We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, clean, and warm. What more could you ask for?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Kent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Northern Door Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Kent
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Well located, clean, and warm. What more could you ask for?”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Everything was extremely clean and daily housekeeping was great. They must have updated the rooms recently because the fixtures seemed newer (definitely looked newer than the pics posted by previous guests) and they had flat screen TVs.
The provided breakfast was your typical hotel fare, lots of cereals to choose from, toast, bagels, some donuts. Coffee and orange juice were both very good.
Found most of the staff to be friendly and helpful when needed.They offered family friendly activities in the lobby like checkers, puzzles, and board games that were free for guest to use. The wi-fi was not too bad, a little slower in the evenings.
We were there is sub-zero temps but our room was toasty and warm. Many of Fort Kent's restaurants and shops are within walking distance of the hotel.

Overall this is a very good hotel and I would recommend for anyone staying in the Fort Kent area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimber_jewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    32
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
20
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel one night in the fall. The good thing - it is clean and quiet. We stayed in a room with two double beds. The furniture is dated, probably from the 80s. The walls are painted panelling, the carpet old but clean and the bathroom fixtures olf but clean and working. The TV was a 19' full size hanging from the ceiling, but the cable worked well.

The breakfast was just okay - cold cereal, breads to toast. No real variety, no muffins, no water, no fruit. But if you like cereal and toast you will be fine.

The worst - the service. My husband checked with the hotel mid week for availability as we weren't certain of our plans. The clerk was not welcoming and had an indifferent attitude. It was a different person, but same attitude when we checked in at 6 p.m. No customer service skills at all. While at breakfast we witnessed two other couples check out and the young man that was working spent more time at the customer computer area playing computer games rather than to his customers. He kept looking over his shoulder to see if anyone was at the desk. When he did go wait on people it was if he was being bothered. Even when one man said "thank you" as he walked away from the front desk the young man didn't say one word to him. Not a return Thank You, Come again, nothing.

I would stay here again, but I don't feel it's that great of a bargain. About the same as cost as a Hampton Inn which offers exceptional service with a great breakfast and must higher quality rooms. There just aren't any in the St. John Valley.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEFrequentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
996 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

The Northern Door Inn is the best place to stay in Fort Kent - unfortunate, but true. It is adequate, basically clean, Internet works well. It is dated with a wood frame floor built over a basement and can be noisey when the inconsiderate clients stomp up and down the hall. The bridge to Canada is conveniently located across the street - but a new bridge is being built and many of the workers are staying at The Inn, this can make for occassional problems, but not often. The bridge is scheduuled to be worked on for the nest two years.

The staff are unprofessional, moslty retirees and college student. Do not expect good service at the desk. Just remember this is the northern outpost of Maine and that the conditions are generally tough for anyone who goes there.

Room Tip: Suggest staying in the "main" building and get a north facing room - they have a view of C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherokeeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Someone else booked this reservation and I'd heard it was not so nice. When I saw the flyswatter in the room, I didn't know what to think.
Not so bad, turns out. Staff was friendly, my room was very clean, bed was not great but ok, and there was a continental breakfast in the morning. Lots of space in my room, too.
For some reason the internet doesn't work after about 10.30 pm, even out in the lobby. Not great when trying to get work done. No wireless so expect to plug in to the cord by the table.
Most of the year this won't be an issue, but I made the mistake of running the AC. It smelled like Swamp Thing had taken up residence in the room. I turned it off and left the room in hopes it'd air out. It did.
The hotel is directly across from the bridge, so be sure to ask about construction and noise when you book.

Room Tip: Construction is going on on the International Bridge across the street, so ask about it when you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This property is older but the rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly especially when I made the reservation by phone. I enjoyed having breakfast with the other hotel guests in the little dining area. Great place to stay. Love those county folks... :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Nothing fancy but a comfortable, clean motel right at Mile 0 of US Route 1. Within easy walking distance of the Swamp Buck, a local tavern with good burgers and friendly staff and patrons. Breakfast at the Northern Door is carb heavy as are most breakfasts these days at motels. Staff at the Northern Door very friendly. I prefer to stay in locally owned (rather than chain) motels and this one met our needs nicely.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IlliniTravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterville, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel because we were in Fort Kent for a wedding. The room was ready about 2 hours early, which was nice for us. We stayed in one of their king size bedrooms. The room was not very big, but it was nice. The bed was a little hard, but still nice. The bathroom was clean, along with the shower. The only real issue we had there was that their internet was extremely slow. The person at the front desk had stated that they had a lightning strike awhile back and it had been slow since. Overall, nice place. I really don't have any complaints.

Room Tip: They only have a limited number of king size beds. Make sure you request one when you call. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Kent
15.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Edmundston
19.7 mi away
Days Inn Edmundston
Days Inn Edmundston
#2 of 10 in Edmundston
1,392 reviews
16.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Edmundston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Edmundston
249 reviews
15.5 mi away
Travelodge Edmundston
Travelodge Edmundston
#8 of 10 in Edmundston
312 reviews
17.5 mi away
La Roma Motel
La Roma Motel
#5 of 10 in Edmundston
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northern Door Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northern Door Inn

Property: The Northern Door Inn
Address: 356 W Main St, Fort Kent, ME 04743-1021
Region: United States > Maine > Fort Kent
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
The Northern Door Hotel Fort Kent
The Northern Door Inn Fort Kent, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing