We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartwell
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Country Manor on 4/30. We were traveling from Europe on our way to the Zulu Nyala Game Lodge and thought that this would be a logical place to stay as the two properties are affiliated. Prior to arriving, I have to say that I was very please with how accommodating the staff was is helping us to nail down our visit. I was also very pleased with our driver Neo. What a nice guy! Beyond that, we were not as pleased. Granted we were only staying for a night but the rooms were just OK and the bathroom was really bad. The shower sprayed water in all directions creating a big mess. It was obvious that the shower head needed to be replaced dur to corrosion. Lighting was really poor in the bathroom. The meal that we had (buffet style) was not great. Selection was poor and the food was really not all that appetizing. The animals that we did see were in what appeared to be in an enclosed area much like you would see in a zoo. Not that special.

We do plan to travel to South Africa again however we will not stay at the Country Manor if we are spending time in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    53
    29
    16
    14
See reviews for
24
77
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

After we sat for an hour without service, we found a waiter (who turned out to be the "manager") and asked for our bill and take aways, which our previous waiter had said would be could take with us when we left. He later informed us that they had a no take-away policy which had clearly not been communicated to us. The Manager and GM were very rude and took no accountability for anything, they actually took time to argue with guests (while informing us that this was not a home kitchen). Food was OK, but definitely not worth the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keria_wa_wanjiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chartwell hotels

Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in the outskirts of Johannesburg, South Africa. It is safe, clean, and relaxing. The people are very nice and friendly. One of the highlights is that there are zebras and springbok on property. You can get pretty close to the zebras and they don't mind. I would absolutely stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

A very nice Manor! Beautiful grounds, clean and well cared for. Huge. Each group of rooms belong to a different animal name, i.e., gecko, rhino, etc. Nice breakfast facility. Be prepared to wait for lunch which is composed of huge quantities of french fries and sandwiches (very good). But don't be in a hurry. Breakfast is a buffet, so no waiting, of good quality. Several nice size pools in different corners of the manor. We went to the White Lion Park. Very nice. We were able to feed giraffe and, cuddle ostrich, and pet lion cubs, be very close to male lions (white, not albino), let them come to the car, while we were standing still, almost not breathing in fear and awe, and the most incredible experience was an antelope giving birth right in front of us! Shops at the park allow for gifts or just mementos of the trip.

Room Tip: Beware of what is offered to you, they will make you pay for everything and make it sound it is free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELSENSE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuluNyala, Guest Relations Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at Zulu Nyala Country Manor and that you had the opportunity to experience the magic of White Lion Park. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hopefully also to our other properties in Hluhluwe, KwaZulu-Natal (Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge and Hemingway Tented Camp).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

I had business at Lanseria International Airport and stayed here, with two colleagues, for two nights.

My bedroom was spacious and clean, the bathroom had probably seen better days, but was clean and entirely functional and the surroundings were pleasant and tranquil. There are zebras and springbok in the grounds, which if like me, you are from London, England - is pretty exciting.

The food in the restaurant was excellent (if maybe slightly over priced) and my only real complaint is that the free WiFi was basically hopeless.

For the money it's pretty good value and I would definitely stay here again, although if the proprietors read this review, they really need to fix the WiFi.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuluNyala, Guest Relations Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Julian,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Zulu Nyala experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us and found our wildlife residents pretty exciting.

I wish to sincerely apologise for the WiFi that was not to your satisfaction and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will most certainly look into this matter to ensure more adequate connection for future visits.

Thank you once again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We spent almost a month exploring South Africa due to winning an auction for a week at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge so I decided to book a few nights stay at Country Manor. Our first night was ok and by this I mean that after travelling almost 22 hours from the USA to get here we were just plain exhausted. Any bed would have been sufficient at that point.
Magically the next morning we were rudely awaken by hammers pounding at 7AM. Perfect start to a day! We we used the shower, the shower head was clogged and little water came out of where is should have. Instead the water would spray on the ceiling. The shower was beautiful in its day but after years of soap-scum build-up on the (once) beautiful stone tile it wa nearly white. Our room was about as far as you could get from the parking area and lugging our luggage to the room was also a pain. Day two was even worse. A wedding celebration was occuring just outside our window and the loud music kept us awake until 2AM. Sweet! Ahhhh, the pleasure of enjoying someone else's wedding while trying to get some sleep. The facility in general needs some serious upgrades and guests need to be warned about noisy areas before they settle in for the night.
The in-room safe would not open and even if it did it would be worthless to use anyway since it was very small and not bolted down. I guess it would be a great way for a thief to carry the valuables left inside of the box. Visited the bar one evening about 23:00 and ordered two mixed drinks. Suprise! NO ICE!
Our visit to Zulu Nyala Game lodge will be rated shortly. Can you say mosquitos?

Room Tip: Stay away from the (chapel) as it serves a dual purpose (religion and weddings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferret50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuluNyala, Guest Relations Manager at Zulu Nyala Country Manor, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Ferret50,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

We sincerely apologise for the unsatisfactory experience that you had during your stay with us at Zulu Nyala Country Manor. We assure you that this is most certainly not the norm that one can expect when visiting our lovely property however we thank you for bringing this to our attention. This matter will be looked into in order to improve future visits to Zulu Nyala Country Manor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

From the ride from the airport to the return trip to the airport...it was a nightmare! The rude driver made us nervous. We had been having such a good trip until our plane was delayed due to weather and our driver was MAD! (Like we had control over this)

The room was filthy and so far from the main reservation that getting our luggage to it was an Olympic event (no help available). No internet because of distance from router. The windows and doors had bars which resembled being put in a cage.

The staff at the desk double charged my credit card which I still have not got resolved.

The food was marginal.

Met a lovely couple from Florida who just got engaged and had bought their diamond at one of the mines. That was a bright spot in an otherwise GROSS OVERNIGHT.

Room Tip: Close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chartwell
6.7 mi away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
7.6 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.6 mi away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
18.7 mi away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shumba Valley Lodge
Shumba Valley Lodge
#54 of 68 in Johannesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Country Manor

Property: Zulu Nyala Country Manor
Address: 270 E Third Road, Chartwell 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Chartwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chartwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Zulu Nyala Country Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take big city glamour, mix in some country escape, add a twist of the bushveld, warm hospitality, excellent food and truly great value - and you'll have Zulu Nyala Country Manor. Situated in gracious Chartwell on the outskirts of Northern Johannesburg on 13 beautifully landscaped acres, Country Manor is ideal for overnight stays, conferencing, business trips, functions and weddings.The Manor is home to some wild African residents. Take a stroll around the lush grounds and you'll encounter Zebra, Blesbok, springbok, Nyala and other creatures that provide a delightful taste of the bush. Despite this, you'll be just five minutes away from Johannesburg's premiere nightlife, restaurants and shopping areas. A selection of golf courses and the must see Cradle of Humankind - a world heritage site. Quality accommodation is offered on a Bed & Breakfast basis with additional meals or function catering by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zulu Nyala Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing