We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, friendly hosts and a great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baskerville

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Baskerville
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiplake
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, friendly hosts and a great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after we visited family who live in henley upon Thames -we were really pleased with the service and especially enjoyed the variety of options available for breakfast! Great value for money and would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKHJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    59
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
79
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Last weekend I stayed at the Baskerville for two nights with my wife and our toddler due to a friend's wedding in nearby Henley. The room was clean and a good size, while the staff were very friendly and accommodating, which was much appreciated. Only downsides were the ensuite being small and that they ran out of sausages for breakfast on day two. Overall, I'd happily stay there again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sukhy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBaskervilleTeam, Owner at The Baskerville, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you coming again. The next time we will make sure there are more than enough sausages. Sorry about that. I have informed the head chef who sends his apologies.

Kind regards,

Allan Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at the Baskerville on the 18.8.14, lovely pub, great rooms, food was good and the area of Shiplake is quite and lovely. The only problem I had was we were looking for the place in Henley, which I booked through Expedia, that was what the address said, when actually it's in Shiplake. Like I mentioned, it wasn't a problem and we had a lovely stay, and Henley is only a 40 minute walk, or one train stop away, but we did have to go to the tourist information in Henley to find out were it was. I would recommend the Baskerville, the staff were also excellent.

Room Tip: if you want Henley, make sure that's were you have booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisej748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

When we go walking along the Thames Path from Reading to Henley on Thames, we usually stop at the Baskerville for lunch, before going on to Henley.
We have always found the staff very helpful and friendly, and of course, we have never been let down food-wise. We have always found the food quality to be outstanding. We've had many a pub roast lunch on Sundays, but it's here that we had one of the best roast pork. The Baskerville is one of our favourite pubs.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug_4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A good option for Henley weekends. Comfortable old fashioned rooms. Fine bar and good restaurant. Pleasant gardens. Easy access to Henley by taxi or 3 minute train ride. Professional and friendly staff. Easy free parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Paddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Situated a 5 minute drive or 3 minute train journey from Henley-On-Thames, this gorgeous traditional pub is a hidden gem. The food here has never let me down and the service is fantastic - the blonde manager has a great presence and always seems to have control on things.

The Baskerville suits all needs, whether you would like a quiet drink or a 3 course meal :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Good food served by a pleasant and very obliging team. Plenty of choice and a welcoming ambience. Price-wise acceptable, and I'll happily return. It being a fine Sunday, the place had been very busy and food service was embarrassingly slow, however, we were in no hurry.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shiplake
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
2.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.9 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baskerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baskerville

Property: The Baskerville
Address: 7 Station Road, Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames RG9 3NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames > Shiplake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shiplake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baskerville 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxfordshire Restaurant of the Year 2016. The Baskerville in Lower Shiplake remains a traditional village inn with a ‘proper’ bar, a delightful restaurant, 4 star accommodation, a beautiful garden and ambitions beyond its AA rosette. With Kevin Hannah and head chef Jamie Herridge at the helm, its outstanding customer service is matched only by its creative, seasonally changing menus. Fresh, ethically and locally sourced produce lie at the heart of its modern but classically based dishes which offer a memorable experience. 2015 Beautiful South Awards. Silver Award in Tourism Pub of the Year. It is a AA 4 star Inn and is similarly rated by Visit England but with a Silver Award. It is situated on the Thames Path in the tranquil, affluent village of Lower Shiplake, with well appointed en-suite rooms, the Baskerville is the perfect place to stay the night either for Dinner, business or just for a leisurely break. The small town of Henley-on-Thames with its many interesting shops and home to the Henley Royal Regatta and the Henley Festival is only 1.5 miles away. Enjoy a boat trip up the Thames or visit the River and Rowing Museum. Try a night at the Kenton theatre, the fourth oldest in England. Within the village why not stroll along to Shiplake lock and watch the river cruisers pass through. A little further up the hill is the 13th-century parish church of St Mary's where Alfred Lord Tennyson was married. Further afield are the towns of Reading 7 miles, Windsor, with its castle, and nearby Legoland 15 miles, and the university town of Oxford, 22 miles. All of these can be reached by train from Shiplake station 150 m from the pub via the Henley branch line to Twyford on First Great Western trains. Feeling a little more adventurous? Paddington station is less than an hour away with all that London can offer. Shiplake is 25 miles or 30 minutes by cab or car from Heathrow Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelsClick so you can book your The Baskerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing