers pass through. A little further up the hill is the 13th-century parish church of St Mary's where Alfred Lord Tennyson was married. Further afield are the towns of Reading 7 miles, Windsor, with its castle, and nearby Legoland 15 miles, and the university town of Oxford, 22 miles. All of these can be reached by train from Shiplake station 150 m from the pub via the Henley branch line to Twyford on First Great Western trains. Feeling a little more adventurous? Paddington station is less than an hour away with all that London can offer. Shiplake is 25 miles or 30 minutes by cab or car from Heathrow Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelsClick so you can book your The Baskerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing