We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little park.”

Gilsland Farm Audubon Center
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice little park.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Small little park with three miles of trails. Plenty of places to sit and bird watch. Trails take you along cove, fields, and a pond. Small gift shop with lots of bird watching gear. Trail maps available from gift shop are free and parking and admission is free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowtheKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“quiet respite not far from our biggest city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

A well kept secret that has evolved over the years. Just walking? Bird watching? carryin picnic? Education center? Gift shop? All this with water views and rolling hills.

Helpful?
Thank Cean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“an oasis in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Just a short driveway off the main road and you're in paradise! Walking trails abound and there is a wonderful center with a shop of all sorts of things bird, nature, gifts, etc. not to mention classes and events ongoing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank write128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n. yarmouth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great views, trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

A great place for a short or long walk, trails along the Presumpscot River estuary; many learning opportunities at every turn. You hardly notice the interstate. Nice place to visit at any time of year.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank meandkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
475 reviews
293 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
“A Sanctuary for All Seasons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

As sunset approached, we explored the sights and sounds of fields, woods, and estuary throughout this former saltwater farm. We saw just what we'd hoped to see and more: deer, woodchucks, geese, cardinals, and other wildlife. A camera is a must! Access was by a short dirt road to a large dirt parking lot near the (closed) Visitors' Center. Trails were easy to discern and well-marked. A trailside post sought donations so we gave one and felt it was very well worth it. Viewpoint rain shelters and well-placed benches dot the trails. We loved everything about the place except the lack of access to any rest facilities during hours when the Visitors' Center is closed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mainemountainbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilsland Farm Audubon Center also viewed

 

Been to Gilsland Farm Audubon Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing